We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great”
Review of The Daily Catch

The Daily Catch
Ranked #57 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$41
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Neighbourhood: North End
Description: The original location founded in 1973 offers a friendly dining atmosphere. With only twenty seats, you are guranteed fast, effecient service and fresh seafood! This will be an experience to remember. The chalkboard menu features all the classic dishes, in addition to weekly specials! Bring a friend and join the fun!
Golden, CO
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Very small place with nice atmosphere. Service attentive. Food good, not great. Shrimp and scallops on black pasta. Somehow needed some Pizzaz, but lacking. Maybe a squirt of lemon or more salt. 4/5

Helpful?
Thank Goldenphysician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    193
    66
    35
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazeballs”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Worth the wait... join someone's table if you have to(we did). There is a line out the door, but OH SO DELISH!!! You will not regret standing in line for this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MelanieMR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Birthday treat was made by the Service”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My birthday, and waited about 45 minutes to get in on a Saturday evening as the Bruins finished a game, so bad timing.
Worth the wait.....YOU BET!!
Service was great (Thanks to Nic ...I think) menu is understood with the staffs help and the drinks menu is straight forward.
Plastic cups but, hey so what!!
Had the fried calamari for starters, so recommended. Followed that with a pan of home made pasta with perfectly cooked scallops, muscles and prawn...just sumptuous and Pinot !!
Yes, it's small, yes you have to wait maybe, yes you sit with a Max of 20 people in a kitchen as they do the food but the smell, the buzz, the food are all super
Highly recommended

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank EvertonBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Snug, tasty and charming”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

All-in-all, a good place, small, tight space with tasty food and I enjoyed watching the chef cooking a few feet away, which gives it an interesting atmosphere. I had great calamari for starter, too much for me to finish, and I didn't have the big size! Broiled swordfish for entree which was juicy and tasty. Wine in plastic glass but was better than vino in many posher places. It's a small place and we had to wait for 20 mins to be seated but it didn't feel like we were rushed out when we were in there. The service had charmingly chilled and relaxed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Atrocious Service”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I do not recommend this restaurant. The service staff was unbelievably rude. The woman put her hand in our faces and told us to wait while they set the table and it was set by the time she finished waving her hand in our faces. The chef was rude and unfriendly--told us that he doesn't recommend anything because he doesn't like seafood.... We were so appalled by how rude everyone was that we left without eating. Terrible experience.

Helpful?
3 Thank Catherinemorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Daily Catch also viewed

 

Been to The Daily Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing