We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great late night food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Other Side Cafe - CLOSED

Other Side Cafe
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Neighbourhood: Fenway / Kenmore
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great late night food”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Good diner with an excellent beer selection. This ended up being our go-to late night food restaurant. Colorful people staffed and ate at the place. Fun times.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mozelstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    20
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
210 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“For lovers of beer and vegetarian food”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

OK... so one out of two 'aint bad.

Great selection of beer with daily blackboard specials and imported and local crafts. The food is a bit "hot, brown and plenty of it" in a samey, mysteriously vegetarian, mushroomy, lentily kinda way, but after a few beers it matters little.

The setting itself is a tad grimy - a dark, grungey interior leading out to a noisy, turnpikey exterior. Plus the clientele (like the servers), are all a bit too cool and hip for themselves to be interesting or god-forbid, engagable. Thankfully I have a healthy self-esteem and don't really care as long as the beer's good and I'm in good company.

Bonus - its 5 minute stumble from Fenway Park if you're catching Socks game before or after.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheEscapeGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful service, ripoff prices”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I ate here with some friends, knowing nothing about it, and ordered the vegetarian chili, and a turkey club. For one, the service was terrible. We must've waited 30-45 minutes for a small order and a couple beers. The chili tasted awful. The sandwich wasn't bad, but was only HALF a sandwich, and was still around $7-8, not including anything else. This is the first restaurant I had eaten in a long time where I felt convicted to say how bad they were. This place is pretentious and overly hipster, making you feel like it's a privilege that you're a customer there. Don't waste your time. Boston offers much better.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dark and hip, catering to the Bike Messenger subculture”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

A friend brought me to the Other Side Cafe after a function on Lansdowne Street. What a great find! It's convenient to Newbury Street and the Prudential Center yet very reasonably priced. There was a row of bike messangers' cycles on the sidewalk in front. Inside it was dark - perhaps too dark for your average middle-class diner - and funky. The menu features basic, hearty food. People looking for a gourmet meal will not find it here. They have a wide selection of beers, a decent wine list and the service was good. An excellent place to know about when you're in the area and want a decent meal for a reasonable price. It's on the Kenmore Square side of Mass Ave. near the on ramp to the Pike.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
177 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I just don't like it here. It seems dirty, the food's boring, and it's just not as funky as it wants to be.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sluggo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Other Side Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing