We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IMAX was great but the service was lacking.........”

Simons IMAX Theatre at New England Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$9.94*
and up
Simons IMAX Theatre at the New England Aquarium
Ranked #10 of 39 Fun & Games in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“IMAX was great but the service was lacking.........”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The IMAX experience was awesome and was very interesting learning about the great whites. However their staff was rude on two separate occasions. I'm sure it's all who is working. We have been to many IMAX and the theater itself was okay!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
172 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great IMAX theater”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The 3D shark movie was great. The theater was clean and the staff was friendly. We had a fun time and would do it again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ribs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
179 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great 3D - Good Message”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a well-maintained theater with a friendly staff. Since the theater is run by the New England Aquarium you might expect that it would be part of the education programs and you would be correct. The movies are all 3-D with great photography. They get their message across without being over bearing.

The theater wasn't too busy the day we were there and the crowd moved into the theater well and then we were able to exit quickly after the movie. The 3D glasses worked well even over my prescription glasses. I don't know if there is a bad seat in the house, but we were able to sit in the center near the top and the view was great.

It's definitely worth another visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NHDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Educational”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Saw Great White 3d and really enjoyed it. Theatre is comfortable and small concession stand out front. Would definitly go back to see other movies.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank frefutravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic IMAX Theatre”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great 3D Movies. Different subjects but primarily underwater.films. Very comfortable seats and best view is from the top rows in the center of the theatre. Giant screen makes you think you are swimming right in the film with the fish or other animals. Beautiful phjotography. Excellent for people from 5 to 95. Nice and cool on a hot summers day in Boston, or any time of the year..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mermaid322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simons IMAX Theatre at New England Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Simons IMAX Theatre at New England Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing