We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant Find”
Review of Kitchen - CLOSED

Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: South End
Cross street: Clarendon St
Transit: Orange Line: Back Bay at Clarendon St Green Line: Copley Sq Silver Line: Washington St at Union Park
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant Find”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

So glad we decided to try this place. We weren't sure about the menu at first, but the execution of these dishes was excellent. The food was really tasty and beautifully presented, and the service was warm, friendly, and helpful. We would highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank leslie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a buzzy environment”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We only managed 1 course here but it was really delicious I had beans with sausage, pulled pork and ribs there was lots of it and it was really delicious.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Anywhere that serves beer in a tankard is fine by me”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a bit of a strange one. I visited here a little after five on a Tuesday afternoon and there was no-one around, with the staff in a back room. I was eventually seated, then had a bit of a wait to get a drink and be able to order. It was all a little chaotic and disorganised but, for a reason I can't completely explain, it didn't matter.

For one, they have an actual record player and were playing Elvis. I'm not even a fan but it was still kinda cool. Then, when I ordered a beer, they brought it over in a chilled, metal, tankard.

As for the food, I had pork and beans, which sounds simple but wasn't. It was really, really good, too. Well presented, expertly cooked, and cleverly thought out.

The restaurant may have been a little unconventional but it was good where it mattered - the food. I really enjoyed it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
243 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Another good restaurant on Tremont St.”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile



We went here during restaurant week and had fixed price dinner for $38 each which included an appetizer, entree and desert. We all enjoyed our dinners and probably enjoyed our dessert even more.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
567 reviews
453 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We arrived earlier than our reservation but they still gave us a great table overlooking their garden. The service was excellent and so was the food. Everyone had something different to eat and all loved it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bsk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing