We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh and Tasty Food at a Good Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piperi Mediterranean Grill

Piperi Mediterranean Grill
Ranked #348 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fresh and Tasty Food at a Good Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Found this place while on my way downtown, glad I tried it as I wasn't familiar with Piperi. It's like Subway or Chipotle where you choose your toppings. Mix and match, it's all good.

Good:
-Mezze Plate
-Add your choice of toppings
-Moroccan carrots
-Tahini sauce
-Order a side of Falafel
-Quick and polite service
-The food is fresh and inexpensive

Bad:
-This is not in New York

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzedup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    16
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
374 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent mediterranean...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Found this place based on recommendations by local folks. Went there for lunch. Ordered the vegetarian plate (I'm not a vegan). Thoroughly enjoyed it. The humus was outstanding.

I knew walking into the place it was going to be good as the line was easily 25+ deep.

Yes, people who hate lines and crowds won't like it, but, as they say, "NEVER eat at an empty restaurant".

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GL726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“quick stand in line lunch for under $10”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Eat here often as close to work. Among the best take-out type lunch spots in downtown. healthy options too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gb1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick and healthy lunch, great owner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I had a late lunch in Piperi on our first day in Boston. Food and service were great: fresh and healthy ingredients, quick and efficient service and unique owner: Mr Tim.
We had a quite long conversation and when he found out that we were italian honeymooners, he welcomed us not as customers but as part of his family (Tim has italian roots too).
We felt at home so much that we thought it was worth to turn back the next day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolotermini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hidden Fusion food gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is one of those places which you may pass up because of your unfamiliarity with the name/brand but most definitely shouldn't. This is the kind of place that traveler community sites like Tripadvisor and yelp help you find and then you are forever grateful. I'll be honest, my wife found this one through yelp. Location of this place is pretty awesome, just minutes away from the T stations as well as Faneuil Hall Market place or Quincy market. Inside its very casual atmosphere and more like a Dunkin Donuts(its boston, had to mention DD :D) kinda cozy warm atmosphere.

I have had lots of Mediterranean food hence the menu here was a bit of a surprise to me as it had hints of mediterranean items fused with Indian tasting herbs/spices but completely alien names :D. Gozi chips for example remind a lot of roti bread fried/baked and sprinkled with basic spices. Falafal wrap/sandwich (forgot what they call it) was terrific as well. Got a chance to meet the owner Tim and he was very friendly and actually even walked us to Quincy Market. The chef has his roots in fusion fine dining cuisine mixing French food with Asian cuisine hence Piperi's menu shouldn't be a surprise.

Overall highly recommended (especially on a Saturday when most of the places/restaurants are closed in this vicinity, these guys are open) for good healthy tasty food. Try it, you won't be disappointed

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NewWanderer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piperi Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Piperi Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing