We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great german food”

Jacob Wirth Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Jacob Wirth Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #305 of 3,185 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: American, German, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between Washington and Tremont
Description: We are a historic German Beer Hall offering Jacob Wirth's traditional hearty family recipes with all American favorites. We have trivia Monday nights from 5:30pm to 7pm and Piano Sing-A-Long's Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights 8pm-Close.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great german food”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We went specifically for the wiener schnitzel and German sausages. It was very good, we were not disappointed!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    188
    122
    56
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a good time!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great food and generous portions. The atmosphere is really fun I enjoyed the trivia. It can get very busy though. I will go back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarbush,Vermont
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Close to Wang theater, worth a visit”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were there with a group and had reserved the back room for the gathering. Appetizers were ordered in advance and were ready when we arrived. We had a few assigned waitresses to handle our group for drinks and dinner orders, they were efficient and food and drink arrived in a timely fashion. I enjoyed the German potato salad, Cobb salad and potato pancakes. I was a little disappointed in the wursts, they were average. Definitely would stop there again when in Boston.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sugarbushvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lively Place”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

One of the oldest restaurants in Boston-definitely worth stopping by. Fun atmosphere...great food, service and location. Large portions and great variety if authentic German food and beers. We will go back the next time we are in Boston.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great foods, not all German”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We were there Friday, May 9th. Meet up with friends. Not far from South Station or Residence Inn on Congress St. Great fun place to meet friends. German hamburger and onion rings were great. German beer top notch. Gotta have there on tap German beer or a Sam Adams Boston Lager. I had the raspberry salad. Yum. There was a sing along thru out the night that made it more festive. It can get loud so raise your voice. Great night with friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank mythoughtscount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Jacob Wirth Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing