We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prices, friendly staff, big steaks”
Review of Galway House

Galway House
Ranked #892 of 3,231 Restaurants in Boston
Neighbourhood: Jamaica Plain
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Jamaica Plain
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great prices, friendly staff, big steaks”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The title says it all! Plus, great beer selection, and the cutest bartender in JP. Late night food until 1:30 Monday-Saturday.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfort food and more.”
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

Waitresses working their butts off. Huge portions. Good beer selection. It looks questionable from the outside. But go for it! And try the honey fried chicken!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamaicaplainguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Forget Cheers - this is the real deal!”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My son introduced me to the Galway House on Centre St. in Jamaica Plain - it is the quintessentail neighborhood bar. Go there for lunch and eat with Boston's real people - great food, good service, and a waitress who wouldn't know what do with a final R (or should we say AHH) if it introduced itself and kissed her on the cheek. Great brunch on weekends, too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank efbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Best neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I have been coming to the Galway House for over 40 years. If you want downtown chic along with downtown prices then stay away but if you want great food, huge portions and great prices then come on down. This is a funky neighbor bar/restaurant inhabited by locals and their guests. Food is prpeared to order and the amounts are copious. Their lobster salad has close to a pound of fresh lobster with NO mayonnaise. Their buffalo wings are served mild, medium or hot. There are several specials daily which are based on the catch of the day or the butcher's special. The chicken marsala is awesome as is the clam chowder. Whenever I have out of town company we always come here and I have never had an unhappy guest yet. There are several wide screen TV's playing sports or the news. The decor is funky eclectic and is clean. This is a great place to eat and to meet locals as if you are a regular 'they really do know your name." I have never been in here yet when I do not see at least one person I know...that is a sign of a good place if the locals eat there and keep returning!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catlover710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston,MA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Steak Tips in Jamaica Plain”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Galway House is located in the middle of downtown Jamaica Plain at 710 Centre St. It's about 3 blocks north of the Civil War Monument and 3 blocks south of JP Licks, the main JP ice cream store. Their steak tips are awesome, great portions, and they also have multiple wide screen TVs for watching sports if there's a game in town.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank endorphin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galway House also viewed

 

Been to Galway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing