We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We all loved it! It was money very well spent.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Dragon

Blue Dragon
Ranked #220 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We all loved it! It was money very well spent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

There were four of us. We tried so many different plates. ALL of them were delicious. My personal favorite was the Vietnamese chicken wings. The others in my group chose teriyaki bison mini burgers, hamachi carpaccio, and kimchee fried rice with lobster as their personal favorites. We were stuffed, but we made room for the chocolate chip cookie dessert, because it was soooo yummy. Our server was Brian H. and he was helpful, friendly, efficient--just the kind of server you'd want. We were there on a Monday night and got there just before 5. We parked in the garage as recommended, but since we got there before 5, we ended up paying $19 for our parking instead of the $5 rate. I'm not complaining at all, just mentioning it, so you don't make the mistake we did. The difference could be another tasty plate or two, rather than wasting unnecessary extra money on parking. Anyway, we're already ready to go back for more!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A Stone's Throw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    71
    29
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
221 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great food nearby the Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn on Congress St and this restaurant was recommended by the hotel as we had asked for a nearby place that we could have a nice meal. The Asian influence menu items was really good and the food is reasonably priced. You must give the Blue Dragon a try as we were very happy with the quality of the food and the service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
299 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Sadly I expected Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I have been to Blue Ginger, and the preparation of food here is simply not as thoughtful. I get that it is meant to be a more casual presentation than its Wellesley sibling, but I cannot recommend it. We went for lunch, and aside from a couple soups and salads, you were really left with sandwiches only. I was expecting at least a couple entrees. The soup was lukewarm- bordering on cold. The chicken salad was fine, but nothing special. We will try again, but given the neighborhood competition, it needs to up the game.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mookie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, washington
Level Contributor
181 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful selection of small plates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Three of us had an excellent dinner at Blue Dragon. The waiter helps us select 7 small plates to share. Each dish was unique and the favors were well blended. We sat at the bar and started with interesting cocktails, pico sour with tarragon gave a new twist on an old favorite. We were seated quickly and with the help of our waiter ordered shrimp Shimai and a special tomato salad. The octopus salad was spicy but not over powering, followed by the clams and udon.
The couple next to us ordered the fried chicken and I think we may have missed out but were happy to go back and try it next time.
The noise level is very high so come prepared but worth the trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Best Hamburger evah!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We are familiar with Ming Tsai's Blue Ginger in Wellesley so we were eager to experience Ming's new restaurant in the Seaport area of Boston. We went for a late lunch and were pleasantly surprised with the casual atmosphere, unlike Blue Ginger. There is much wood and so very well done....casual, yet sophisticated. I ordered a hamburger and it was done to perfection, with fries that rank with the best. Love the tapas style menu. Will definitely go back....soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adcampanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Dragon also viewed

 

Been to Blue Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing