We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fun, unique accomodation!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Boston, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nhmeroots
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cost out of proportion to value”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I was hesitant to stay on a houseboat, thinking it might be a bit damp, mildewy and sort of like a trailer. So I looked hard for one that I thought would be at least a little classy, with quality furnishings, bedding, etc. - according to the description, the White Elephant should be lovely. The natural wood features are nice, but they're much diminished by the otherwise trailerlike materials used in the ceilings, walls, cheap showers, and worn, old furniture. We had no hot water for showers, and I admit we should have called someone, but didn't - our time was so short.... The beds weren't bad, but the alcoves were extremely stuffy and too short for normal adults.

If it had been just two of us for $275/night I wouldn't feel so bad, but at $25/night for each additional person (there were 6 of us) and additional fees, we paid almost $600/night. At this cost I expected a much, much nicer accommodation.

Sleep Afloat was good enough to refund $100, but they should revisit their pricing policy, and spruce the place up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the deck in the evening
Liked least: main room, beds, LR furniture
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Reviewed 5 April 2013 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NJ
Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Texas
Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed 29 March 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Mar 2013
Hi Ron,

We were sorry to read this review and apologize for the disappointment you experienced. Since your stay last summer we have made some very much needed renovations to the boat. If you're ever interested in giving us a second chance we'd love to show you how much better a SleepAfloat experience can be.

Cheers,
SleepAfloat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Phoenix AZ
Reviewed 28 March 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Mar 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your experience! The boat has since been moved to downtown Boston, even closer to all the sites! Please come back again soon!

Cheers,
SleepAfloat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VT
Reviewed 28 March 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Mar 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your New Years Eve with us! Please come back again soon!

Cheers,
SleepAfloat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing