We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Osterville, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect stay...”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

There is nothing better than a brand new hotel and this was no exception. Very close to the Children's Museum and perfect for families traveling with kids. The funky contemporary design was so fun in an old world building and you will be delighted with the overall character. We have stayed in many Residence Inns and this one is far superior. Kids would have liked a pool, but the breakfast was nice. Worth the trip!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PattyOsterville_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    114
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
143
129
8
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We just returned from a last minute weekend trip to Boston to see Game 1 of the ALDS. The previous reviews of this property set my expectations pretty high and, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is very modern and extremely clean. We stayed in a studio with a king bed and sofa sleeper, which was fine for the weekend for my husband, myself, and our two kids. The room was very large and well appointed. I do wish that the sink and vanity was inside the bathroom area, so that you could close the door, but that is my only small complaint. Breakfast was good, and the entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The charm of the hotel lies in the fact that it is in a restored building. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tampatravelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The rooms and the overall look of the hotel deserve a "6" rating, beautiful contemporary design in an old world building, impeccable taste, but it is for sure the most expensive Residence Inn, I have ever been too... (granted a room at the Ritz-Cartlon was $1,000 a night the week we went, and the Residence Inn's room are much, much nicer). Still lacking a bar and an restaurant which are planned. Being a low service hotel concept, the breakfast wasn't great, but then it is free... The property is also very quiet, and build to highest standard. Great location to walk to the waterfront restaurants. I would pick this hotel over any other ones in Boston, including the top brands like the Four Seasons, etc...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b2usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

As the Tripadvisor disclaimer states "this review is subjective". It is hard to be objective when speaking from personal experience, everything is colored by what happened to you and what you saw and felt. We booked into this hotel on the strength of the reviews here on Tripadvisor, but personal tastes differ widely and this hotel was not to our taste.

First of all it is very utilitarian, (nowhere near J.W. standard) it is very modern, all pipes, ductwork, and timber exposed in a warehouse fashion. OK if you like that kind of thing. It seems to be the fashion in Boston. You can lie in bed and watch the spiders at work amongst the dust up there and wonder whether one will drop down your neck (or into your mouth) when you are asleep.

We hired a Ford Explorer and booked in here for a week - even the desk staff seemed surprised- but we wanted a fairly central location to explore Boston, Cape Cod and up the coast. We did not intend to spend a fortune on meals we wanted to cook our own evening meal and take sandwiches for our lunch each day to save the hassle of searching for suitable restaurants and being disappointed. We had some lovely meals and delicious picnics at places like Herring Cove, Magnolia, Swampscott and Salem. One evening we bought a delicious pizza from Regina Pizzeria in Boston (no. 14 on the menu) We phoned the order in and it was ready and waiting when we went to pick it up. This is the best way to do it, the traffic is terrible and all those one way streets!

First impressions were good going in through the door, my wife immediately said "this is nice". You enter the lobby by going down about four steps or a ramp to the left. It is brightly decorated in the popular shades of lime green and orange (a combination a few years ago that would have made a decorator squirm). The desk people were pleasant and welcoming until my wife asked for a corner room because we wanted to be sure we got a room with big windows (after the warnings in the reviews) and after all we were staying a week. We were told no corner rooms were available during the week we were there, which seemed unlikely that none of the 24 corner rooms would become vacant during our stay. So my wife asked to see the manager. Now, we saw two or three managers during our stay who were friendly and helpful, but this particular manager with the buzz cut acted like a marine sergeant. He gave us a rehearsed spiel, with a totally expressionless stony face, that the corner rooms were reserved for long stay residents of several months, but he said he would put us in the room next door a one room apartment with big windows, so we settled for that.

We were on the 5th floor so we did JUST have a glimpse of the port and we did have big windows so we settled in. The bed is not made up in the luxurious Marriott style it has pillows a small cushion for decoration and a thin white cotton seersucker bedspread. The bedroom had no chair in it until we asked for one. The kitchen is sparsely equipped, 4 mugs, 4 small and large plates, a few glasses, flatware, a few kitchen utensils but no bread knife only a very sharp carving knife which unfortunately has to double as a bread knife, and be warned, it is lethal! My wife nearly cut her finger off cutting a crusty loaf for sandwiches when the knife slipped on the hard shiny crust slashing her left index finger to the bone. A carving knife does not "bite" like a serrated edged bread knife.

Other complaints were, the frying pan was badly scratched with big areas of white showing through the black Teflon coating. The iron had been dropped and leaked water all over the place. The breakfast bar was uncomfortable and uninspiring. The bedroom had not been arranged properly; as I said there was no chair, the free standing wardrobe should have been positioned along another wall and the bed (which could not be moved because it had a fixed headboard) should have been positioned further along the wall giving more room in front of the window so that you could sit there and watch the street if you were bored, or have more room to do what we did, which was put the two small tables together with the two chairs, (now that we had got another one, and there was one in the sitting room) to make a dining table in front of the window for our evening meal. There is no kettle for making tea, only a coffee maker which is difficult to fill, or a pan. There is no casserole dish (to make a lasagna for instance, or cook fish). I realize most people may not want to cook anyway, so as I said my review is subjective.

Your only choice of grocery stores is The Bees Knees, an organic store a block away, they keep about two of everything in the meat and fish line, a poor selection of vegetables and not very fresh. They have a good selection of wine and cheese and some nice bread. The other is called a market and is across the road from the hotel, again they have a good selection of beverages but not much of anything else. For a PROPER grocery store you have to go to Shaw's in Boston and pay $6 to park. There is no pharmacy close by as we discovered when my wife cut her finger, you have to navigate the one way system to find it, the front desk was no help in either giving directions to the nearest decent grocery store or a pharmacy. Oh! and there are no telephone directories or information about Boston in the room either!

The front desk did provide first aid dressings for us, thankfully.

In spite of all this we had a wonderful week. The weather was glorious. Boston is a lovely city with friendly smiling people. We visited all the special places, Boston Common, Cheers Pub, Faneuil Hall Market, and then of course the trips to Provincetown, Cape Cod, and up and down the coast. We had brunch at Henrietta's Table on Sunday. Lovely vacation.

But we would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Octavious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City Center, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great hotel, good location. Could have given 5 rating but this new hotel is lacking in some of the complementary services provided by most other marriott properties. No shuttle to hotel, no hotel bar or restaurant. Had to use public transit to hotel. we are senior citizens and it was a bit difficult to drag our bags on and off the bus? However, complimentary breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmcob1y2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digby32
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

New Hotel in the Seaport Area. Large well appointed rooms. Hotel is an old warehouse that was beautifully renovated to create a great hotel experience. This hotel is much nicer than any other Residence Inn I have ever stayed in. The staff adds to a wonderful stay.
With a short walk over the bridge to South Station (Amtrak, T) and Faneuil Hall Market we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digby32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay in Boston. This Residence Inn is unlike any others. I am a Marriott lover and this hotel is just another reason why. The location is nice.. very close to the waterfront and walking distance to the T. We were travelling to see a Red Sox game and it was a $15 cab ride to Fenway for us and our 2 teenagers. The staff was superior. The history in this location is evident. This hotel is definitely our favorite and probably the nicest we have stayed in. Breakfast was great. We can't wait to visit this gem again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,630 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,206 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport

Property: Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Address: 370 Congress St, Boston, MA 02210-1810
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the financial district. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, our brand new extended stay Boston hotel will provide you with all you need. Spacious studio and one bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. The new Residence Inn boasts a large cutting edge fitness center with exterior windows for strengthening your body and soul. At Residence Inn Boston Downtown Seaport, we will provide you with a great location just minutes from the Boston Convention Center, The Seaport World Trade Center, Boston's financial district, the NE Aquarium and minutes drive to historic Fenway Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing