We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I don't want the word to get out ... but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
259 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“I don't want the word to get out ... but”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This place is awesome!

Clean, well appointed, great location, helpful staff - and for Boston, affordable. It's a beautiful mill turned hotel, and there's parking easily accessible right behind the building ($30 charge per night I think).

Breakfast looked to be your averages fare - new waffle makers there that I would have LOVED to try, but alas, no carbs for this girl right now, so the eggs it was, and they were fine.

I'd stay here again, and I wouldn't hesitate to tell others to do so as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    108
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
142
128
8
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is our 2nd trip in a month to this hotel, and I can't recommend this property more highly. This trip was with our teenage child (she stayed on the pull-out sofa bed, and while it wasn't a throne, she didn't complain), the trip prior was a child-less getaway. The staff at the hotel are very pleasant! Kudos to Kelly, the breakfast chef, who came out to greet guests - ask what he could get them and even clear tables. We saw him both mornings this trip and I'd like to single him out for his commitment to the hotel and the guests - good stuff Kelly, thank you! Breakfast is on-par with what you'd get at another Residence Inn, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, eggs, sausage, bagels, waffles etc. The rooms incorporate savvy architectural features from the original building (massive ceiling beams, brick walls), and this makes the rooms "cool", according to our daughter. The Silver Line T Station is a block away - it's the bus portion of the T that includes the airport on it's route - and you can take the trains to any of the T hubs that connect you to the different colored trains (red, green etc). We took the T to Copley, and the entire trip was less than 15 minutes. The ICA and Children's Museum are within 3 easy walking blocks, and two big foodie restaurants are next door (Sportello and Menton) - neither of which we have visited, but based on reviews, they are on our next stay to-do list. For seafood, the Barking Crab is also close by. We walked to Faneuil Hall with our teenager, and that took about 15 easy minutes; the North End might be about 20 minutes walking. We have stayed all over the city: The W, The Hyatts, The Marriott and Westin at Copley, The Lenox, The Langham, The Taj--it's not even a doubt, this will be our go-to hotel from now on. Parking is on site, but like most of Boston, it's pricey.

Room Tip: Both times we were on the 4th floor - a suite and a standard room. Both were excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

What a great find! We took a cab from the airport (less than 10 mins!) and arrived to be greeted by the most friendly front desk staff. The renovation is fantastic, the original beams are beautiful, the furniture is great looking and comfortable, and the morning breakfast has something for everyone! The evening front desk staff was MUCH friendlier than the morning, maybe they needed some coffee from the buffet?

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Newly renovated but Marriott was able to save some interesting original architectural features. Very cool center courtyard and very large rooms. This hotel is nicer than your typical Residence Inn. I really liked the location. Good restaurants around, simple public transportation to and from Logan Airport, and an easy walk to downtown or North End. They had a large complimentary breakfast and evenings snacks. The staff was friendly. I would definitely stay here again. I was a little nervous not staying downtown as we didn't have a car, but Boston is very walkable. I almost preferred the Seaport area.

(Hint: Courthouse stop on Silver Line bus route (SL1) is right by hotel. It is free from airport and $2.50 for the return trip. The Rapid Bus Transit System only takes 20 min to get to/from airport and you don't have to worry about traffic. Also there is a pedestrian bridge by the Barking Crab that takes you to the heart of downtown Boston from Seaport)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGuido7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Liked the hotel-nice vibe with the hip loft feeling. Room was HUGE. Location is fine is your looking to walk to seaport- north end etc. T station withing a block and some good restraunts nearby. My complaints- staff at night were friendly but when I checked out in the AM the older gentleman checking people out seemed really cranky- as a Marriott Gold member- I would expect a little bit more friendliness in the morning. The parking lot situation is really confusing- your givien a key card for the lot- but wasnt sure what to do with it when I leave- how I am charged etc...and once you park in the garage next door there are no signs on how to get back to the hotel when you are in the garage- 3 people even asked me how to get back to the hotel. Lastly- I got the vibe because my boyfriend and I were dressed very casual that we were not treated as well as those walking in/checking in business attire- I travel 3-5 times a month for work but this trip was for pleasure- surely wish I was in my work suit because I do think we would have been treated a little more differently.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luggageinhand4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while attending a conference at the nearby Renaissance Waterfront. I purposely chose Residence Inn because I like the complementary breakfast and Wi-Fi, and generally Residence Inns are a good value.
The property was built "inside" an old building, so the decor is purposefully "loft-industrial."
However it is warm and inviting, not only in the lobby but in the extremely large 1-bedroom suite.
Although I didn't use the kitchen for cooking, I did appreciate the kitchen island for snacking, plus the extra-long desk for working at the computer. Bed was comfortable and plenty of room in the bathroom.

Everything about this place feels modern and classy---I liked the mix of old industrial + new.

The hotel is only 2 blocks from waterfront walking path and only 10 minute walk to downtown, 20 min walk to Beacon Hill. It felt very safe walking at different times of day.

The desk staff were extraordinarily friendly --- I kept asking myself whether this was a Boston phenomenon or just this hotel. Never met such friendly, helpful people.

Breakfast was standard fare, although I have to mention the morning coffee was outstanding. No need to walk to Starbucks. Only on the third day of my stay did I discover the nearby organic cafe bakeries down the alley.

I would definitely return to this hotel for either business or holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frgjms2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

The converted warehouse look was exceptional. David at the front desk was very friendly at registration and offered plenty suggestion for tours and places to go nearby. The room still had the brand new feel and was very comfortable. Location a little out of way by still easy access to plenty of restaurants and the tour routes.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Envoy Hotel, Autograph Collection
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,505 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#68 of 83 in Boston
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport

Property: Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Address: 370 Congress St, Boston, MA 02210-1810
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the financial district. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, our brand new extended stay Boston hotel will provide you with all you need. Spacious studio and one bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. The new Residence Inn boasts a large cutting edge fitness center with exterior windows for strengthening your body and soul. At Residence Inn Boston Downtown Seaport, we will provide you with a great location just minutes from the Boston Convention Center, The Seaport World Trade Center, Boston's financial district, the NE Aquarium and minutes drive to historic Fenway Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing