We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern looking hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pendleton, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Modern looking hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I've stayed at many Residence Inns in the past and this one is by far is the best i've stayed in. First of all it does not look like your ordinary residence inn, it has a very modern decor. We booked a studio but the room felt like a one bedroom due to the separtion of the living room from the bedroom by the bathroom being located in between. The shower was awesome, you have the option of using an overhead or handheld showerhead. One negative was that the maid service does not automatically come to your room each day for cleaning unless you call to request service. This is different from other residence Inns i've stayed at. Also we had no idea that was their policy because it was not mentioned to us at check in nor was there any info in the room regarding this. Actually overall there was very little info in the room regarding the hotel services or even the evening socials during the week. The breakfast each morning was also up to residence inn standards. We also took part in one evening social, there was also a childrens hospital benefit going on at the same time so it was a bit crowded and confusing. There were two types of pasta, chicken and beef skewers, and appetizers. However my food was cold, but my husband's was warm because he dug in the middle of the buffet server. This hotel also has a bar that is open until 11 or 1130 at night which was nice. I thought the location was fine and area seemed safe. We even walked over the bridge at night to some pubs. The hotel is also close to the Children's museum and tea party museum. Also, If you purchase old town trolley tickets there is a stop really close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    111
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
142
128
8
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is new and very modern looking. the atrium and glass elevators are pretty cool. we had a studio on the 6th floor in the corner, and the room was well laid out with windows across two walls. the kitchen was separated from the sleeping area, so it was nice and quiet to sleep without hearing the fridge. the breakfast was pretty standard for a complimentary breakfast (who can really complain about free??). the front desk seemed to be new because they had us come to the front desk when we requested items (rather than send someone to deliver it to the room) and they had us tag our own luggage for storage. overall though, it was a nice stay,

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Usually we prefer boutique style hotels rather than the corporate brands, but my family decided to stay here so we gave it a go. First off, the neighborhood the hotel is in (Fort Point) is pretty cool- former industrial area being re-branded into an upscale hipsterish area (reminded us of Brooklyn but quieter). Hotel is very close to waterfront area (with children's museum and tea party museum), and a ten minute walk from downtown, 15-20 min walk to most of the historical sites on the Freedom Trail. We were impressed by the detail-oriented renovation of the hotel which maintained the historical roots of the building but with modern conveniences added. Rooms made a good use of space and were nicely appointed with a loft-like kitchen and really nice shower. Included breakfast was very basic but there were some nice touches (fresh parfaits, good bakery items, etc).

The only issues we had were the service was iffy. When calling in advance regarding early check-in the girl on the phone seemed utterly confused/rude by our request for a only slightly earlier check-in (however when we got there it was no problem at all). Also when checking in we had a large truck and they "had to check with the manager" if we could leave it in the outside parking area rather than the garage.. there were literally no other cars there and the truck was never going to fit in the garage anyway, as I explained. When calling down from the room for extra bed linens/pillows for sofa bed (1 blanket and 1 pillow) we were pretty much given a "that is all that is available." Getting a taxi for dinner to the North End also proved very difficult on a Saturday night. We had told the front desk we would need a taxi for 5 people and they said it would be no a problem and we could get one easily. However when we came downstairs at the time they advised us to, the valet/bellman spent a solid half hour trying to get us a van taxi (ended up getting two separate taxis 15 min apart from one another and the poor guy had to basically run down the street to get them); this wouldn't have been a problem if we were given an idea it would take so long, but it made us late for our dinner reservations. On the same subject most taxi drivers seemed to have no idea where this hotel was (for example we were taken to the "Renaissance hotel" by accident at first), so make sure to provide exact address and have them drop you by lobby entrance which is confusingly not located on the main Congress street.

All in all better than I expected for a Residence Inn despite these service issues as the hotel was pretty unique. Also in the neighborhood make sure to try "Flour" for a quick bite and "Drink" for a speakeasy-esque bar experience both within a block of the hotel. (Sportello & Menton also within a block for more upscale dining).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairfieldWestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights here, while attending a convention at the Boston Convention Center, and it was perfect. It is only a 10 minute walk to the Convention, and is an easy 15 minute walk to Quincy Market, a 10 minute cab ride to the airport. Our room was great. Quiet. Minimal street noise. The staff members were uniformly helpful and courteous. The breakfast is terrific, too. We had a great time here and will come back!

Green Features: The hotel encourages minimal laundry usage...a welcome point of view.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supercubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Spent one night here prior to a meeting, in a studio suite. In short, I loved the place and in this hotel think I have found my new go-to hotel for visits to Boston. The place is clean, visually interesting (it is a restored old mill), and in a great location. The kitchen was fully appointed, furniture was comfortable, and water pressure good. The room also had two brand new High Def TVs, which made it easy to watch from either the living area or bedroom. Wifi was free and reasonably fast, even without paying the $5.95 to upgrade to faster service.

A few things that were not perfect, and which knock my review down from five stars to 4 (4.5, if TA would allow it): Breakfast, while free, was mediocre even by Residence Inn standards, with overly limited meat and fruit choices. Prices in their marketplace for snack items are far too high. It took 15 minutes to get a taxi during the morning rush, because the main entrance of the hotel is on a side street and cabbies seem not to know of it yet. It is not far from Logan, and during the morning jets were taking off directly overhead. Sound proofing was good, but not perfect, and so I noticed the jet noise (not a problem for me, but a warning for the sound sensitive). None of these things will keep me from staying there again, but for hyper-picky travelers they might be a put-off.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel the second week they were open, so they were still ironing out some kinks, but all in all it was a great stay. The hotel is in the Seaport area right across from the financial district and the rest of downtown Boston. So you are really close to a lot of things (the Tea Party museum, kid's museum, all sorts of restaurants on the waterfront, shopping) but it still feels a bit residential as there are several condo buildings nearby.

There is a pretty cool little grocery store right across the street with a great selection of reasonable wine and beer and a hodge podge of organic foods. Very convenient as the rooms are basically like studio apartments. I had a full-size fridge, oven, and dishwasher. There is a separate "living" area with a couch, large TV and large desk, and the bedroom is in the back. Instead of being the standard hotel room, there were some unexpected touches like large timber crossbeams in the ceiling, giving it sort of a cabin feel. No restaurants yet, but I think two are either planned or underway.

The staff was very friendly. Huge bonus - I left my kindle because I was in such a rush and they fedexed it my house, no questions and no charge. Great customer service!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
263 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This place is awesome!

Clean, well appointed, great location, helpful staff - and for Boston, affordable. It's a beautiful mill turned hotel, and there's parking easily accessible right behind the building ($30 charge per night I think).

Breakfast looked to be your averages fare - new waffle makers there that I would have LOVED to try, but alas, no carbs for this girl right now, so the eggs it was, and they were fine.

I'd stay here again, and I wouldn't hesitate to tell others to do so as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,564 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Envoy Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport

Property: Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Address: 370 Congress St, Boston, MA 02210-1810
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the financial district. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, our brand new extended stay Boston hotel will provide you with all you need. Spacious studio and one bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. The new Residence Inn boasts a large cutting edge fitness center with exterior windows for strengthening your body and soul. At Residence Inn Boston Downtown Seaport, we will provide you with a great location just minutes from the Boston Convention Center, The Seaport World Trade Center, Boston's financial district, the NE Aquarium and minutes drive to historic Fenway Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing