We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boston Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This Residence Inn is a great choice. Abundant exposed brick give the hotel character and a unique atmosphere. The lobby area is very spacious with ample seating for breakfast and a modest bar. The rooms are new, clean and provide plenty of space. Staff is friendly and efficient. You really can't make a better choice in the area and the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed at the Residence Inn in early January 2014. This brand new hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The design and decoration were unlike any Residence Inn I have ever visited. A perfect balance between classic and modern. Beds were very comfortable of course and the room was gigantic. I enjoyed the big walk-in shower; so much more conveniant than a bath, and the sink and mirror are outside of the toilet so I could take a shower without fogging uo the mirror while my girlfriend was putting on her make up.

The staff was very helpful and the parking at $29 is a pretty good deal to be downtown Boston, and they let us leave our car until 5 pm after check-out so we could spend the day in the city without paying another day of parking.

Overall, it was a great stay and I only have good things to say about this property!

Room Tip: Don't forget breakfast is included in all Residence Inn hotels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank youngmtl514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for a evening to attend the motorcycle show. The location was perfect we walked to the convention center and the staff was outstanding. The young women who checked us in was so polite and professional. I am sorry I don't remember her name. The room was so clean, we enjoyed a nice drink at the bar. Everything was great we would defiantly stay again when visiting the city.

Room Tip: Great place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank capeguy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

If you're in Boston for business or on a family trip then this is a great location to stay in. Easy parking in nearby lots, and the Children's Museum and Boston Tea Party are 2 blocks away.

I really love the room layout; there's a separate living room from the bedroom area (both areas have a flat-screen TV), so it would be easy for a small family to share the room. An extended stay would be convenient here since there is a full kitchen stocked with all the dishes and silverware. The rooms were super clean, and the bathroom has a beautiful fancy looking shower. The bathroom sink is located outside the toilet/shower area so this is convenient.

There is continental breakfast included in the rate which was actually quite fantastic (eggs, potato hash, yogurts, fruit, waffle station, cereal, fruit salad, juices, coffee with to-go cups, etc).

Unfortunately the beds are the worst (and feels like the cheapest) quality I have ever slept on. My college $300 mattress gave more support than these beds. I tried to sleep on the couch and while that never gives you a great night's rest, it was better than sinking into the mattress which felt like an obese person because it was so lumpy and soft. I suggest the hotel invest in sturdier mattresses, as I stayed with a few different couples and over half of us were very uncomfortable.

The decor is modern and sleek and everything is super clean. I love how they mixed in the refurbished structure's architecture by keeping the old Boston factory/warehouse wooden beams that you'll see in the ceilings. Overall this can be a stellar place to stay, I just hope they get new beds for our backs' sake.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pandashmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I did love the location, service and decor. The staff were friendly and helpful, but we (including my kids) were woken up each night from 3 am to 4 am by the garbage and other assorted trucks outside out window. I asked about it and was told "well you are in the city….". So we have been back to Boston since that trip but we didn't stay here, and we didn't hear garbage truck….So bring ear plugs - which I unfortunately couldn't get my 6 year old to wear….

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I've stayed at this hotel every week I have traveled to Boston (7 times in the last 2 months). There are a few negatives but overall it's been a very positive experience.
Negatives: I easily heard the person in the room next to me multiple nights in a row on one of my stays. It's equally distant from two red line stops, so while they're only 9 minutes away, it's a cold walk in winter. Every room I've been in has street and airport noise, though it's never been loud enough to keep me awake.

Positives: Very recently renovated and in great condition. The staff is very friendly and after only a few stays remembered me and continued conversations from previous visits. Beds are comfortable with a good mix of foam and feather pillows in every room. It is close to downtown and right near a silver line stop so I don't need to rent a car or take cabs. The fitness room is typical but generally there's at most one other person in it. Their evening "socials" or dinners are good enough that for a day or two it's reasonable to eat just the food provided.

I plan to continue staying here for the upcoming months. For the silverline, use google maps directions and go up the "Children's Museum" stairs to get to the closest exit at the street.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A relatively new Residence Inn located near several of Boston's historic sites and the city's financial district, the hotel is perfect for families looking to explore a great city or business people in Boston who are looking for a roomy place where they're not confined to a single room for an extended period.

Our room consisted of a very comfortable, large living room area with a kitchenette and a separate large corner bedroom. The hotel provides breakfast with a nice selection of hot and cold items and the coffee was unexpectedly good. The Children's Museum, the Tea Party Museum (a high point), Fanueil Hall and Quincy Market are all within walking distance. The facility is fairly new and, having once been a factory, has a unique design featuring brick walls and high, wood-beamed ceilings.

The staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful, and went out of their way to assist us, from check in through our entire stay. On our way to a restaurant, I wasn't sure about the printed directions I had and one of the desk staff actually walked me outside so she could show me where the correct street was located.

Comfortable accommodations, and great service add up to a strong recommedation.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are particularly spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikejd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Envoy Hotel, Autograph Collection
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#48 of 84 in Boston
187 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport

Address: 370 Congress St, Boston, MA 02210
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: £139 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott® Boston Downtown/Seaport located minutes from the financial district. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, our unique extended stay, Boston hotel will provide you with all you need. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences that make travel a pleasure, like spacious studio and one bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas fully equipped kitchens ready for your favorite cuisine. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast starts mornings off right and end the day in our lobby lounge. The new Residence Inn boasts a large cutting edge fitness center with exterior windows for strengthening your body and soul. At Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport, we will provide you with a great location just minutes from the Boston Convention Center, The Seaport World Trade Center, Boston's Financial district, the NE Aquarium and minutes drive to historic Fenway Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing