We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Classic Harbor Line Boston MA Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated to providing the most luxurious and hospitable sailing experience in Boston, we here at Classic Harbor Line are looking forward to the privilege of escorting you on a breathtaking excursion aboard the most elegant sailing vessel in Boston Harbor: Schooner Adirondack III and yacht Northern Lights. Boston’s rich maritime history is best viewed from the water, so why not do it in style?
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just OK”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I went on the Sails and Ales trip, and we were a bit disappointed. The representative from Harpoon was very friendly and knowledgeable, and we got to sample 5 different beers, but overall the trip was just ok. There were 10 of us aboard who had booked the Sails and Ales trip, and the rest was a very large birthday party group. We never had the chance to get up and move around because the boat was literally full of people. They did keep the groups separated, but again, that meant we couldn't move around. In my opinion, it was unprofessional to mix events like that, and had we known that prior, we would not have booked the trip.

Ship was nice, crew was friendly, water was lovely, but beware that there may be 2 different events going on.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHL745, Manager at Classic Harbor Line Boston MA Day Tours, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi Mandy,

Thank you for the review. We greatly appreciate feedback like this. We will consider reducing the number of people allowed in a large group aboard our vessel for specialty events so as to keep the trip enjoyable for everyone. It is certainly difficult situation as we cannot control the number of tickets someone wishes to buy up to our capacity and we always want to be able to be as accommodating as possible to every group size on board.

In the future, if you are concerned that there might be a large group on board your excursion with us, please feel free to call or write and we will do our best to determine if there is a chance.

All the best,

Susan Greer
Classic Harbor Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    46
    9
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice day for a sail.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We did the Sunday 3:30 sail on the Adirondack III. We had a great time the caption and his crew were great. It was a beautiful day for a sail and a great value for the money. A must do if you have 2hrs to spend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laf419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Only OK, expected a lot more”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This trip was only OK. We did the Day Sail on the Schooner Adirondack III and it could have and should have been better. The crew was nice enough, but did not point things out as expected. But the worst part of the trip was not ever leaving the inner harbar. The trip was supposed to get into the Harbor Islands (e.g. Long Island with the Long Island Head Light House), but never did. We just went back and forth in the inner harbor. Disappointing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SNJ-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHL745, Manager at Classic Harbor Line Boston MA Day Tours, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi,

I am so sorry to hear that your sailing excursion aboard our vessel did not meet your expectations. We do promise that our Day Sail trips will sail in the vicinity of Long Island (Long Island Head Light), which is just one on the very many Harbor Islands. We don't exactly get out into the vast majority of the harbor Islands on our Day Sail. The only trip that promises the Harbor Islands is our Boston Harbor Island Picnic Sail. The Picnic Sail sees the vast majority of the islands from the boat, some at varying distances. It is true that some of our Day Sails can get pretty far our into the islands, wind dependent.

If you are interested in Picnic Sail where you will see many of the Harbor Islands, please feel free to contact me at susan@classicharborline.com

All the best,

Susan Greer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrentham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great sailing trip with a picnic onboard”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a GREAT time on the 3 hour tour (Not on the Minnow). It was a perfect day for a sail on the schooner Adirondack III and the Captain was terrific and full of information about the Boston Harbor. The crew was excellent manning the sailing duties while still catering to the passengers. OK, the picnic was a box lunch but the turkey sandwich I had was very tasty and all the extras like an apple were quite good. We highly recommend this excursion and I'm sure we will go back. The only problem we had was finding where to check in. 60 Rowes Wharf was difficult to find but if you enter the big archway at the Boston Harbor Hotel and walk to the dock on the right side you will see the ferry office.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHL745, Manager at Classic Harbor Line Boston MA Day Tours, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi Dave,

Thank you for the really great review about your picnic sail with us! I know that the boxed lunch can sometimes sounds like school, but we are also really pleased with the quality of lunches provided to us by our caterer.

I agree, finding us can be a little tough, as there are no cross streets to pin point us. Thank you for sharing your experience on how you found us, as that will greatly help others.

Hope to see you soon!

All the best,

Classic Harbor Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sailing in Circles”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I found the tour to be a rather nice break from the hectic pace of downtown Boston. It's not often that you get a chance to sail in the harbor on a tall ship. I'd certainly suggest that you try this one.

The team was great. They provided a wealth of knowledge about the history of Boston, it's buildings and the people.

The trip lasted two hours which was plenty of time to relax and enjoy the views. It also made for some decent picture taking of the city scape.

Helpful?
1 Thank venceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHL745, Manager at Classic Harbor Line Boston MA Day Tours, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi,

Thank you for the review. I am happy to hear that you found the trip to be relaxing! The sail does provided an interesting perspective on the city; when you're allowed to look at it from a distance. I've always admired the same thing about our sail.

All the best,

Susan Greer
Classic Harbor Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Classic Harbor Line Boston MA Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Classic Harbor Line Boston MA Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing