We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding, made my son feel special!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding, made my son feel special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Highly recommended - the front desk staff asked why were in Boston upon arrival. I told them it was my son's 1st trip to Boston and it was his Birthday. The next night a Happy Birthday card arrived with some snacks for him! OUTSTANDING customer service. No wonder I always look for a Marriott property first!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rtucker6508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and allowing us to be a part of your son's first visit to Boston to celebrate his birthday. Each and every guest that walks through our door is very much a special guest at the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay - Fenway and it brings us great joy to be able to provide personalized service in order to create a memorable stay. Your kind remarks and high recommendation for our hotel is greatly appreciated. Please visit us again soon as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    312
    60
    17
    7
See reviews for
598
246
47
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kearny, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel is brand new so the rooms are clean and nice. Breakfast was good and location has options to eat around. However, 1 star decremented for the gym which is below par for such a high charging location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mandeeptoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay - Fenway. Our hotel, which opened last July, is located just steps from Fenway Park and is equipped with a heated indoor rooftop pool for our guests' pleasure. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room as well as your breakfast at the hotel. The next time you are visiting Boston we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Yes, yes, yes, it's close to Fenway Park and that's awesome (go Sox!) But, but but: it's also close to the Fens, where you can walk through wonderful gardens, watch people play sports, check out the nearby Museum of Fine Arts and more.

Everything feels so well-kept here and the rooms are like mini-apartments, complete with kitchens and all the good stuff (hey, you may want to make a meal with stuff from a farmers market?) The front desk staff is great and there's always cool people to talk to in the lobby.

I've stayed in Marriott's and this is one of the best. Completely urban, and perfect for families, couples, or those who love cities!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thesecondcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We cannot thank you enough for sharing such a positive review for the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay - Fenway. You are correct when you said that our hotel is close to the Back Bay Fens as well as many other area attractions. We are very glad you enjoyed our location and the apartment like amenities provided in our suites. Thank you for sharing your comments; we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel three times while my daughter is receiving Cancer Treatment at Dana Farber Cancer Center. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The breakfast is excellent.
Best of all it is within walking distance of Dana Farber. The roof access is wonderful as it allows me to get away while my daughter is sleeping after her chemo treatments. Many options from restaurants to a grocery store are conveniently located.
We will certainly continue to stay there in the future

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MsDx1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are very thankful for your review and kind remarks. Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of how convenient our hotel has been for you during your daughter's treatments. We are glad to hear that our staff has been so helpful and extended themselves in such a way that has made you feel welcomed. We're also glad that you have enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Please be sure to let us know if there is anything you need during any future stay that would make your time at the Residence Inn Boston Back Bay - Fenway more pleasant. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful in assisting us in finding our way around. The hotel is in a great location near the ball park with a great selection of restaurants around it to chose from. We were visiting BU on this visit and were able to walk to campus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
The Residence Inn Boston Back Bay - Fenway is, as you mentioned, just a short distance from Boston University as well as many of the great attractions in the area. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location so much as well as the friendly demeanor of our staff. We hope that the next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando , FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family stayed here on July 10th for a 4:00pm game at Fenway vs. the WhiteSox. We arrived before our room was ready, but they were accomodating and stored our bags and valeted our rental car so we were free to have a quick bite at the Bar Louie restaurant that is part of the hotel complex and then to walk ( two short blocks) down to Fenway. We enjoyed the game and walked back to the hotel easily even with the outgoing crowd. Room was specious enough for my wife and I and our two teen boys ( both slept on the roll out bed). We took in the view from the deck top of Fenway at night though didn't swim in the pool ( we are from FL so not so much a big deal as we swim alot). We were tired as this was our last night of an 11 night vacation so our evening dinner plans were a quick run to Chipotle across the street for takeout and picked up a slice of birthday cake ( my wife's birthday) at a nearby full grocery store ( good for stocking your room if you stay longer). Breakfast in the morning was advertised as a full ( not continental breakfast) including fresh baked waffles. Plenty of options for lighter and healthier breakfast also. Hotel management held our bags after checkout so we could walk the city a bit (easy walk to Copley Place and shops on Newberrry Street. All and all a great first experience for a Red Sox game ( though we are Yankees fans) and though the price of the room was rather expensive including the valet parking fee of $40 or so, it was worth it to have the location we had for the game. We recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wfluke001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Residence Inn Boston Back Bay / Fenway was absolutely lovely. The hotel is very modern and is well taken care of, especially since it seems fairly new. The employees were nice and very attentive to our needs. I stated that the weekend was for my 3 yr anniversary and if they could do something additional that'd be nice. They provided complimentary snacks, drinks, and a congrats note in our room for our anniversary for no additional charge. It was very nice! The hotel is well located, especially to go watch a Sox game! The rooftop bar is also very nice for a late night casual retreat! All in all, it was a wonderful experience! We had a kitchen in our room. We did not utilize this since we were only here for a long weekend, but I can see it being very useful for families. The hotel was very nice, but pretty expensive at $499 a night. That is the only negative thing I can say about it. I wish it had been a little cheaper.

Room Tip: High floors you will get a nice view of Fenway Park and the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ACG120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnFenway, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Happy anniversary! Providing superb service is one of our top goals as we always wish for our guests to feel welcomed and cared for. Thank you for sharing your kind remarks regarding our staff as well as the accommodations and amenities offered at our hotel. We do apologize if you found our room rates a little pricey, but we are pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience as a whole. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,216 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#14 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Address: 125 Brookline Ave, Boston, MA 02215-3904
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary yet comfortable, our extended stay hotel offers a convenient location steps away from Fenway Park. The brand new suites include luxury bedding featuring thicker mattresses, full sized pullout sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen and stovetop, refrigerator, microwave oven, and dishwasher. Complimentary high speed & wireless internet access. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, complimentary evening social (Mon - Thu), complimentary grocery shopping service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing