We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay at the Boxer”
Review of The Boxer Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Boxer Boston
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The Boxer front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms were kept clean for our entire five night stay. It is located close to everything. We enjoyed the stay a lot and will be going back to Boston and will stay at the boxer
Laurie form Edmonton, AB CA

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for your great review- we look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

We loved our stay at the Boxer.
We've had the chance to be at the top corner junior room and had a great view on the surrounding. Very well maintained and superbe service at the desk.

Bostonians are warm people. Even if we were there to cheer for the Montreal Canadians at the TD Garden we had fun with the employees and locals.

This Hotel is right in the middle of great Irish bars and restaurants. No need for taxi. Everything is a few blocks away!

Room Tip: Ask for the Junior Suite on the 9nth floor. It's got a nice corner view of the City!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidCouillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for your great review- we look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Loved this hotel in terms of location! I was here on business a couple of days and the staff were amazing and my only gripe would be that they don't have their own parking structure. Aside from that yes the rooms are abit tight but its downtown Boston! Also I wish they had a Jacuzzi and pool

Room Tip: All of them seemed nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JLinton84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for your great review- we look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed there because it was close to the North End in Boston. Everything was EXCEPTIONAL. The rooms were almost like new, well kept and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was great too. I would suggest to any one visiting Boston to look into them. The price was very reasonable and the package we had included Valet parking. Other places wanted to charge us an extra 40.00 for parking. That was 40.00 in our pockets to go eat in the North End.

Thanks

Stan R

Room Tip: We. only had 1 room. But if the other rooms are the same then your all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank srygula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for your great review- we look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Serena was more than helpful at the front desk. She accommodated our rate and dropped it from triple AAA to government rate and then told us about a special promo which made it 21 dollars cheaper! With free valet parking and free breakfast in the morning!! The only thing that could beat this would be a meet and greet with Thornton at the Charlestown bar or a free pint at McGanns! The Boxer is way better than the former name hotel!! And right across the street from Bobby Orrs statue at the garden!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruinsphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for your great review- we look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at The Boxer for the first time this past weekend and could not have been more pleased. The staff was super friendly, the room very clean (quite small but clean), valet service was prompt, and the location perfect for a quick walk to TD Garden, Hanover Street, Quincy Market, and even Boston Common for some ice skating. Location was everything in the dead of January when traveling on foot!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheEllisFamilyNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for your great review- we look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed at The Boxer to be near Mass General Hospital, which was only a 10 minute walk to the family waiting area. The hotel used to be called The Bulfinch. As a boutique-type hotel everything was scaled down in size, from the front desk area to the rooms to the menu in the restaurant. Check-in was fast and acknowledged requested room requirements noted in online reservation. Elevator to rooms is right there. The room was small/tiny with king bed. No closet, per se, just a hanging area to the side of the flat screen, wall mounted TV. Complimentary Wi-Fi connection was good, plenty of outlets, but no desk chair -- bench instead. Bathrobes supplied, as is an honor bar and safe. Bathroom with shower had no separate toilet area, and was pretty cramped. Plenty of towels and hair dryer were supplied. HVAC was noisy. Restaurant is the bar area and had a short menu that was mostly a lunch menu with sandwiches. Bartender was also the server but service was good. Restaurant area temperature was cold, as was the outside, especially noticeable when someone entered/exited through the side door that leads directly outside. Room price was definitely a plus, especially if you weren't going to be in the room much anyways. Location was terrific with .25 mile to Mass General, .25 mile to sports arena and North Station, and .5 mile to Faneuil Hall area. The Boxer was a good choice and we'd go back if we wanted to stay in that general area again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prof01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for your great review- we look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#30 of 84 in Boston
1,454 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#11 of 84 in Boston
2,341 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boxer Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boxer Boston

Address: 107 Merrimac St, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £115 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boxer Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Boxer Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Bulfinch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing