We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of The Boxer Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Boxer Boston
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
new haven, usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed there when we were going to a game at TD Garden and it was perfect. It was a really good deal and a nice room with lots of little touches that made it special. The only down side was breakfast - there was only one waitress for the whole restaurant and there was not coffee available if you did not want to wait to be served for breakfast. The front desk staff was friendly and very responsive. We would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear joanne61,

Thank you for staying with us! We do our very best in making sure you have a great service experience in both the Hotel and restaurant and I am so sorry that there were any down sides to your stay. At any time, any of our guest service professionals would be happy to get coffee for you in the morning as well, we understand how important it is every morning!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    304
    78
    20
    13
See reviews for
178
437
46
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Front desk personnel were great - very helpful and friendly. Only 1 (slow) elevator in the hotel used by guests and hotel employees...think housekeeping and engineering carts. Room was large. Lots of hallway noise, very harsh fluorescent lighting in room and hallways, tiniest bathroom sink I have ever seen. The light from clock shines like a beacon in the room so if you need dark, or even mostly dark when you're sleeping, you're going to either cover it up or unplug it. Mounting of TV is awkward so you can only see without unobstructed view if you are situated 'just so' on the bed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TA_3163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear TA_3163,

Thank you for your review- though I am thrilled to learn that you had a great experience with our service, I am sorry to hear that our room design and amenities did not meet your expectation. Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are in Boston so that I may ensure your accommodation is more conducive to your needs. Thank you!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have been missing The Boxer since we were there for 4 nights from 13. of february. I loved the room wanted to take the bed with me home. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The valet parking was brilliant. it is always going to be expensive to have a car downtown Boston so to have to pay 10-11 dollars more for valet parking than self parking and being able to take the car in and out is much more convenient than self parking. The location is really good. either for walking or driving.
So I have nothing but praise for this hotel.
The complimentary apples were a good start every morning.
Thanks a lot The Boxer

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erlendur E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Erlendur E,

Thank you! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, the apples and the cool atmosphere! We look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great location, a very short walk to the subway and my girlfriend and I had no issues getting back to the Boxer every night. Amazing staff, room was small but it was really clean and was exactly what we needed. Free WiFi was nice as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear kfirms,


Thank you for the review! We pride ourselves on our service culture and so glad you were able to join us during your trip to our beautiful city

Thank you!
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great service from the start from Serena st the front desk. It's a stone's throw from the garden and fannieul hall. Nice service overall without being inundated with service. Great food and my kids loved the bunk beds. Complimentary apples when checking out was a nice touch reasonably price and a hidden gem.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethoreobinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear bethoreobinx,

Thank you for making us your home away from home! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Wow, the reboot of the former Bulfinch Hotel is excellent! The rooms have been completely redone & the "boxer" touches include interesting nods w/boxer dogs, boxing gloves, and more.

The staff at the front desk was very helpful in terms of providing orientation to the area and also some great restaurant recommendations and the like. As they say, it's close to the good stuff (the North End, multiple T stations, a short walk to the TD Garden, etc)

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and it's a great home base for exploring Boston!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thesecondcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear thesecondcity,

What great feedback! Thank you for your review and visit us in Boston soon!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My girlfriend and I spent the night of Feb. 15-16 at the Boxer - a quick getaway for my birthday. We booked a king room earlier in the week online. We arrived early afternoon and check-in was quick. Valet parking available for $44/self parking for $36. As we were only staying one night the valet was worth it. The room was 609 and we felt very nice. The king bed was very comfortable, the bathroom very large by most hotel standards. A steel-framed wall unit comprised the desk, wardrobe, coffee maker, iron, etc. A TV was over the desk unit. The hotel is in a great location. In one direction, is the TD Garden. In the other is Fanueil Hall and the North End of Boston - all very close and certainly walkable. The theater district area is about a 30 minute walk. After we arrived we asked for wine glasses and a corkscrew and the front desk accommodated us quickly. We thought the hotel was very reasonable too - $170/night. We did not try the on site restaurant as there are so many other great places nearby. And the staff were all very friendly - from the front desk, to the restaurant where we had coffee before our departure, to the valet parking attendant. who brought us our car with a smile and asked how our stay was.

I would definitely stay here again. Two or three nights would be good - not sure about an extended stay. But a perfect place to explore what Boston has to offer.

Room Tip: Room 609 is a king room with a large bath. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Jeff W,

Thank you for coming to Boston for your weekend! I am so glad to hear that the location of our hotel worked with your needs and that you had a great time! We look forward to having you with us again.

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boxer Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boxer Boston

Property: The Boxer Boston
Address: 107 Merrimac St, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#20 Family Hotel in Boston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boxer Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Boxer Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Bulfinch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing