We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Boxer”
Review of The Boxer Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Boxer Boston
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orange, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Boxer”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Fellow Travelers,

I recently had the need for a last minute business trip to a favorite city of mine, Boston, MA, Using Expedia I ended up choosing an unknown property ti me, namely the Boxer as my first choices were unavailable and this hotel, while new to me was in a perfect location, and, at least on the web looked like a "cool" boutique" hotel.

Anyway, I was quote pleased with my selection and would have given the Boxer a higher rating but minor nuances such as only one elevator and albeit a new refurbishment (clearly done on the cheap and already showing wear and tear) and the fact that the restaurant and bar within was closed during lunch hours make this (my opinion) a 3 star hotel at best.

That said the service was great and the hotel / room was clean and inviting ... so really no complaints.

Doddsy

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear SteveD,

Thank you for your review! I appreciate your comments and feedback regarding the amenities of the Hotel and certainly hope you enjoyed the impeccable service we provide at the Boxer.1

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    304
    78
    20
    13
See reviews for
178
437
46
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel rooms are beautiful and very comfortable but the service at check in and so on was ok and at points frustrating. Everyone was very nice however I stood at the front desk trying to check in for ten min, valet was not nearby and I waited again for ten min finally I had to go find someone myself again because there was no one at the front desk to help me with the valet problem, in addition while I was trying to check in another employee walked up and started chatting with the front desk girl again leaving me waiting so honestly my check in was very frustrating. But the beauty of the room and great location made up for that the bad service and I guess in there defense it was a busy weekend. In addition valet is 44 a night so it is quiet expensive more so then my stay in time square New York which I find a little ridiculous but Anyways I would stay here again asking as the service improves

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Versace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear VersaceT,

I am so sorry to hear that your service experience did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on our high level of guest service, especially at check in as this is when we want to introduce you to our beautiful city and neighborhood. Thank you for your feedback.

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We previously stayed at "the Bulfinch" a couple times to see games at The Garden. We booked a night at The Boxer to do the same. Completely different look, modern feel, loved the decor!
The staff were amazing, friendly, and we bought a TD a Garden Package which allowed us a complimentary drink each.
Love the location of the hotel and how everything we planned to do was in walking distance!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank LordDoyle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear LordDoyle8,

Thank you so much for your review! And so glad to hear that you love the new décor- and the service! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Boston, we have the TD Garden package open whenever there is an event so feel free to partake anytime.

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We saw the Avett Bros at the Garden recently and, rather than dealing with traffics, we grabbed a room at the Boxer for the night. Though the room was tiny, it was well appointed and the bed was comfortable. Everything was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. For us, a decent place to crash for the night after the concert was the primary concern but we were very pleased to find a really decent restaurant in the place (Finch) that served up a perfect strip steak and a great burger - all at a really reasonable price. We paid sixty bucks for the dinners, two desserts, two drinks and two cappuccinos which is pretty amazing considering the location. Our servers name was Victor and he was a pro with plenty of experience and a good attitude. We tipped him well!
All in all, it's a great, relatively low-cost hotel two minutes walking time from the Garden and about fifty pubs. We'd go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room available. I conked my head on the window frame just getting out of bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Heidi T,

So glad you were able to be a stone's throw away from the Garden and enjoy our reinvented menu at finch of classics with a twist! Next time you are in town for a concert or game, we would love to have you rejoin us either at the Hotel or finch restaurant!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

If you like European hotels (i.e. small but unusual and cleverly designed rooms), then The Boxer is your kind of room. The front desk staff is extremely helpful. It's also very convenient for TD Bank Garden if you are attending a game or concert. Public transit is also easily accessible. We visited for my wife's birthday in January 2014, and I believe we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryKarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Gary Carr,

Thank you! Though we are very proud of our nostalgic cool design and atmosphere, it is such a compliment to say the we have a "European" feel to our hotel. Boston is a city rooted in history and we celebrate our city; and its European heritage! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights beginning of March 2014 and had a great experience.

I needed a power adapter for my laptop on the first morning and the two girls on reception were exceptionally helpful in finding me a store closeby where I could buy one, they even called them for me to make sure the store was open and printed directions for me! That's service!

Ate in The Finch in the hotel and enjoyed it very much and the proximity to TD Garden is a big bonus, I saw the Boston Bruins play at home during this stay.

All in all just great and it's got free wifi as well.

The only gripe I have is the bed was a little big for the room and the base of the bed jutted out past the mattress so every time I constantly bashed my shin on the corner of the base.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Dav M,

Thank you for your review! I am so glad to hear that our service exceeded your expectations and that your experience in our restaurant, finch, was to your liking! Know that we are working on a solution for our custom made platform beds- I appreciate the candid feedback!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmount, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I like the design of the bedrooms. Modern, but with nice oldish-looking wooden furniture. It feels a bit like in a cartoon from the 30's. Good atmosphere. And since I've been there for one night and I was really tired, I enjoyed sleeping in the large, comfortable bed in a not-too-noisy bedroom. The receptionists were very friendly.

Disappointments: no food after 9pm; the waiters in the bar not paying very much attention to clients (for sure when sending messages on the phone it is difficult to see clients waiting for the bill) and when I came back to pick up my luggage I had left for a couple of hours: they brought someone else's luggage though I gave my ticket with the number on it... Also, there is only one lift and the waiting time was too long.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Jean-Christophe L,

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you had a less than desirable restaurant experience, this is certainly not the level of attention to our service culture that we want to portray. I appreciate you bringing it to my attention and know it will be rectified immediately! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston if you have a chance to visit. Thank you!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boxer Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boxer Boston

Property: The Boxer Boston
Address: 107 Merrimac St, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#20 Family Hotel in Boston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boxer Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Boxer Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Bulfinch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing