We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 21st Amendment

21st Amendment
Ranked #267 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Beacon Hill
Reddick, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

While in Boston on a long weekend get-away, we wandered by the 21st Amendment restaurant around lunch time on Sunday, October 13 and decided to stop in for a light lunch. The atmosphere is very nice, out server was wonderful, and the food (loaded potato soup and sliders w/onion rings) was excellent. We will certainly return on our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dmfederalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    34
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good pub for casual dinner or drinks away from the tourist crowd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I have stopped in to the 21st Amendment on several occasions on my visits to Boston after finding it a few years ago. It has become a fairly reliable "go-to" stop to grab a drink, get a burger, and - in the summer - beat the heat for a little bit.

The 21st Amendment is a smaller place - like many of its ilk throughout the city - situated directly across from the State House on Beacon Hill. In addition to the bar, they have table seating in a separate area. The menu features standard pub fare - mostly burgers (cooked to order) and other sandwiches. My favorite burger is the portobello and bleu cheese burger, which has a lot of flavor and always served quickly. The fries are also very good in comparison to other similar establishments. The bar has a fair selection of beers on tap, as well as other liquors. Prices are quite reasonable given the quality of the food.

Interior lighting is generally minimal - at least when I've been in - but it also serves to help keep the place cool in the summer heat and humidity.

Whenever I've been in to eat and/or have a drink - either solo or with friends - the service has always been friendly and attentive. They are quick, and check in frequently without being intrusive. Compared to some other places in the immediate area, this great customer service set them apart.

Also important is that despite its proximity to a lot of downtown Boston's tourist attractions, it is generally quieter than other taverns or eateries on a weekend. On my last visit, it was busier than usual in the downtown area, and many of the restaurants were packed and had long waits. It was nice, then, to know that I could take a quick walk up to the 21st Amendment and not be overwhelmed by the crowds.

I do recommend the 21st Amendment, whether you are a solo traveler or with a small group of friends, if you are looking for a quick bite to eat or a drink in the downtown Boston area. Its consistency in quality and service will continue to bring me back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Generic90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for drinks after work!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This place is great for dinner or just going out for a couple of drinks! Very laid back atmosphere where you can sit back and relax a bit with friends. Service was great and our waitress was helpful. They have a variety of beers post on a board and food a good. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hab02026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA, United States
1 review
“Great Nachos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

This place was fantastic! The nachos were huge, delicious and never ending. 21st Amendment had a number of various beers and the prices were reasonable. Our waitress was smiling and very helpful. The laid-back, dark atmosphere made us feel relaxed. The burgers were juicy with loads of condiment choices... YUM! This is a great place to bring friends and make memories.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
214 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“A Pub like many others in the US - An average place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This place was recommended by the Lonely Planet like a truly pub experience in Boston. A place where the big politicians and the think tank lobbysts use to retreat to have meals. Nothing of that happened in this place which is like many others around US. A usual pub, with the usual furniture, the usual tv's set on the sports match, the usual crowd, and the usual beer. The burger iI had was nice, but nothing to die for. The price was average.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lebon1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 21st Amendment also viewed

 

Been to 21st Amendment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing