We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rattlesnake Bar - CLOSED

Rattlesnake Bar
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Back Bay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Ate here on a Saturday night, great Mexican food which is really well presented. Bar was starting to liven up just as we left so would recommend for drinks too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank adamj_bl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    53
    38
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We went here with a friend for dinner. The food was decently priced, so was the alcohol/beer. The food was ok...nothing special. It certainly was not the best meal we've ever had, the burger and fish tacos were bland. Drinks were average!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best. Cornbread. Ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stopped in here with my husband after the 3rd of July (yes the 3rd) fireworks since we were just walking past. Boy were we happy with what we stumbled upon! Poe's Kitchen at the Rattlesnake has an inventive Mexican style menu, plenty of drinks to choose from, and the atmosphere is pleasant to hang around for a while. We got some drinks and chicken tacos which were a little above average; nice spice and decent portion size. But by far the star of the show was the GRILLED CORNBREAD!!! I cannot stress enough how delicious this was. The sides were beautifully crispy from the grill and they serve it with annatto oil and guadalajara butter (which might as well have had magic fairy dust in it, it was so amazing), topped with queso fresco and balsamic. I would definitely come back here for that alone. It deserves a mention as well that the staff here is outstanding. They were completely slammed due to a sudden downpour of rain and our server never missed a beat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meehabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place to take a break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stopped in here for a drink and a light lunch. The bartender was friendly. The food was average in my opinion and portions were a bit on the small side. I would go back for a drink but not the food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wasn't expecting this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We came here on our way to see the fireworks on the Esplanade - first place we saw that looked like it might not be too crowded. Boy, were we glad we did! The people were very friendly - we ended up on the roof. The misting fans were on because of the weather and it was actually very comfortable up there. When the food came, we were very surprised - definitely not your average bar food! We ended up staying longer than we had planned - cold beers were a bit more inviting than sitting in the heat waiting for the Pops to start! Had a great time and will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank baha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rattlesnake Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing