We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not as good as Maria's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Modern Pastry Shop

Modern Pastry Shop
Ranked #3 of 96 Dessert in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: North End
Rock Island, IL
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good, but not as good as Maria's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Tried both Modern Pastry and Maria's cannoli's. Modern's was good, but the shell was not as flakey as Maria's - it was tougher. If Maria's is closed, this is a good 2nd choice since it is open later (Maria's closes at 7).

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JLC_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    946
    370
    91
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
“Average at best. Good expresso ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

There was a significant line to enter and purchase pastries however there was no wait for a table. Service was slow and the desserts were average. We had the rum baba and the dairy and gluten free whoppers pie. Just Average

Helpful?
Thank oarboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
163 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Go for the lobster tail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

We had heard Modern was the place to go for pastries while visiting The North End. So glad we did. It was packed! Very small, there was I believe 4 tables. We ordered Canoli's and the Lobster Tail. There was 4 of us and we could not eat the entire thing. The fill their pastries upon order. Fresh, sweet, amazing!

Helpful?
1 Thank thegasgod_slcut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah area, GA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Our first Cannoli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We actually visited Modern Pastry in Medford and picked a selection of cannoli. We loved them. This was step one in our exhaustive search - ha! - to find our favorite cannoli in Boston - we also tried Maria's and Mike's before we had to give up due to cannoli overload. We all agreed the Modern Pasty had the best cannoli shells. We also decided that our favorite filling was the traditional ricotta, but Modern's chocolate cream filling is definitely our number two choice.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigerfan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
752 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Yes, it is better than Mike's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We went to Mike’s based on reviews and we were disappointed. So the next week we stopped at Modern, and it was awesome. We don’t eat Cannoli, but noticed they fill theirs when the customer orders so they are very fresh. We shared a chocolate covered cheesecake that tasted just as amazing as it looked! It is a small store, so I’m sure the lines can be long. I went midweek, mid-afternoon and the line was short.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank surfinginflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Modern Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Modern Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing