We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price.”
Review of Neptune Oyster

Neptune Oyster
Ranked #13 of 3,245 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: North End
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the price.”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

The lobster roll and clam chowder were overloaded with fresh seafood. The clam chowder wasn't super creamy so you were really able to taste the fresh clams. We had to wait in line for it to open on a Sunday, but if you are one of the first 10-15 people you will get seated. FYI depending on the size of your group you may be seated with strangers. Definitely a diner setting. Great seafood!

Helpful?
Thank MEAV46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,056
    327
    104
    33
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lived Up to It”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Neptune was really delicious. Mussels, scallops, lobster roll all really well prepared. Bummer it does not take reservations but there are so many cool bars to go have a drink while you wait. Def going back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to taste local seafood”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I had lunch at Neptune Oyster on a cold Wednesday in Boston. After a short wait outside, I sat at the bar. Company was nice and waitresses were happily joking with the regulars.
Looking to taste local food, I went for the clam chowder and the lobster roll. Yummy !! My neighbor was eating Johnny cakes and I regretted my starter choice as it looked delicious and original.

I highly recommend this place both for the atmosphere and the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaf, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Retirement Lunch Gone Wrong”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband recently retired and we thought we would celebrate by going to Neptune Oyster for drinks and food. We knew that reservations were not accepted, but had heard that we could leave a cell phone number and would be contacted when a table was available. There were six of us in out party. When we arrived, we entered the restaurant to request a table. When we told the waitress/hostess that we were a party of 6, she just told us the wait would be 2 hours and walked away. She never took our name let alone our cell phone number. It left us no choice but to find an alternative restaurant...which we did.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gink46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing and worth the wait”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend a tour of the oysters, and Johnny cakes. The lobster roll was the best I have ever had, but after the oysters and Johnny cakes it didn't get the glory it probably deserves.

Helpful?
Thank Choriza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Neptune Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing