We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lobster roll ever!”
Review of Neptune Oyster

Neptune Oyster
Ranked #13 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$60
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: North End
Madrid
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Lobster roll ever!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Some friends recommended this little bar in the North End. It is small and normally crowded, you've to wait aproximately half-an hour but there is some bars around to have a beer while you wait. We've tried the lobster roll and it is just delicious! You won't regret it. Go there and have a Lobster Roll (best in town) and some oysters, their menu is long and many choices to decide on.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IbiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    996
    313
    101
    32
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh seafood. highly recommend.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We arrived before noon on a Friday and had to wait only 10 min which is a miracle at this place. The place got very busy after we arrived. We also had a 5 yr old so I am happy that they were able to seat us so quickly.

We ordered a plate of Local Oysters which were so amazingly fresh you can taste the sea. The best Oysters I have ever had even my 5 yr old had one. We also had the Ipswich clams which were very fresh and so lightly coated with batter again the best I have ever had. We followed that up with the Lobster roll both hot and cold amazing. I wish they had put something other than French fries at that price.

This place is amazing for seafood. Expensive but everything is so fresh and high quality it is worth it. The only cons are the place is small so the wait is too long and the lobster roll should have something else besides French fries.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shakeel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It really is worth the wait!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great raw oysters and lovely seafood! OK you have to wait for a table for ages but the food is super.
My only gripe is the state of the toilets. Come on this is 2014 and only one toilet is not acceptable!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChesterClaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the wait! ”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

As everyone knows, the wait can be a pain, but the lobster roll is world class and is a must try for anyone in the Boston area. Fresh and delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worht the Wait”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Arrived at Neptune around 11:15 on a Saturday morning. Stood in line for 15 minutes and when the doors opened they let people in and we did not make the first seating. They took my name and phone number and said it would be about 1 hour. They called me in about 45 minutes and indicated they had an opening at the bar. We wanted to wait for a table and they called back at just about the 1 hour mark and indicated they had a table for four. The Neptune is very small. Tables are close together but once seated you are fine. The oysters and clam chowder were very good and the lobster roll with hot butter was outstanding. Definitely worth the wait, especially considering you do not have to stand in line. The staff is friendly but professional and the service was very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwoc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Neptune Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing