We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was it worth the wait?”
Review of Neptune Oyster

Neptune Oyster
Ranked #11 of 3,227 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: North End
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Was it worth the wait?”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hmmm! The wait was one and a half hours for a bar stool at an overcorwded bar. The food was good, but there are many restaurants in the Boston North End with good food and no wait. I had six different types of oysters, all excellent, and a French white wine. The restaurant is small and I went on a Sunday night around 7pm when the North End was crowded. I finally got seated at 9:30p and the kitchen closed at 10pm. Good food, but I would not wait again for this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SolarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,036
    322
    104
    33
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

You have to show up, leave your name & number, then disappear for a couple of hours (try Zito's Tavern across the street for great Bloody Marys).They'll call you when you can finally be seated but it's worth the wait. Very small & cozy, great service, fresh raw bar with multiple selections. Best lobster roll ever....lightly dressed meat with nothing to overpower the wonderful, tender lobster. The menu reads like one from a five star French establishment...very fancy accompaniments for the few main menu items. Daily specials, moderate pricing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DreamerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC Lowcountry
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You have to find this place!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A local who stopped to help us with directions told us of Neptunes. GREAT seafood. A neat hole-in-the-wall atmosphere. Very attentive servers.

A wide selection of fresh oysters that were scrumptious!

Pricey but well worth it - treat yourself!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCLowcountrySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level 6 Contributor
504 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“tired of waiting”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Big fans of Neptune and never visit Boston without a stop by-but seriously-my last trip there was a 2 hour wait-so we walked around and had drinks elsewhere and saw some sights-I think they should do open table-since it is GREAT but I dont wait for ANY restaurant and I doubt I will wait like this again. Weeknight business traveler or local should be able to get in and grab a lobster roll. time is so valuable and while we even have t shirts from here like real live groupies and we tell everyone we know to stop over-oh maybe thats the problem? Its good-but that good? Starting to wonder

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drmader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonhead SC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting little jewel in North End Boston!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I first tried this place because I was intrigued by the idea of a " hot" lobster roll. I have been back because the oyster selection is fantastic and the mussels in thai curry sauce are one of the best things I have ever eaten! The place is small, you have to turn sideways to get into your table and you will wait a while for a seat, but its worth it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hiltonhead123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Neptune Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing