We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
Review of Neptune Oyster

Neptune Oyster
Ranked #13 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$60
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: North End
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We went based on the recommendation of a Food Network's show. The lobster was very good, the roll was very old and crumbly. Our server was more interested in her conversation with her friends at the bar. Very disappointing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    996
    313
    101
    32
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
318 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Was it worth the wait?”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hmmm! The wait was one and a half hours for a bar stool at an overcorwded bar. The food was good, but there are many restaurants in the Boston North End with good food and no wait. I had six different types of oysters, all excellent, and a French white wine. The restaurant is small and I went on a Sunday night around 7pm when the North End was crowded. I finally got seated at 9:30p and the kitchen closed at 10pm. Good food, but I would not wait again for this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SolarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

You have to show up, leave your name & number, then disappear for a couple of hours (try Zito's Tavern across the street for great Bloody Marys).They'll call you when you can finally be seated but it's worth the wait. Very small & cozy, great service, fresh raw bar with multiple selections. Best lobster roll ever....lightly dressed meat with nothing to overpower the wonderful, tender lobster. The menu reads like one from a five star French establishment...very fancy accompaniments for the few main menu items. Daily specials, moderate pricing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DreamerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC Lowcountry
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You have to find this place!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A local who stopped to help us with directions told us of Neptunes. GREAT seafood. A neat hole-in-the-wall atmosphere. Very attentive servers.

A wide selection of fresh oysters that were scrumptious!

Pricey but well worth it - treat yourself!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCLowcountrySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
483 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“tired of waiting”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Big fans of Neptune and never visit Boston without a stop by-but seriously-my last trip there was a 2 hour wait-so we walked around and had drinks elsewhere and saw some sights-I think they should do open table-since it is GREAT but I dont wait for ANY restaurant and I doubt I will wait like this again. Weeknight business traveler or local should be able to get in and grab a lobster roll. time is so valuable and while we even have t shirts from here like real live groupies and we tell everyone we know to stop over-oh maybe thats the problem? Its good-but that good? Starting to wonder

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drmader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neptune Oyster also viewed

 

Been to Neptune Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing