We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Spent 2 nights here on our first ever trip to the USA,
A great location nice helpful staff.
The rooms are a little small and the bed could be larger but overall a good hotel
As an introduction to Boston we could not have chosen a better location,
Next to the subway and within walking distance to a number of cafe's it was brilliant,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWright53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are so honored to have accommodated you during your first visit to the United States! You certainly chose a great spot as we are located right next to the public transportation. We hope you enjoyed all of the great shopping and restaurants within walking distance! We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    843
    319
    118
    70
See reviews for
368
809
211
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

As a single first time traveller to Boston, was looking for a well located, reasonably priced, safe place. Hotel 140 was that and more. The location is excellent to sight see and take the T. The staff at the office and reception is very helpful. The room was neat, well equipped. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: The higher floors have a good view..though I opted for a room on the 5th floor that also has the off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brinda99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm so glad that our front desk staff was helpful in answering the questions that you had during your stay with us. Each of our rooms are unique so it is always good to let us know of any preferences that you may have. As you mentioned, many of our rooms do have great views of our beautiful city! We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
151 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Front desk is very helpful. The room we had was tiny, but what can you get these days for over $200 a night. Had great weather and were able to walk all over the city. Took a fun tour of the city on a bike.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Boston!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and would happily go back. I booked on the basis of price and location and wasn't disappointed at all.

We came from New York into Back Bay with Amtrak and the hotel is just minutes walk around the corner from the station. This is also the subway station, which we used a lot with our $18 Charlie card (we went all over the place from Harvard to Quincy with this card).

Rooms were really comfortable (especially the bed!) and extremely clean. Decent size and good view. Only gripe would be that the housekeeping tend to arrive too early so remember to put out your Do Not Disturb sign!

Hotel is an historic building which also has a theatre on site. Staff were very helpful and the elevators were always very fast to arrive. There is a lovely café called Flour across the road for breakfast. Easy 5 minute walk to Copley Square and the Prudential Centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biscuit182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Boston!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was a great spot for a business traveler with meetings at the Hynes and the Pru. It felt a little out of the way so it was quiet and safe. It was a quick walk to everywhere I needed to go, including shops and restaurants. The staff was friendly and inviting. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Boston!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Really struggled to find anywhere reasonably priced in Boston and was so pleased to have found Hotel 140. We spent 3 nights here and would happily recommend it.

The number one best thing about this hotel is location. We easily got the subway from the airport to here, as its right next to a subway station. We were then able to get everywhere we wanted to on foot from the hotel for the whole of our stay.

Our room had a King Sized bed (by English standard - I think it would be 'Double' by American standard), room to open our 2 suitcase out on the floor, a desk and chair, wardrobe, fridge, flat screen TV (with HBO), small wardrobe, iron and ironing board and coffee maker (although I couldn't figure out how to use it and would have preferred a kettle, but that's just because I'm English!). Everything was also very clean and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Boston!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Chose this hotel because of it's proximity to the Back Bay Station where we were arriving on Amtrak from NYC, but also the TA reviews and ultimately the good price I got with one of the discount websites. The location couldn't have been better - off our train,found our way easily on to Clarendon Street and could see the hotel sign a short walk down the street. Like a lot of old buildings, there are a few steps that have to be negotiated with luggage.
Reception staff were among the friendliest and most helpful I have encountered - nothing was too much trouble.
I had expected our room to be small but was pleasantly surprised - either my idea of small is different to everyone else or we might have had a larger room. It was a bit of an odd shape which meant the bed was pushed up against one wall (irritating for whoever sleeps that side) but otherwise the room was well appointed and clean. It was great to have a small refrigerator to store our breakfast items. Air con worked well but the opening windows were also much appreciated for fresh air. The other thing that got a big tick was the onsite laundry room on one of the upper floors. The hotel occupies only part of the building and permanent residents live in other areas and the laundry room, with an adjoining recreation room with TV and PC, is utilized by both. Access is by use of the hotel key card. Washers and driers are coin in the slot and worked well.
Hotel 140 is only a couple of blocks (from the side entrance on Stewart Street) to the Prudential Center with it's shops, restaurants and food outlets. The popular Duck Tour leaves from there too and Shaw's supermarket is right there too. Copley Square is a short walk in the other direction so very conveniently located. Boston is very walkable but we did use the metro from Back Bay Station with a transfer at Downtown Crossing to get to Harvard.
We had a great 3 day stay and would definitely stay there again if in Boston.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elanora16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for providing us with some feedback about your stay at Hotel140. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of all that we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Boston.

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing