We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for a clean, quite room”
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
201 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent value for a clean, quite room”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is certainly not a luxury hotel, but it is clean and (considering the location) reasonably quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Excellent value!

Located about 2 blocks from Copley square and one block from the Back Bay "T" station, Hotel 140 has a great location for tourists, and will work adequately for business travelers on a tight expense budget. Rooms are on the small size, but include nice furnishings and "extras" (like a refrigerator) that you might not expect for the price.

The hotel does not have a restaurant, and finding a decent breakfast nearby can be an issue. The "Flour" bakery across the street is OK for coffee and pastries, but if you want to get table service and basic breakfast fare it may be a several block walk.

Don't even consider bringing a car. Even dropping off people and/or luggage can be an issue as the hotel does not even have a loading zone out front. There is a very expensive garage about a block away. Get a multi-day "Charley Card" pass to use the "T" (and other public transit) and save time and money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeptic2241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback! As you learned, we are conveniently located to public transportation as well as many great cafes, restaurants, and shopping. Guests seem to love the mini refrigerators in the rooms, and we are glad that you were able to utilize that! We look forward to your next visit to Boston!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    843
    319
    118
    70
See reviews for
368
809
211
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent four nights here in October 2013 and were impressed with the location. It's a few blocks from the Common and Freedom Trail and it is easy to walk to most tourist sites.... the furthest we managed was Harvard, about a 60-75 min walk past the MIT museum. The hotel was clean enough and the staff helpful, but the rooms were very small for two people sharing and ours had facilities to hang up 6 items of clothing only. Considering the location and the price, I'd say it's a very acceptable hotel and for a short stay of 1-2 days it's perfect, although for longer stays I'd consider a hotel further out with larger rooms.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you were able to explore as we are within walking distance to many of Boston's tourist attractions. During your next visit, we would be happy to provide you with a more spacious guest room. We look forward to seeing you again!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I am giving this place five stars based on the price and location compared to other properties I researched in this area. We found this boutique hotel on TripAdvisor. Based on the reviews and price, we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. It is a hidden gem right in the middle of downtown Boston. It is right across the street from the Hancock building, within easy walking distance of shopping, restaurants and transportation. We booked “superior queen” rooms, which were small by most standards, but normal for a large city. The rooms were very clean and well appointed, and the beds were very comfortable. We found the entire staff to be very friendly and helpful, with great suggestions for restaurants and activities. Charlie’s and Giacomo’s were both great restaurants and just a few blocks away. They recommended the Old Trolley Bus pass, which was great for sightseeing and even included a harbor tour and entrance to the Tea Party Museum. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone visiting Boston.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Our front desk staff if very knowledgable about the area and I'm glad they were able to help you decide on restaurants to dine at and things to do during your visit to Boston. Our location is perfect and there is so much to see within walking distance! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Spent 2 nights here on our first ever trip to the USA,
A great location nice helpful staff.
The rooms are a little small and the bed could be larger but overall a good hotel
As an introduction to Boston we could not have chosen a better location,
Next to the subway and within walking distance to a number of cafe's it was brilliant,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWright53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are so honored to have accommodated you during your first visit to the United States! You certainly chose a great spot as we are located right next to the public transportation. We hope you enjoyed all of the great shopping and restaurants within walking distance! We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

As a single first time traveller to Boston, was looking for a well located, reasonably priced, safe place. Hotel 140 was that and more. The location is excellent to sight see and take the T. The staff at the office and reception is very helpful. The room was neat, well equipped. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: The higher floors have a good view..though I opted for a room on the 5th floor that also has the off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brinda99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm so glad that our front desk staff was helpful in answering the questions that you had during your stay with us. Each of our rooms are unique so it is always good to let us know of any preferences that you may have. As you mentioned, many of our rooms do have great views of our beautiful city! We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
151 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Front desk is very helpful. The room we had was tiny, but what can you get these days for over $200 a night. Had great weather and were able to walk all over the city. Took a fun tour of the city on a bike.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Boston!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and would happily go back. I booked on the basis of price and location and wasn't disappointed at all.

We came from New York into Back Bay with Amtrak and the hotel is just minutes walk around the corner from the station. This is also the subway station, which we used a lot with our $18 Charlie card (we went all over the place from Harvard to Quincy with this card).

Rooms were really comfortable (especially the bed!) and extremely clean. Decent size and good view. Only gripe would be that the housekeeping tend to arrive too early so remember to put out your Do Not Disturb sign!

Hotel is an historic building which also has a theatre on site. Staff were very helpful and the elevators were always very fast to arrive. There is a lovely café called Flour across the road for breakfast. Easy 5 minute walk to Copley Square and the Prudential Centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biscuit182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Boston!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing