We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location good rates”
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location good rates”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I organized a trip for a group of french students, we were 33 people in total.
I've chosen this hotel for its location, rates and good reviews.
The day of our arrival, we had new requests and Steve and the housekeeping manager were very efficient and came up with a solution without extra costs!
If I had to organize another trip, I would definitely book this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vero B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We always do our best to meet our guests' needs when they are in need of last minute room changes. I am glad that we were able to do so during your stay with us. Please come see us again soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    839
    317
    115
    70
See reviews for
363
807
211
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Conveniently located by South Station and close to half the price of other hotels in the area is why I chose Hotel 140, and I'm glad I did. It was perfect for me and my son while in Boston for a Bruins game. All we needed was a clean place to stay close to the Garden and Hotel 140 provided that. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan-XIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of Hotel140's convenient location to TD Garden as well as our comfortable, clean, and affordable accommodations. We look forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hotel 140 is excellent. We stayed there for 5 nights as part of a 2 week trip around America and found the service, room and location to be very good.

From the moment we stepped into the hotel I felt welcome and the staff were so attentive, fun and friendly. They checked us in quickly, and we ran out of coffee in our room one morning and they gave us lots more as soon as I asked which was great. They also advised us about travelling to the airport. MacGuyver in particular was a notably helpful and friendly member of staff.

Our room was beautiful - it wasn't too small at all! We had a good sized bathroom, (no bath, just a nice big and extremely clean shower), and the room itself felt bigger than many other hotel rooms. We had a desk and a chair as well as a set of drawers, a cupboard for hanging clothes and separate wall-hangers for coats, a mini-fridge which was good in size and a nice big comfy bed. It was all decorated beautifully and we couldn't wait to get back to the hotel to relax and recharge in the evenings after spending all day walking around and exploring Boston and the surrounding areas.

The hotel is in a great location with a short walk from the Back Bay train and subway stop - so really handy and cheap for getting to the airport and other places (we took a train to Rhode Island one day, for example). It's also a great location for walking around and exploring Boston, with it being walking distance to Fenway Park, the Prudential Building and other notable tourist spots.

We also got a great rate through Expedia, so if we could get that same rate again I would have no problem visiting Hotel 140 on my next trip to Boston!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for sharing a little about your experience at Hotel140. We take a lot of pride in the customer service that our front desk staff provides to each and every guest. We are glad that you were pleased with all of the amenities that your guestroom provided. We find that many of our guests appreciate the mini fridge and the cupboard for hanging clothes. Our location can't be beat and it sounds like you were able to explore Boston while you were here!

We look forward to your next visit to Boston!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

5 friends and I stayed at Hotel 140. The main reason we chose this hotel was that it was within our budget range. I have been to Boston many times and wondered how a hotel that was so close to Copley Square could have such reasonable rates! We knew from other reviews here that the rooms were small and simply furnished - and they are. But what we did get was a comfy bed and reasonable sized shower room with free wifi and good quality housekeeping.There is very little wardrobe space so take this into account for what you pack. It was our intention to spend our time out and about in Boston so we spent very little time in the room and as a base for that it did the job admirably.

We found the desk staff to be friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The location is ideal for wandering round Copley Square and surrounding areas and as it is almost right next door to Back Bay Station - where you can connect with the T, commuter rail and Amtrak - it was a good point for travelling further afield. We found the staff in the station to be friendly and helpful too!

There are plenty of places to ear nearby. Tired on our first night we walked a short distance round the corner to Clery's ( details in the information folder in the room) and had what we know in the UK as "pub grub" which did the job very well. We treated ourselves to cocktails at the Top of the Hub in the Prudential Center a couple of blocks away and watched the sunset which was beautiful.

I would recommend Hotel 140 as a great base for exploring Beautiful Boston.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jayseetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Our guests always seem to appreciate how conveniently located we are to public transportation. Even if you are just taking a weekend trip to Boston, you are able to explore the whole city when you stay with us! I'm glad you appreciated the comfort of our hotel rooms after your days of exploring!

We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

we spent three nights at the hotel 140. our room (615) had a very comfortable king size bed, tv, and mini fridge, there was a stall shower, but no bathtub. the hotel is clean and quiet, and the staff is very professional and helpful. our only (minor) complaint was the lack of space to hang a suit or a dress. if you are traveling with formal clothes, you might want to ask for a room with better closet space. there is sufficient drawer space, however. the location is excellent: you are right by the back bay stop on the orange line of the t, in the heart of the back bay. the boston public library and copley square are a 2 minute walk, and it's less than a 10 minute walk to the charles river and esplanade. also quite close are the public garden, the boston common, and chinatown. we would definitely return--given the location, this hotel is a real bargain.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arthur w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad that you were able to enjoy the fantastic location that Hotel140 has to offer! During your next visit, we would be happy to provide you with a room with more closet space. We also have guestrooms that include bath tubs if that is something that you would prefer to have during your stay. We hope to see you during your next visit to Boston!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Absolutely perfect hotel for those of you who like to see the sites and experience your surroundings. Clean, comfortable, central with very professional and friendly service. If you want spas, fancy restaurant, extras, a bit of high falutin' then go elsewhere. Thank you Hotel 140 for looking after Walker Tours!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Our guests do love the convenience of our property as well as the great service that our front desk staff continues to provide. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Boston!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Having spent a week travelling around New England we finished our
Holiday with a few days in Boston, hoping to finally unpack and chill out. Only to find the room our friends were given had no wardrobe to hang up their clothes. Ours was not much better, had a box like construction with a few coat hangers in.
Our last night happened to be Halloween and unfortunately some young people must have booked the room next to ours to go partying and stay the night. And did they party... The noise was horrendous all night as the walls were so thin. Three times the guy on night duty grudgingly knocked on their door and asked them to be quiet, but they ignored him and he took no more action.
Will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallysid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. During your next visit to Boston, we would be happy to provide you with one of our more spacious rooms that includes more closet space. As the hotel was sold out during your visit, I apologize that we were unable to seperate you from the noise. We would certainly arrange for a quieter location upon your return.

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing