We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfortable hotel”
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #56 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Hotel room was very nice, the staff were helpful and polite and the location is great. Within walking distance of everything and the common around the corner. No complaints with the hotel, only the guests staying next to us who were very loud all night with noises we did not wish to experience! Would recommend the hotel to travellers in Boston.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauraw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for you for sharing your feedback. Our location really can't be beat and we are so glad that you were able to take advantage of it during your stay! We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,344 - 1,350 of 2,176 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Boston's not a cheap place to stay, and this hotel is relatively low-budget. It's in the old YWCA building, near to Boylston Street, the Prudential Centre and Copley Place, and not bad at all. Staff was also friendly and very accomodating, so no complaints there. The problem in my case was the room itself. My first room was quite impractical and had the bed splitting it in two because you couldn't walk around it. But, more problematic, it also possessed a very loud air conditioning unit. Or rather, two: the in-room one, which you can turn off, and the one in the hallways, which you can't and which caused sensible vibrations in my bed (OK, there are people that would pay extra for such a feature, but I'm not one of them). Going to a smaller, but more sensibly arranged room partly took care of that problem, but I still wouldn't recommend it for very light sleepers.

The hotel has no breakfast service, but across the street there's Flour Power, which provides very good breakfast and lunch.

Room Tip: Choose room away from Clarendon Street with a classy view of the parking garage. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IljaNieuwland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We will certainly look into this air conditioning issue as we strive to provide the most comfortable accommodations for our guests. We hope to see you during your next visit to Boston.

All the best,
Hotel140 Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our family of four stayed in a "deluxe room" that was fine for the one night we needed while visiting our son at Berklee College of Music. The room was, admittedly, tiny - difficult to manage with four people and luggage, with a tiny TV screen and spare décor - but fine for the one night we needed while visiting our son at Berklee College of Music. Great staff!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We find that a lot of our guests are in town visiting family at college. We hope to see you during your next visit!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel was the residence of the YWCA and the had a fine taste. It is very well located, close to the subway Back Bay and the shopping centers of the city. The rooms are (for a single !) comfortable and quiet, the price is right , the service is very friendly and there is Wifi ! If you don't like the donuts in the neighborhood, it can be a rather long walk to find a decent breakfast. But that's a detail. I come back.

Room Tip: All rooms seem quiet - and also spacious -especially for singles - because the hotel starts only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We take a lot of pride in our great staff and we are glad that they were able to assist you with any questions that you may have had during your visit. Wireless internet is certainly a plus as well! We hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

To be honest, I had never heard of Hotel 140 before and I felt more than a little apprehensive about the hotel. But the price was right and its close proximity to Back Bay station was rather attractive.  So I took a leap of faith and my partner and I stayed overnight in one of their standard rooms in Nov 2013.  I was more than relieved to find that the hotel was indeed only 5 minutes walk from Back Bay station's Clarendon Street exit.

The check in staff was pleasant and efficient but the whole process lacked any kind of warmth, dare I say the whole check in process was too efficient.  We were assigned a room on the seventh floor in the residential wing of the hotel.  The room was modern, clean and tidy with a standard double bed, bar fridge and a small flat screen TV. Little else.  The bathroom was also modern and clean, and it looked like it had undergone a recent makeover.  The water pressure in the shower was strong and there was adequate hot water even first thing in the morning.

Overall, the room was a little small but not uncomfortably cramped, however you may find it difficult to open two large suitcases at the same time.  The room heater and fan worked quietly to keep the room at a comfortable temperature.  When we arrived back to our room after dinner, we could hear the TV coming from the room next door in the corridor. Thankfully we could not hear the noise in the room!  So we can report that we managed to get a good night's sleep on the comfortable double bed.  The hotel's WIFI was more than adequate, but it can be a little slow in the early part of the evening.

Something not advertised on the hotel's website is the coin operated laundry facility on the fifth floor.  A  load of washing will costs you $1.50 and the drier is an additional $1.50. The machines only take quarters (25 cent coins).  You can purchase a small box of laundry powder from the front desk.  If you are travelling for more than a week, you will appreciate having access to a washer and drier.

The checkout process in the morning was also pleasant and efficient, but again it just wasn't personable.  I guess it is not something that they would be too concerned with given the hotel's popularity.  Nonetheless, it doesn't hurt to make the guests feel a little "special".  Would I stay there again?  Yes, for short stays, but for longer stays, I would find the standard room too cramped for comfort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrWho08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you were pleased with your experience at Hotel140. We look forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is the second time that I have stayed a t Hotel 140 and I wouldn't hesitiate to stay a third time.
The Location is fantastic- close to Back Bay train station, Newbury St,Boston Common,Tour Trolleys etc.
The rooms have everything you need, they are comfortable, clean and secure
I travelled solo on this trip and this hotel suited met all of my needs.
The staff are pleasant and helpful.
Price per night was affordable & I got what I paid for.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay and play in Boston

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekjm_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for the positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We used to live in the Boston area and, when visiting for a wedding, we wanted to be close to a few key places (including our fav sushi place Douzo). We chose this hotel and were pleased - it was in a good location, had a decent price for the city, and had a rental car place a couple doors down. The rooms weren't super modern, but they were clean and we were comfortable. I would stay here again for the price.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank christie584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of Hotel140's fantastic location. We also love Duozo! We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Boston!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#69 of 86 in Boston
973 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 86 in Boston
785 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#74 of 86 in Boston
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#47 of 86 in Boston
686 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 86 in Boston
3,896 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
YOTEL Boston
YOTEL Boston
#28 of 86 in Boston
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £81 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel 140. As a charming and intimate boutique residence, we offer a surprisingly affordable pied-a-terre in a neighborhood known for its pricey hotels. Located in Boston’s historic Back Bay, we’re a stylish newcomer in the heart of one of the country’s oldest and most captivating cities. Housed within a historic landmark building on Clarendon Street, our beautiful boutique hotel delights arriving guests with its graceful neoclassical architecture, contemporary services and amenities, and easy access to Back Bay Station. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, our exquisite building was constructed in 1929 as the home for the oldest YWCA in the country. We continue to enchant with distinguishing design touches like our bright, bustling two-story lobby, terrazzo floors, arched windows and tufted sofas and wingback chairs. And with immediate neighbors the Lyric Stage Theater Company and Viga Eatery, we ensure that you will always be entertained and well fed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing