We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel 140
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Vallejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We booked this room on a whim simply for the price. We had no idea what to expect of the hotel or the neighborhood. Being an old YMCA, it is not fancy and the room was very small, but it was sufficient for us in every way. The thing that could have been an issue is that the walls are extremely thin. We could hear out neighbors plainly. But luckily we had quiet neighbors. The Back Bay neighborhood that the hotel is in is fantastic. We spent a couple days just roaming the Back Bay and the the neighborhoods to the West of us. Really the location is fantastic. Judge it by it's nearby hotel neighbors - the Fairmont, the Mandarin Oriental, the Westin, and many more. It's right in the thick of all those fancy hotels. Depending on your physical fitness, you are within walking distance to everything. If you aren't a big walker, there is ample public transportation very near by. For a truly lovely walk, walk up Commonwealth Avenue to the Public Gardens. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qwertyhjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed Back Bay and all that it has to offer. We look forward to seeing you and your family again during your next visit to Boston.

Happy Holidays!

Hotel140 Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    817
    302
    110
    66
See reviews for
351
789
206
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times already for long weekends and my experience has been quite good so far. It's a no-frills boutique hotel so definitely do not expect anything luxurious. The hotel is located in Boston's Back Bay (near the regional/Amtrak train station), one of the cities more expensive areas, but the nightly rate is more reasonable than some of the larger chain hotels in that neighborhood. It is close (or within walking distance) to Copley Place, Boylston and Newbury streets, where you'll find a variety of restaurants and high-end retail stores, and is a short 10-15 minute train/metro ride to Boston's Chinatown, Fanueil Hall and other historic sites in the city. The staff was friendly, helpful and efficient with check-in/check-out process.The room is small but clean. I stayed in one of the rooms in a higher floor and had a good night's sleep. (The hotel is tucked in a quite corner in Clarendon street and I didn't think it was noisy.) The bathroom is spacious enough with a shower (no tub if that matters) and everything worked properly. The hotel also offered free wifi access and the connection was pretty good. I would definitely recommend this hotel for travelers who are looking for a reliable and less expensive option to stay which is not easy to find in an area like the Back Bay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karslima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our location certainly is fantastic and the Orange Line and Green Line are both within walking distance. If you are visiting Boston and hoping to tour other areas, Back Bay is the perfect spot! We hope to see you during your next visit!

All the best,

Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDX
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Arrived at the Hotel to check in and pulling up at the front of the hotel is darn near impossible. There is no pull over lane. We ended up double parking while one of us went in to find out where hotel parking was. We were not given an option to unload our luggage at the front of the hotel we had to go to the parking lot (3 doors up) to park and bring our luggage back. Frustrating and could have been avoided by the front desk staff providing us a little assistance.
When we dragged our luggage back to the front desk (it's up stairs, there is no rolling walkway) the front desk informed us our double room was ready - we had previously confirmed with the hotel that we would have 2 queen beds - this is a stipulation when we travel and I confirm it with all hotels at the time of reservation.
After much messing around, we were told we could stay in the double room for the first night, but the remaining 5 nights we would be moved to a suite with a king and 3 queen beds. We were fine with this option and were appreciative of their assistance.
When we arrived in our room, well let's just say you would have to step outside to change your mind. The rooms were so very small it would be impossible to accommodate 4 adults with 4 suitcases. The bathroom was a shower, toilet and basin - which would be fine for 2 people, but only 1 could fit in there at a time. Our toilet was positioned against a floor to ceiling glass window so if you looked down in any way, you were looking down 7 floors to the street. In addition to this to reach the toilet paper you need to contort your shoulder as it's directly behind the toilet!
The beds were the most uncomfortably we have ever experienced, in fact, I do believe the beds were not quite double.
The next morning we packed up our items and were moved to the suite which was the total opposite of our previous nights room. The room was one long corridor with a bathroom off to the side at the entrance, then a room with a king bed, then a room with 3 queen beds. The rooms were poorly appointed, and it felt like we were staying in a hostel.
The outlets for charging were in strange places and though there was free wi-fi you had to sit on the bed to use your laptop as it was the only place to keep it charged while in operation.
It is well situated next to Back Bay Station, but it's a decent walk to other tourist attractions in Boston. There is no restaurant in the hotel and the cafe across the road is always packed. Apart from that there are not many dining options in the immediate area.
To be honest, I wouldn't bother staying here again - mainly because of the inconvenience of changing rooms then the awkwardness of the layouts.

Room Tip: Get a suite for no other reason than the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate any feedback that guests can provide. Each of our rooms are unique and we do our best to honor any preferences that guests may have when reserving. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our fantastic location. We hope to see you again!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Hotel room was very nice, the staff were helpful and polite and the location is great. Within walking distance of everything and the common around the corner. No complaints with the hotel, only the guests staying next to us who were very loud all night with noises we did not wish to experience! Would recommend the hotel to travellers in Boston.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for you for sharing your feedback. Our location really can't be beat and we are so glad that you were able to take advantage of it during your stay! We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Boston's not a cheap place to stay, and this hotel is relatively low-budget. It's in the old YWCA building, near to Boylston Street, the Prudential Centre and Copley Place, and not bad at all. Staff was also friendly and very accomodating, so no complaints there. The problem in my case was the room itself. My first room was quite impractical and had the bed splitting it in two because you couldn't walk around it. But, more problematic, it also possessed a very loud air conditioning unit. Or rather, two: the in-room one, which you can turn off, and the one in the hallways, which you can't and which caused sensible vibrations in my bed (OK, there are people that would pay extra for such a feature, but I'm not one of them). Going to a smaller, but more sensibly arranged room partly took care of that problem, but I still wouldn't recommend it for very light sleepers.

The hotel has no breakfast service, but across the street there's Flour Power, which provides very good breakfast and lunch.

Room Tip: Choose room away from Clarendon Street with a classy view of the parking garage. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IljaNieuwland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We will certainly look into this air conditioning issue as we strive to provide the most comfortable accommodations for our guests. We hope to see you during your next visit to Boston.

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our family of four stayed in a "deluxe room" that was fine for the one night we needed while visiting our son at Berklee College of Music. The room was, admittedly, tiny - difficult to manage with four people and luggage, with a tiny TV screen and spare décor - but fine for the one night we needed while visiting our son at Berklee College of Music. Great staff!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We find that a lot of our guests are in town visiting family at college. We hope to see you during your next visit!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel was the residence of the YWCA and the had a fine taste. It is very well located, close to the subway Back Bay and the shopping centers of the city. The rooms are (for a single !) comfortable and quiet, the price is right , the service is very friendly and there is Wifi ! If you don't like the donuts in the neighborhood, it can be a rather long walk to find a decent breakfast. But that's a detail. I come back.

Room Tip: All rooms seem quiet - and also spacious -especially for singles - because the hotel starts only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We take a lot of pride in our great staff and we are glad that they were able to assist you with any questions that you may have had during your visit. Wireless internet is certainly a plus as well! We hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing