We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #54 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I booked this hotel and really hoped that it would live up to my expectations. Recent reviews are mixed, most complaints about noise, loud heating system and small facilities. Well here goes. I checked in with a very polite young lady who directed me to my room, and made sure I had everything I needed to get around the city, including maps, information about the transit system and local places to eat. I was interested in a juice bar and she directed me to one that was close by. My room (712) was immaculate, small, but no more than I needed. The stand up shower was a bit on the small side but then again, nothing that would keep me from coming back. Flat screen tv, fridge, small set of drawers, queen bed, free wireless. The heat was adequate, but I do agree with others that they should have heavier blankets in January. No problem when I asked for an extra blanket...they brought one right up for me. Outside my room there was a small meeting room and on both mornings, people were mingling outside that room and though they didn't know it, their voices were carrying right into my room. I did peek out and ask them to take their conversations elsewhere and they politely apologized and moved away from my door. My advise to late sleepers is to NOT book a room near this meeting space. It tends to get noisy...and I am not a light sleeper. I would imagine the room set up on floors above and below are exactly the same, so when I return, and I will, I will book on another floor. I give the hotel, staff, accomodations a big thumbs up. This hotel is a diamond in the rough of huge hotels in the area. The metro station is right around the corner, so I didn't need to drive a car, or worry about parking it for $$$ every day. Took amtrack from CT right to Back Bay station, walked a block and I was there. Can't wait to share this gem with my friends! Great job, Hotel 140! I'll be back!

Room Tip: 7th floor has a small meeting room in the middle of rooms 712-715. If you are a light sleeper, I rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay with us! We are thrilled that you were pleased with the staff and guest room. Per your request, we would be happy to find you a room in a quieter area during your next visit. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    856
    328
    123
    71
See reviews for
373
824
215
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Khabarovsk, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My best friend and I just checked out from Hotel 140. I just wanted to say that this was my best trip to Boston! I love our hotel - its location, our apartment and the staff most of all. I actually made a lot of friends in here. And MacGyver is the best one! We even went to NY together, he showed us the city and he helped us in everything we asked for. Thanks to him our trip was really funny so I will never forget it. And I'll be back for sure! 'Cause 4 weeks weren't enough to enjoy. Thank you everyone for making our stay so so amazing. I'm going to miss everyone:(

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our hotel staff. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Boston and we hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemoyne, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Definitely qualifies as a "boutique" hotel. This is a clean and well run hotel in a convenient Back Bay location near everything. Boston is a great walking city and there is no better area to start from than the Back Bay. There were no "strange" people wandering the halls during our stay. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and service was above par. The only drawback was the small size of the room. It would be adequate for one person, but was cramped for two people. Not exactly a room in which you would choose to have a room service dinner. Loved the old phots used for decor from its days as a YWCA residence.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudyTomB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback! Our location certainly cannot be beat and we are so glad that you were able to take advantage of that. Please come see us again soon.

All the best,

Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natal, RN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The extraordinary care, the attention, the excellent tips on what to do and what to see in Boston provided by the receptionist Julieta. She is a Brazilian super helpful, they really did everything to make our stay the best possible. No doubt, I recommend the Hotel 140.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ednardo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words about Hotel140 and our front desk staff. Feedback is always appreciated and we would like to continue to provide you with great service in the future! We look forward to your next stay with us.

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carle Place, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

've stayed here a couple of times in the past year. Rooms are always clean; staff is friendly and willing to help. Rates are very good for the heart of Boston. I was able to walk to all my appointments and like every city there are great restaurants within a block or two.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the hotel's location, amenities, and price. Please come see us again soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a great stay at Hotel 140 a couple of weeks ago. The room had everything we needed, was modern, comfortable and had nice little touches such as higher quality bath products. The location was perfect and is as central as you could want for getting everywhere you need to go, including food, activities, metro line, parks etc. The hotel had fast (free) wifi, free computer access (first 15 minutes) for printing boarding passes etc., and in general doesn't feel like it is lacking for anything, which brings me to my final point. The staff at Hotel 140 really make the stay special. Every single one who I had a question for pointed me in the right direction and really made me feel at home in Boston. Most especially, Macgyver took the time to carefully recommend dining experiences, and give a detailed explanation of everything Boston had to offer. I couldn't have asked for a more knowledgeable, good-humored individual, and I honestly felt like the hotel had hired him to be our expert on all things Boston.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad that you felt fulfilled with your stay at hotel140. Our staff continues to make lasting impressions on our guests! We look forward to seeing you during your next visit!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is my 4th time staying here in about 4 years. This time I arrived to find the card security had been taped over in the elevators. "Oh, but there are security cameras in the elevators", said the nice lady at the front desk. Next day I noticed a number of "lower income folks" wandering the halls, riding the elevators and sitting on the stairs. In the past, the non-business guests mostly seemed to be students.

Last night the person in the room next to me decided to light up in the bathroom immediately filling my room with smoke. I called the front desk to report it and was told, "We can move you to another room." "Thanks but it's 10:30 at night. This is a non-smoking hotel - how about you go tell them to stop." "I can't. I am the only person on tonight. Besides, I'm small. There's no way I'm going up there to get into an argument."

This morning I was awoken at 5:30 by a woman in the hallway speaking loudly in a language I can only guess was Ethiopian. I presume she was on the phone. Seeing as I had some extra time before my first meeting, I did a little investigation and figured out my room filled with smoke the previous night because they turn the ventilation system off at night (it was on in the morning). Presumable this is a money-saving idea. (!)

So anyway, if you want to stay in a nice low-security hotel, with colorful smoking neighbors, cheerful yet unhelpful staff and with the opportunity to learn new languages thrown in for free, this is your place. Me, not so much.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#66 of 83 in Boston
955 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#32 of 83 in Boston
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,790 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#57 of 83 in Boston
2,060 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing