We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean, affordable, great service”
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple, clean, affordable, great service”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We had to stay a week in Boston so price was an issue. Yes there are fancy places and if you can afford $300 or more a night then this might not be for you. It met our needs. It was clean, small and simple. The location was great for us and we walked most places and the T was close. The people at the desk are so friendly and helpful, and we appreciated that.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plaid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are so glad that you were happy with the location, accommodations, and staff at hotel140. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    844
    319
    118
    70
See reviews for
369
809
211
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rensselaer, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I had a conference that I was attending at Hynes Convention Center and my husband came with me for the week. I was looking for a place that would be convenient to the location as well as economical. I thought that I had found this in the hotel.

It certainly was very economical and I was very pleased with the price. As well, once my husband and I emerged from the T at Copley Square we were pleased with how close the hotel was and to where I would need to go for the conference.

The people at the front desk were very friendly and check in was very easy. We then went up to our room.

To remain on the positive side- this hotel was extremely clean and had everything that one would want while on a vacation. There was even a small fridge in the room.

The room is EXTREMELY SMALL. We were not expecting this. As well, there is only a shower stall and I had to do a few gymnastic moves to take a shower. My husband was not very pleased with the size of the room. As well, there was not an inside safety lock on the door, and that disturbed me. As we were laying in bed, my husband was literally laying on the wall since the bed was against it. At 4 am we decided to book another hotel.

I have to say- the management and staff here are excellent. We had ordered tickets to the aquarium and I had not been given them at check in. It was discovered that even though we had ordered them in January when we made the reservation- the tickets were not delivered. This was immediately rectified- I was given an immediate discount as well as 10% off of my room. We were then given alternative event tickets in their place. When we told the desk that we were moving to a new hotel, they were disappointed but handled it all with class. We were very impressed.

Room Tip: Make sure your bed is NOT on the wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebe35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at hotel140. We are happy to hear that you were impressed with our fabulous staff and affordable accommodations. During your next visit to Boston, we will certainly assign you to a more spacious room. Also, our current door locks are specifically made to where if you turn upright, the deadbolt will activate. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I had a wonderful stay here! The front desk and staff is very helpful and kind and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel itself is cozy and right in the middle of tourist attractions, entertainment, restaurants - it's perfect! We'll be staying here again during our next trip to Boston.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for sharing some feedback on your recent stay at hotel140. We are so glad that you enjoyed the accommodations and location. We look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us.

All the best,

Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangeron2004
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stumbled upon this gem in the heart of Boston and was surprised by a) how historic the building is b) how CLEAN and cute the rooms were and 3) how close the hotel was to EVERYTHING. Love, love, love. Nancy at front desk was so helpful in finding a couple attractions and the english woman Rebecca(?), very, very attentive.

Room Tip: Try and snag a room on floor 6 or 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hangeron2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We certainly have a lot of pride in our hotel staff as well as our guest rooms! We hope to be able to accommodate you again soon!

All the best,

Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful stay,front desk very pleasant and helpful,room and bed more than comfortable.We will stay here again,soon.The location at coply square is central to all entertainment ,restaurants and tourist attractions.My wife and I enjoyed our experience and will return,soon

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at hotel140. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy our comfortable and convenient location! We look forward to seeing you during your next trip to Boston!

All the best,

Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I are on our honeymoon from Australia and this was the first place we stayed in the USA and WOW!! We were so happy and so amazed at this place! We were upgraded to a king bed - an amazingly large and warm bathroom. Our housekeeping was amazing! Cannot fault this hotel at all. Thank you!! Will definitely be recommending to any of our Australian mates who want to travel to Boston.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WinieWinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad that we were able to make your trip to Boston extra enjoyable! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,

Hotel140 management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Convenient location, excellent value for money and comfortable good sized rooms

No sound proofing on rooms so noisy, maid service average and not much in way of facilities (computer and fitness rooms out of service). You get what you pay for

Room Tip: Try and gauge sound of AC and change room if necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaidenLegOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. During your next visit to Boston, please ask our front desk agents about access to the Boston Sports Club located right across the street. We will also be sure to assign you to a quieter room.

We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#60 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing