We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The Hotel 140 was a great find! We had a fabulous rate and the location was perfect. Our room was very clean with a comfortable bed and luxurious feeling bedding. Front desk staff friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. The hotel kept our bags secure before check in and after check out to give us more time in the city
Know before you go: It is a converted (still in use?) YWCA, so the rooms are a bit small, but very manageable for the 2 of us. Our stand up shower was tiny ~ I'm 5'3, and I struggled, but the hot water was plentiful and pressure was great. Great walkable neighborhood and the train is less than a block away. The Boston system is EASY to use.
We would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tntraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear tntraveler39,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your trip to Boston! Our rooms are smaller than some of the hotels in Back Bay, however, we are able to price our rooms at a more reasonable rate.

The hotel is in a great area. We are close to the train station, shopping areas, restaurants and attractions are all within in close proximity to the hotel.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    817
    302
    110
    66
See reviews for
351
788
206
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Hotel 140 is a small hotel within (behind) a few blocks of Copley Square. It is very convenient to the Back Bay train station and the 'green line T'. Also within walking distance of Newbury and Boylston Streets for shopping and many, many restaurants. Close to the Boston Gardens and Commons. It is small, the rooms are very small, but neat and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed here while attending a graduation in Cambridge. The 'Lyric Theater' is located in the same building as this hotel. It's a great (small sized) theater. We saw 'Into the Woods while staying here. It was fantastic.

Room Tip: Our room was small, but very quiet. We didn't make any special requests. If you are concerned ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaLeeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear AngelaLeeS,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! Yes, we are in a convenient location, situated very close to Back Bay Train Station and the T. We are able to offer very reasonable rates since our rooms are a little smaller than other Boston hotel properties. Our building is historic and unique and we offer a few different room types that are larger than our standard rooms.

I am pleased to hear that you were able to see a show at Lyric Stage - we are fortunate to have the Theatre in our Hotel! It is a perfect location.

Please visit us again the next time you come to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

we had a tiny room looking across to view of another hotel room ,very good location wise but for the money we paid for 3 nights not worth it at all ,poor value i know boston hotels are quite expensive but bfor all you get here its not worth it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear mac24,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at Hotel 140. We are in a prime location in Boston. Since our rooms are small, our rates are lower than anything else in Back Bay. We do have a selection of unique room types available as well which are larger than our standard rooms.

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great value hotel in a superb location within walking distance of most tourist areas. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful giving excellent advice on where to eat. The rooms were perfectly adequate for us as tourists and were clean as well as having all the basic amenities. We highly recommend Hotel 140 and will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear JandB39,

Thank you for your review and stay at Hotel 140! Our team is dedicated to great guest service and clean rooms. We are in a superb location to access shops and restaurants and our T system. Our guest rooms are just right for guests on the go - Boston is a great place to explore!

We look forward to your return to Hotel 140!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just spent a 3 day weekend in Boston and stayed at Hotel 140. We could not have asked for a better experience.

Even though we were checking in late at night, the front desk person (Victoria?) was extremely pleasant, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area and services.

The location is right in the heart of everywhere you would want to be. Our room was spectacular with an amazing nightime view of the Prudential Tower. The bed was comfortable and we had all of the in-room amenities that we have come to expect.

We had one breakfast in the lobby restaurant called Viga. Both the food and the prices were good. The staff was accomodating even when I asked for a sandwich not on the menu.

This was a delightful visit and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyfamoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Kellyfamoh,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 140! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were well taken care of by Victoria upon check in. Our team is very knowledgeable of the city and are more than willing to share.

Our rooms, each unique, offer great views of the city both day and night. Guests often comment about how comfortable our beds are, I am glad that you agree!

Viga is new to our lobby and is well received. They serve quality food and have quick, friendly service.

We hope to see you again soon when you return to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chittaway Point, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were delighted with Boston's Hotel 140.It was situated in a great position;near both the Amtrak station and the subway, as well as being about 5 minutes walk from lots of reasonably priced cafes in Boyston street. Not far away was the Charles River with beautiful walks alongside.Boston Common was only 15 minutes walk away.We certainly recommend the hotel: its rooms were very spacious and comfortable.Breakfast was available downstairs for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear lyn p,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Hotel 140. I am so pleased that you chose Hotel 140 for your trip to Boston! Yes, we are located very close to Back Bay Station servicing Amtrak and within a short walking distance to Restaurants, Charles River and the Boston Common. Please visit us next time you are in Boston. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Cannot fault this hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. The lady on the desk each morning of our stay was an absolute gem. So helpful and understanding of our questions. Room was small, but perfect for what we needed. The location was perfect. Walking distance to train station and city centre.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brasso89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Brasso89,

Thank you for the fantastic review of our Hotel! Our staff takes great pride in customer service and truly enjoy gathering information and answering questions about Boston for our guests!

Our location is indeed perfect for the train and central Boston. We hope that you visit us again when coming to Boston!

Warm Regards,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing