We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second time back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We first stayed this last March and again in May. The staff is very helpful! Nancy was great at helping us locate places to eat. It's very clean, simple and affordable. There is now a nice place to grab a quick bite to eat with excellent teas and coffees downstairs. The location is perfect! We will return and I highly recommend it.

If you want large fancy rooms then this will not be for you but we are not in Boston to sit around in a room!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plaid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Plaid123,

Thank you for returning to Hotel 140! I am thrilled that Nancy was helpful - our staff is extremely knowledgeable of the city. We take great pride in cleanliness as well! Viga Restaurant is new to our lobby - they have great food and open daily at 7am.

We look forward to your return to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    817
    302
    110
    66
See reviews for
351
788
206
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated 100 yards from Back Bay train station, and within walking distance of Boston common and various places to eat on Newbury Street. We were able to check in at 11am and the hotel held our bags after check out until we needed to get the train home. No breakfast included. Would recommend. However with regards to price, it was on the upper limit of what I would pay for a single night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanMcMenemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jonathan McMenemy,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! Yes, we are only 100 yards from Back Bay Train Station which makes it very convenient for travel. Shops and restaurants are within very close proximately to our hotel. In fact, we have a restaurant named Viga in our lobby! Many of our guests utilize our luggage holding service while they explore the city prior to check in or post check out.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is an old, but impeccably clean hotel. The reception staff are exceptional and go out of their way to assist you. The room itself was a little dated and small, but pristine and clean. The air con was a bit loud, but bed was comfy. The location is great and is on the same block as the Back bay station and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. It is a fair walk to the water, but Boston is a great city to walk in, so not an issue. There is an Avis next door to if you need a car.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midgeyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear midgeyc,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are a Historic Building that is well maintained and impeccably clean. Our front desk team delivers great customer service and is dedicated to making our guests feel at home. Our beds are very comfortable - I am so happy that you enjoyed them! Our location is perfect - there are many restaurants and shopping areas within a very short distance.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladera Ranch, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We recently attended a family members wedding at the Fairmont Copley plaza after 5 days in Newport RI with our 2 young children and my parents. We were on the fence whether or not to ante up and pay the big bucks for a room to accommodate the 4 of us at the Fairmont and We are SO glad we didn't!

Upon arrival the staff gave the kids a couple of little baseball toys, and made sure our room suited our needs and we had everything we needed. The room was equipped with a small fridge and although small was appointed nicely, clean and modern. Bathtub for the kids was also a great convenience.

Although separately operated , the cafe downstairs offered excellent food for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the employees couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating.

Location is IDEAL! There is a fantastic kids playground within yards of the hotel, a dry cleaner at ground floor, CVS very nearby as well as a great little bakery/cafe named flour along with several other unique restaurants closeby. Additionally Copley plaza is a stones throw away along with a shaws supermarket and stop for the ever popular duck tour. Newburyport street and Boston common are about a 5 minute walk.

The only drawback I can think of is if you have a car the street parking while checking in could be a headache but we lucked out and got a spot to easily unload.

The staff and accommodations can't be beat and the rates as compared to other hotels in the area are most certainly the best.

Will definitely stay here for our next visit to Boston!

Room Tip: Request room with bathtub as the bathroom will be larger not at expense of the hotel room sq footage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Johnna V.

We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel 140! Thank you for the wonderful review.

Yes, we are in an ideal location with many shops close by. We offer many amenities in our hotel including Viga Restaurant! Every room includes a refrigerator which is perfect for families. Our rooms are a little smaller than some hotels in this area which is why we are able to offer a more reasonable rate.

There is metered parking in front of our hotel and a parking garage next to our hotel. Fortunately, you were able to get a spot to unload!

We are looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent Hotel, 200 yards from Boston Back bay Railway Station in the centre of Boston. Staff were exceptionally helpful and managed to book me ticket's for the evening Red Sox Game. has its own theatre, ( unfortunately was sold out ) Dry cleaner and Café all very useful for the tourist. Walking distance to shops, Park, & Tourist area's. Rooms were clean and spacious ( we had one of their two room apartments ) Would defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear David C,

Thank you for choosing Hotel 140! We have a wonderful staff that is extremely knowledgeable about Boston. I am thrilled that they were able to assist you with Red Sox tickets!

We are in a prime location and offer many amenities within our own building including a Dry Cleaner, Theatre and Viga Restaurant. Our Housekeeping Team is fantastic, taking great pride in cleanliness!

I cannot wait for you to come stay with us on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We were a bit ambivalent before arriving due to the mixed reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised! We stayed for one night... sadly we were booked at the Courtyard Marriott Downtown for the rest of our stay -- DO NOT GO THERE as it was a noisy and cramped old place.

It was quiet and clean, with ample towels and spare toiletries. Microwave and refrigerator were very useful. Multiple TVs in our suite (which was a free upgrade!) was convenient for our family.

Great location right off of Copley, near Newbury St, Prudential Center, and beautiful parts of the Charles River Esplanade.

And to top it off, super nice staff!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JZ8911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140 and fantastic review! Our housekeeping team takes great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms, I am happy to see that you agree. We have refrigerators in every room which makes it very convenient for our guests. Our location is great, just steps away from Copley Square, Prudential Center and the Charles.

We are thrilled that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Hotel 140! Please visit us again next time you are in Boston.

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The Hotel 140 was a great find! We had a fabulous rate and the location was perfect. Our room was very clean with a comfortable bed and luxurious feeling bedding. Front desk staff friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. The hotel kept our bags secure before check in and after check out to give us more time in the city
Know before you go: It is a converted (still in use?) YWCA, so the rooms are a bit small, but very manageable for the 2 of us. Our stand up shower was tiny ~ I'm 5'3, and I struggled, but the hot water was plentiful and pressure was great. Great walkable neighborhood and the train is less than a block away. The Boston system is EASY to use.
We would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tntraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear tntraveler39,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your trip to Boston! Our rooms are smaller than some of the hotels in Back Bay, however, we are able to price our rooms at a more reasonable rate.

The hotel is in a great area. We are close to the train station, shopping areas, restaurants and attractions are all within in close proximity to the hotel.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing