We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent rooms with a great view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel 140
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms with a great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

we stayed here for the start of our honeymoon and the location was perfect. Just two blocks from Newbury street. The staff were really friendly and helpful. the room was small but it was clean and the bed was comfy which is all you need for a city break. I would go back.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room so you get two windows and on the 4th floor or above for noise level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailywailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear sailywailey,

Thank you for your recent review of Hotel 140! Congratulations on your Wedding!
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we are in a great location and close to so many restaurants and shops! We often receive compliments on the comfort of our beds, I am glad that you agree.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    817
    302
    110
    66
See reviews for
351
788
206
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Small room, high price, didn't feel clean. Not enough room to open a suitcase, let alone swing a cat. Felt wary of treading on the carpet. Location was first class and people were helpful. I suspect we could have found somewhere better - our other friends did. Flour (opposite) was good for breakfast though.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Backzapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Backzapper,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! I am so happy that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our helpful staff. We are a Historic Building and our rooms are some of the smaller in the city which is why we are able to offer more reasonable rates. Our housekeeping team works very hard to deliver consistent cleanliness and comfort. Hotel 140's cleanliness scores are some of the highest in the city. We are looking forward to our remodel project that will start in the early Fall. The project will include replacement of carpet, paint and new furniture.

I hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having read the reviews on here after booking four nights at the 140 - I did indeed enter with some trepidation. First things first it is not a boutique hotel. This doesn't matter to me but make no bones about a boutique it is not. The place still has an operational YWCA (W not M) floor or floors so let's be clear about that as well. The welcome was friendly, the room was bijou ( i.e. small) as was the bed but was spotlessly clean - our room had a hum dinger of a wi-fi signal. The bed was comfy, the chair was small (bijou) as well. It is amongst the quietest city hotel room I've slept in. The small size of the room was no problem to me. I can fill a hotel room with bike gear when I'm on the road this would have been no challenge. The hotel is central and has a bustle about it. This is a good thing. There is a super little Italian chain cafe within the building. Top breakfast good coffee and a street-scene. We booked our final night there and were given a hefty discount. When we arrived we were handed our keys and scaled the dizzy heights of the 12th floor. We had complained about the small bed in our original room so we were given a three room suite with a King sized bed. It was great. There was no wi-fi so I read a book instead. Bonus. I would happily stay there again - excellent helpful staff by the way.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWYN33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear GWYN33,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! I am thrilled that you enjoyed the suite! Yes, we are a Historic Building in a great central location!.Our rooms are a little smaller which is why we are able to offer reasonable rates. The beds are very comfortable - we regularly receive many compliments on our bedding and our cleanliness. The Housekeeping Team takes great pride in their work and it shows. The Front Desk is committed to excellent guest service as well.

We hope that you visit us again on your next visit to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

With lots of competition for hotels near Copley Square, this was a great place for our family for a recent stay. The hotel has a very European feel. The lobby, public areas and rooms are charming and spotlessly clean, and the rooms were surprisingly quiet (no street noise). The beds were exceptionally comfortable, clearly brand new. Loved how many luxurious towels were provided. There's a great little breakfast spot right in the lobby. Location is perfect for Copley, South End restaurants, and Boylston and Newbury Street shopping.

Room Tip: We had the Kennedy Suite which is great for families. It's actually a small sitting room and 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sarah K,

Thank you for your recent stay with your family at Hotel 140! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our building is historic, has great character and the housekeeping team takes great pride in cleanliness. The beds are extremely comfortable - many of our guest comment on the bedding as well. Viga Restaurant is a new addition to our lobby and it is delicious! We are also very close to many shops, restaurants and attractions in Back Bay.

I hope that you are able to visit us again the next time you visit Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We first stayed this last March and again in May. The staff is very helpful! Nancy was great at helping us locate places to eat. It's very clean, simple and affordable. There is now a nice place to grab a quick bite to eat with excellent teas and coffees downstairs. The location is perfect! We will return and I highly recommend it.

If you want large fancy rooms then this will not be for you but we are not in Boston to sit around in a room!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plaid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Plaid123,

Thank you for returning to Hotel 140! I am thrilled that Nancy was helpful - our staff is extremely knowledgeable of the city. We take great pride in cleanliness as well! Viga Restaurant is new to our lobby - they have great food and open daily at 7am.

We look forward to your return to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated 100 yards from Back Bay train station, and within walking distance of Boston common and various places to eat on Newbury Street. We were able to check in at 11am and the hotel held our bags after check out until we needed to get the train home. No breakfast included. Would recommend. However with regards to price, it was on the upper limit of what I would pay for a single night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanMcMenemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jonathan McMenemy,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! Yes, we are only 100 yards from Back Bay Train Station which makes it very convenient for travel. Shops and restaurants are within very close proximately to our hotel. In fact, we have a restaurant named Viga in our lobby! Many of our guests utilize our luggage holding service while they explore the city prior to check in or post check out.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is an old, but impeccably clean hotel. The reception staff are exceptional and go out of their way to assist you. The room itself was a little dated and small, but pristine and clean. The air con was a bit loud, but bed was comfy. The location is great and is on the same block as the Back bay station and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. It is a fair walk to the water, but Boston is a great city to walk in, so not an issue. There is an Avis next door to if you need a car.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midgeyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear midgeyc,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are a Historic Building that is well maintained and impeccably clean. Our front desk team delivers great customer service and is dedicated to making our guests feel at home. Our beds are very comfortable - I am so happy that you enjoyed them! Our location is perfect - there are many restaurants and shopping areas within a very short distance.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#36 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing