We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent staff!”
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here in June ( we are just back from a long trip ) and we were delighted with the location of this hotel. It was near to transport, restaurants and shops. The rooms are slightly on the small side but are functional, clean and comfortable. The staff ( especially "Michael" ) were very helpful and were always around so that we could ask questions about places to see and restaurants to visit. I could certainly recommend this hotel just for its location. There was a separate restaurant/cafe in the building which provided breakfast and meals throughout the day until 7pm .

Room Tip: As the rooms are a little on the small side perhaps "older people" who have to get up thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear CarolineK12345,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! I am excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Boston! Our building is historic and our rooms are a little smaller than others in the area. We are able to offer more reasonable rates than the other properties in Back Bay. Our Housekeeping Team works very hard to clean our rooms, they take their jobs very seriously and it shows! Our Front Desk Team, including Michael, are very knowledgeable of Boston and truly enjoy making our guests feel welcome! Viga Restaurant in located in our lobby serving Fresh, Fast, Delicious Food daily! We are in a prime location as well. Close to shops, restaurants and public transportation, which makes it very convenient for our guests to enjoy the area!

We hope to see you soon on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,198 - 1,204 of 2,129 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed at Hotel 140 for 6 nights in June.
I had a fantastic stay. The staff was so polite and nice and did everything to make our visit to Boston wonderful.
The room size was nice but the bed was a bit small for two people that needed to share (mother and daughter) but it did not ruin our stay.
The location is fantastic, short walks to fantastic shopping and restaurants. The Orange line is just around the corner and the green line is just a little further in another direction.
I felt very safe walking the street at night because they are full of other people.
Next to the hotel there is a little restaurant where you can walk into from the hotel. There you can get breakfast and lunch, closes a bit early or 7 pm.
At the end of our stay when checking out, I did ask if the hotel was still a part of YMCA and they said that YMCA owns the building and a part of their profits goes toward the organisation. That made me happy.
I will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Boston

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esterbva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Esterbva,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! I am excited that you enjoyed your stay with your Mother for a week with us! We are in a great location with close access to many shops and restaurants. Back Bay is a safe area with so much to do! Viga Restaurant in located in our lobby and they offer fresh, fast delicious food, open 7am-7pm Monday through Friday and 7am-2pm Saturday and Sunday. Our building is historic, rich in history and was built originally for the YWCA.

We hope that you visit us again the next time you come to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at hotel 140 for 3 nights. We were really happy with our stay. Close to prudential shops, newbury street, public garden, trinity church, copley square, underground station etc. All within walking distance. Our room, two Queen beds was fine, big bathroom and enough space for our bags. We could easily stay two adults and two kids (aged 8 and 10). We would come back to hotel 140 if we visit boston again.

Room Tip: We stayed at 7th floor, no sound from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Helena P,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! I am so excited to hear that you were happy with your stay with your family! Yes, we are in a fantastic location with many Boston attractions just steps away! We are next to Back Bay Train Station for easy access to the subway system and Amtrak trains as well.

We can't wait to see you when you return to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great hotel we stayed in another hotel the week before but this hotel was great. The room had everything with a full size fridge and microwave tv ac and a good size ensuite. The room was really clean and on every floor there was a laundry room with vending machine and free coffee. It was a few mins away from the T line and a lovely place next door to eat. The staff were so helpful nothing is a problem for them and they always spoke to us and asked us how our day was. I will come back again as it is so close to everything. China town is a must 2 stops away it was fab.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skulls001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Skulls001,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Our suites are spacious and offer more amenities than our standard rooms. Our housekeeping department is very detailed orientated and take great pride in their work. Our front desk team thoroughly enjoys hearing about our guest's adventures and are always available for assistance!
We are located in a great spot in Back Bay - so close to the T stops and many other attractions in Boston!

We hope to see you again the next time you come to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

In a building owned by and shared with the YWCA. Our first room (supposedly for two) was so small it was almost impossible to get out of the bed! We upgraded (for $50 per night) to a two-bedroom "suite" and this saved the whole trip. An unbelievably inexpensive coffee shop made breakfast fun and cheap. A far cry from a "boutique" hotel, but great location and prices.

Room Tip: Don't choose a "standard" room; on a "Y" student could fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank profpsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Profpsg,

Thank you for your recent stay at our Hotel! Hotel 140 is a Historic Building nestled in the heart of Back Bay. Our rooms are a bit smaller than some other Boston Hotels in our area which is the reason we are able to offer a more reasonable rate. I am thrilled that you were able to stay in one of our suites, they offer more room and amenities than our standard rooms. Viga Restaurant is located in our lobby and offers quick, fresh, delicious, reasonable breakfast, lunch and snacks!

We hope that you return to our Hotel to stay in one of our suites again!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Booked through a third-party website as I could not get an availability for our dates directly through the hotel's website. Can't beat the location for sightseeing in Boston. Price seems steep if you haven't researched Boston hotels, but for being in the heart of the city is a decent price. Room was very small but we made do w/ our luggage (we had two adults and a four year old). Bathroom was very spacious and nice. Would stay here again if in Boston.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kateben05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Kateben05,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140 with your family! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel! We are in a perfect location for sightseeing. We are also very close to shops and restaurants. Our rooms are a little smaller than some of the other larger properties in the city which is the reason we are able to offer a more reasonable rate. Our bathrooms inside our rooms are spacious, many of our guests comment about it. I am happy that you agree!

We hope to see you again the next time you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This small hotel is a gem and they deserve so much praise. The facilities are lovely- very clean room, comfortable bed. The location near Copley Square was so easy and convenient, blocks from the T.

But the service. The service! It was fabulous. My husband and I arrived at the hotel at 8:30am after nearly 30 hours of traveling from Asia and requested an early check-in, although we didn't anticipate much since the hotel was fully booked and their check in didn't start until 3pm. However, upon learning that I wasn't feeling well and that we had just flown across the world, they moved quickly and we were in a room by 10am. What's more, they found me a local clinic to visit and assisted with transportation in getting there. From the moment we walked through the door we were well looked after and I was sorry we were only there for one night. This hotel is everything you could want and need in an urban hotel and we will only stay here in Boston!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Grace G,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Hotel 140! I am so happy that our team was able to assist you with finding a walk in clinic and transportation information, I hope that you are feeling much better now! Although check in is at 3pm, we do understand that our guests travel near and far to come to Boston, we want to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and do our best to check our guests in early if possible. We do offer complimentary luggage hold as well. Hotel 140 is located very close to Back Bay Train Station and the subway system. There are numerous shops and restaurants within walking distance to our property which makes it convenient for all of our guests!

We can't wait to see you again the next time that you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#67 of 84 in Boston
965 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#39 of 84 in Boston
672 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#59 of 84 in Boston
2,261 reviews
Back Bay
Loews Boston Hotel
Loews Boston Hotel
#16 of 84 in Boston
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £100 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing