We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if on a budget”
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #56 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed for 4 nights. The location was fantastic and the staff were helpful. My room was clean but very small and very dark. Apart from the hotel lobby the communal spaces badly need updating. I probably wouldn't stay there again I'm afraid

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear J P,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140. We are in a fantastic location! Our building is historic which is why we are able to offer more reasonable rates for a hotel in Back Bay. Our team is dedicated to exceptional service and immaculate rooms. We are in the final stages of finalizing our renovation plans for our guest rooms and lobby. We have completed two of our meeting rooms and are working on renovating our additional meeting rooms and cannot wait to see our final results!

I know that you have a choice in travel and thank you for choosing Hotel 140. Please try us again the next time that you are in Boston to see our updates!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 2,177 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed in early July. First time back in Boston in years.

Hotel is in the perfect location for everything in Boston. We were only a short walk from Fenway, and about a 15 minute walk from Boston Commons and Cheers. Room and hotel were extremely clean and tidy. Staff was exceptionally friendly and offered us water at check in. "Michael" went out of his way to book us Trolley Tour tickets, print us out directions, answer all our questions, and send us to some fantastic restaurants (Skipjack's across the way is excellent for seafood, and Flour Bakery has some fantastic pastries).

Nice little cafe in the hotel good for breakfast or a slice of pizza. Boston Logan bus only 2 minutes away and takes you right to the airport for way cheaper than a cab. Trolley tour pick up spot also very close.

Only downside is that our room was a little small and there wasn't a lot of space on either side of the bed, but for the price and location I could absolutely live with that. Building itself is very nice and has a dry cleaner.

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: go for king size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zak_F693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Zak_F963,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are in a perfect location! Very close proximity to many of Boston's area attractions. As Boston is a walking city, our hotel is located in the heart of it all! Our building is historic and our rooms are a little smaller than some of the other properties in Boston which is why we are able to offer more reasonable rates. Our rooms are impeccable as our Housekeeping team works very hard to maintain our high cleaning standards. Our Front Desk Team is passionate about Boston and making our guests comfortable. I am so happy that you think so as well. As we are within walking distance to so many restaurants, we have a fantastic restaurant in our own lobby named Viga! They offer fast, fresh and delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner and are open daily.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel 140 is in the heart of Back Bay and right over the metro station so it's the perfect location to stay in Boston and get around easily. The area is safe and plenty of bars and restaurants around.

We had read in previous reviews that if you 'like' the hotel on Facebook and comment on their page before you go, you can get a free upgrade - we did and got upgraded to a suite without asking. As such, our room was excellent, huge bed, very a clean and comfortable. Also quiet even though we were overlooking the road.

The staff were exceptionally helpful - gave us maps and recommendations for restaurants and even printed out menus so we could decide where we fancied eating. Fantastic!

Overall, excellent hotel. Would definitely go back if we return to Boston.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsMeatballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Meatballs,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are in a fantastic location next to Back Bay Train Station and "T" stops. We are very close to shopping, dining areas and many of Boston's main attractions. While we don't guarantee upgrades, we always do our best to make our guests are comfortable in our rooms. Our staff give exceptional service and excel in cleanliness.

We look forward to your return to Boston and Hotel 140!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our trip to Boston was to visit Emerson College so we didn't do much else but felt this hotel was in an excellent location for a Boston visit. We were walking distance to Boston Gardens, Boston Common, Beacon Hill and the Back Bay neighborhood, the theater district, many good restaurants and shopping. The AmTrak and T stations were less than a block away. We arrived well before check-in time and our room was not ready but they happily held our luggage while we explored the area a little. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Our room was small with a bed, small refrigerator, armoire, and one small chair, but we didn't spend much time in it so that was not a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cheri-inAcworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Cheri-inAcworth,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 140! I am pleased to hear that you stayed with us while visiting Emerson, a local College! Yes, we are in a great location in Boston, close to shops, restaurants, the Boston Common and Garden and many local attractions. Our guests love to explore the city!
The rooms are a little smaller than some of the other hotels in our area which is the reason we are able to offer more reasonable rates. Our staff is dedicated to great customer service, thank you for recognizing that. We have a luggage room where many of our guest drop off their luggage while they explore the city!

We hope to see you on your next visit to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel and I couldn't fault it. This was my first visit to Boston and I was travelling alone so it was important to me to be in the right location and feel safe. The hotel is situated about 1 minute from Back Bay Stain on the orange T line and about 5 minutes from Copley Square in the green T line. Most if the stuff I wanted to see was within reasonable walking distance of the hotel, including the harbour district. I had a queen size bed in an immaculate room which was serviced every day. It was very muggy in Boston during my stay but the air con in the room was very efficient. There were also complimentary toiletries in the bathroom which was a nice touch for a budget-ish hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful (directions, assisting with printing boarding passes) and although there is no restaurant as such, there's a nice little Italian bakery downstairs which is open until 7pm or the is 'Flour' over the road which sells delicious pastries, salads, sandwiches etc. If I returned to Boston, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear anyname,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are in a perfect location in Back Bay! Our property is next to the Train Station and both Orange and Green Lines for the "T". We are within walking distance to many of Boston's main attractions as well as shopping areas and restaurants. Our housekeeping team works very hard to maintain our immaculate rooms and our front desk team is very knowledgeable of Boston. We are dedicated to great customer service!

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

the 140 is all about location location location u can walk to all the shops and dining spots as well
the tour trolley is just down the block best deal in boston the hotel is clean and while the rooms are small they are very functional front end staff are great and check in out is seamless also the italian bistro off the lobby had great pizza and sandwiches and not pricey parking is available next
door at a discounted rate and u are right on the i90 rate are very good when u start to compare to the big chains the back bay is a great spot and u can walk to fenway park in 25 min

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear ray t,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! Yes, we are in a perfect location in Back Bay! Situated next to Back Bay Train Station, close to many shops and restaurants and main Boston Attractions. Our building is Historic and the rooms are smaller than the other properties in the area which is why we are able to offer such reasonable rates. The Housekeeping Team works very hard to keep our rooms immaculate and the Front Desk Team is dedicated to excellent customer service. Viga Restaurant is located in our lobby serving fast, fresh and delicious food!

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is in a really nice location. Everything us very walkable and the surrounding neighborhood is very pretty and nice. Lots of shops, restaurants and bars. Great breakfast place across the street. We needed to pick up a car at Hertz after our stay and this was just a few blocks on foot.
The building is pretty and has character. I really appreciated that. Our room was kind of small for an American hotel room and we had a lot of luggage. One side of the bed was against the wall. Room was clean. Housekeeping was very friendly (we saw them on several occasions and they always greeted us with enthusiasm). Front desk personnel was very friendly as well.
I wish our room had a better view. Now we overlooked a big parking garage. Everything was quiet though.
Only thing keeping me from giving 5 stars, is the price. Boston hotels are expensive. Hotel 140 was one of the best deals I could get, but still this was much more expensive then our hotel in Manhattan a week later. I would definitely pick this hotel again when in Boston though.

Room Tip: We were high and on the rear side. The view was bad because there's a parking garage, but becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Yamsterdam,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! Our building is Historic and has great character, each room is unique with different views of the city. The rooms are a little bit smaller than some of the other properties in Boston, which is the reason we are able to offer more reasonable rates in Boston. Our rooms are very quiet, I am happy that you agree! We are in a great location situated in the heart of Back Bay. We are close to shops, restaurants, Back Bay Train Station and subway stops. Our associates are dedicated to great customer service. They go above and beyond to make each one of our guests feel welcomed.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#69 of 86 in Boston
973 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 86 in Boston
785 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#74 of 86 in Boston
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#47 of 86 in Boston
686 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 86 in Boston
3,897 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
YOTEL Boston
YOTEL Boston
#28 of 86 in Boston
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £81 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel 140. As a charming and intimate boutique residence, we offer a surprisingly affordable pied-a-terre in a neighborhood known for its pricey hotels. Located in Boston’s historic Back Bay, we’re a stylish newcomer in the heart of one of the country’s oldest and most captivating cities. Housed within a historic landmark building on Clarendon Street, our beautiful boutique hotel delights arriving guests with its graceful neoclassical architecture, contemporary services and amenities, and easy access to Back Bay Station. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, our exquisite building was constructed in 1929 as the home for the oldest YWCA in the country. We continue to enchant with distinguishing design touches like our bright, bustling two-story lobby, terrazzo floors, arched windows and tufted sofas and wingback chairs. And with immediate neighbors the Lyric Stage Theater Company and Viga Eatery, we ensure that you will always be entertained and well fed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing