We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value for money.”
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not good value for money.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night in August.
I booked on line as a result of reading reviews here so after our stay I felt that I needed to add my review too.
We are travelling in the US and Canada for 6 weeks and have stayed in many different types of accommodation. The 140 is clean but very dated and not good value for money. It was previously a YWCA Building and the building and rooms are all quite basic. Nothing wrong with that at all but at over $300 a night not good value for money.
There are no doormen to help with bags and there are several steps to get into the foyer as well as two sets of doors. The main lift in the foyer was broken and we were asked to use another lift around the corner. We were permitted to,use the hotel luggage trolley to take to our room - maneuvering this in and out of a lift was not fun.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perthcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear perthcookie,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! Our building is Historic and unique. The rooms are a little smaller than some of the other properties which is why we are able to offer more reasonable rates that some of the other hotels in the area. There are a few different room types that we offer depending on your preference. We are in a great location, just steps away from the train and subway system, shops and restaurants. Our hotel has two sets of elevators which access different floors depending on the room type reserved.

We hope that you try us again the next time that you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    843
    318
    117
    70
See reviews for
367
809
211
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed for three nights in August. I picked this hotel because of the location. Back Bay is a great place to stay--close to restaurants, bars, the T, and pleasant walks.

My room was on the 8th floor. It was small, Manhattan small, but larger than a London room. :-) The linens were soft, as were the towels. The bathroom was London small! It had a small stall shower, small corner sink, and toilet. The water pressure in the shower was fine, but the stall lacked a shelf for shampoo, soap, etc.

The staff were friendly, but were a bit unaware of the neighborhood and city. They did recommend Flour, which was very good for espresso, breakfast, and sweet treats. Flour was much better than the "cafe" inside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoebesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear phoebesnow,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are in a great location in Back Bay, just steps away from Back Bay Train station, T stops, shopping and dining. Our building is Historic and our rooms are a little smaller than some of the surrounding properties in this area which is why we are able to offer more reasonable rates. Our Housekeeping Team takes great pride in keeping our rooms immaculate. The linens have recently been upgraded, many of our guests comment on how much they like them, I am glad that you agree! I am happy that you found Flour - they do have great desserts and espresso!

We hope to see you again the next time that you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel 140 was the last night of my trip to Maine and back. Nice comfortable room. Had breakfast the next morning down stairs. The only thing bad was Hurricane Arthur changed my plans for watching the fireworks. Would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Denise,

Thank you for staying here in July! Our rooms are very comfortable, many of our guest compliment and I am glad that you agree! I am so sorry to hear that the Hurricane had interrupted your plans for the Fireworks! I hope that you can visit us next year to see the amazing show on the Esplanade!

We hope to see you again the next time that you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The location is excellent, accommodations not luxurious but adequate, bed very comfortable, service very friendly and gracious. Parking is also conveniently located next door. This is a former YWCA right next to Copley Square. Can walk to Fenway! Also Newbury Street, Boston Commons, etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferNorwalkCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear JenniferNorwalkCT,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 140! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Our location is excellent, just steps away from the train station and T stops, shopping areas, restaurants and some main Boston attractions! Many of our guests comment on our comfortable bedding, I am thrilled that you agree. We offer validated parking at the garage next to our building.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights from August 1st for part of a month long trip around the USA, Boston being our first city. I had previously emailed the hotel about my wife's birthday.

After a horrendous wait at immigration, we arrived at the hotel at 9.30pm. My wife was greeted with a happy birthday from Michael. When we got to the room the hotel had left a note wishing her a happy birthday and a cupcake in a nice box.

So a great start. The room (609) was more than adequate, large enough and clean and a view onto the Main Street. Very quiet.

We only really ever spent time in the hotel to sleep. Lots and lots of walking, we were always greeted with a hello or have a great day.

As for the location, you will struggle to find better for the price. Everything is local, we even walked from Fenway park after a ball game. Always felt safe.

If we ever return to Boston, this hotel will be the one.

Room Tip: 609 was good for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RTM4London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear RTM4London,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! And a very Happy Birthday to your Wife! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your trip to Boston! Our hotel is in a perfect location to enjoy many sites and attractions, shops and restaurants in the Back Bay area. Our team is dedicated to great customer service and is passionate about making our guests feel welcome! The hotel building is Historic, each room is a little different than the next. The rooms are quiet and immaculate, I am glad that you agree!

Again, thank you for staying at Hotel 140 to celebrate your Wife's Birthday! We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent value. Place to stay if your goal is to get out and get around Boston. For on the go people. Comfortable but no luxury.Great Italian run 'fast food' and sit down restaurant on site for breakfast/ snack and lunch and morning coffee Excellent location in Copley Square. Great access to subways going in all directions-whether North End , Harvard or Business District.. Clean rooms. Walking to Boston Garden is easy and near great restaurants and Newbury Street and Commonwealth Avenue. Adjacent to residential South End. Immediate access to Mass Pike, directly from adjacent parking lot or around block from Copley square. Great for walking. In hub of (back bay) hub. Rooms plain style and on smaller size, but all amenities provided and very clean. Courteous staff. We never stay anywhere else, except when we forget to book well ahead. Very popular.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Clarendon toward Copley Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gilbert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Gilbert W,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! Yes, we are in a great location to get around Boston easily! Hotel 140 is located in Back Bay just steps away from the Back Bay Train Station, T stops, shops and restaurants. Our building is Historic, each room is unique and our rooms are smaller than some of the other properties on Back Bay. We are able to offer very reasonable rates for Boston. Our associates are dedicated to great customer service and thoroughly enjoy making our guests feel welcome. The Housekeeping Team works very hard to ensure that our rooms are immaculate!

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. Let me start off by saying how wonderful the location of this hotel is. It was around the corner from the Back Bay subway stop and a very short walk to Copley Station. It's located right by the Hancock Tower which was a good point of reference for when we were walking around. You can easily walk to many sites including Newbury Street and the historic downtown area.

The front lobby of the hotel was nice and had clearly been updated in the past few years. The staff that we dealt with were fairly nice. We arrived at the hotel several hours before check-in and they were helpful in finding us a room almost right away so that we could clean up and begin touring around. Another woman was also very helpful in explaining some great restaurant options nearby. The restaurant on the main floor was also very convenient. They had lots of variety and the food was pretty tasty!

As for the room, it was very small. We had a double bed, and there was very little floor space to put our luggage. The rooms (especially the bathrooms) are due for some upgrades. Hotels in Boston are quite pricey though, so you get what you pay for. In the end we didn't spend much time in the room, so it was an ok place for us to sleep at night. The air conditioning worked well and it was nice having a mini fridge in the room too. We found the walls to be quite thin though, and we could hear toilets flushing and arguments happening in nearby rooms.

If you're coming to Boston on a budget this place may work for you, but if you're looking for something luxurious maybe consider staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian_Christina22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Canadian_Christina22,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! Yes, we are in a fantastic location located in Back Bay. We are in close proximity to shops, restaurants, majority of Boston's main attractions and just steps from Back Bay Train Station and T stops. Our building is Historic and our rooms are little smaller than some of the other properties in the Back Bay area, which is why we are able to offer more reasonable rates. Majority of our guests are here to experience Boston and are very comfortable with our accommodations. All of our associates are focused on Guest Service. They are dedicated to making our guests feel welcome and their stay enjoyable. Our Housekeeping Team is committed to cleanliness and have high cleaning standards. Many of our guests comment on how quiet the rooms are and do apologize that you did not share that same experience.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing