We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #54 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The receptionists with whom we had to do were always very kind and extremely available to help with directions and more. The hotel is located just 140 steps from the "Back Bay" underground, in a central area of ​​the city, always quite busy. Our room was large enough and there we found an iron, a small refrigerator, and a microwave. However, the Queen may be small for some couples. The bathroom was clean but the floor of the room was not swept very well. The towels were new and plenty. Overall my opinion the hotel is very good and would go back without any issues.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Jose L,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel 140! Our location is perfect, just steps away from the Back Bay Train Station, shops, restaurants and some of Boston's main attractions. We are a historic building and do have varying room types, so each room is a little different. The linens are of higher quality, many of our guests comment on how nice they are, I am happy that you agree!
The associates are very friendly! The front desk team is dedicated to great customer service and are extremely knowledgeable of the city and our housekeeping team works very hard to ensure that our rooms are immaculate.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    853
    326
    122
    71
See reviews for
371
823
213
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel 140 for three nights on our recent four week holiday in the USA. It's very true that the rooms are small (we had to close the bathroom door to open the shower) however, they have everything you need.

There is a very comfortable queen size bed, a work station, flat-screen TV (good TV channel selection), shelves and hanging space etc, iron/ironing board, coffee provisions and shampoo/conditioner etc. And the rooms were always sparkling and refreshed when we returned from being out.

On the downside, the air-con was really noisy however and cut in and out all night. We didn't mind the noise too much but it could be a problem for some guests. It may have just been our room too. Some of the front desk staff could have been a little friendlier but again, not a major issue.

The definite plus is the location is spectacular. About four blocks from Boston Common, one block from two streets of restaurants and shops. A great place to stay for anyone wanting to explore Boston and not planning on spending too much time in the room aside from sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaquelineS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear JaquelineS78,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! Our building is Historic, our rooms are a little smaller than some of the area properties, which is why we are able to offer more reasonable rates. Each room is unique and we do offer various room types depending on your preference. Although the building is a bit older, we do have modern air conditioning units in each of our rooms. The rooms are immaculate, our Housekeeping Team takes great pride in their work. The location is spectacular! We are just steps away from Back Bay Train Station, T stops, shops, restaurants and many of Boston's main attractions.

We hope to see you the next time you visit Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night in August.
I booked on line as a result of reading reviews here so after our stay I felt that I needed to add my review too.
We are travelling in the US and Canada for 6 weeks and have stayed in many different types of accommodation. The 140 is clean but very dated and not good value for money. It was previously a YWCA Building and the building and rooms are all quite basic. Nothing wrong with that at all but at over $300 a night not good value for money.
There are no doormen to help with bags and there are several steps to get into the foyer as well as two sets of doors. The main lift in the foyer was broken and we were asked to use another lift around the corner. We were permitted to,use the hotel luggage trolley to take to our room - maneuvering this in and out of a lift was not fun.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perthcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear perthcookie,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! Our building is Historic and unique. The rooms are a little smaller than some of the other properties which is why we are able to offer more reasonable rates that some of the other hotels in the area. There are a few different room types that we offer depending on your preference. We are in a great location, just steps away from the train and subway system, shops and restaurants. Our hotel has two sets of elevators which access different floors depending on the room type reserved.

We hope that you try us again the next time that you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed for three nights in August. I picked this hotel because of the location. Back Bay is a great place to stay--close to restaurants, bars, the T, and pleasant walks.

My room was on the 8th floor. It was small, Manhattan small, but larger than a London room. :-) The linens were soft, as were the towels. The bathroom was London small! It had a small stall shower, small corner sink, and toilet. The water pressure in the shower was fine, but the stall lacked a shelf for shampoo, soap, etc.

The staff were friendly, but were a bit unaware of the neighborhood and city. They did recommend Flour, which was very good for espresso, breakfast, and sweet treats. Flour was much better than the "cafe" inside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoebesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear phoebesnow,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are in a great location in Back Bay, just steps away from Back Bay Train station, T stops, shopping and dining. Our building is Historic and our rooms are a little smaller than some of the surrounding properties in this area which is why we are able to offer more reasonable rates. Our Housekeeping Team takes great pride in keeping our rooms immaculate. The linens have recently been upgraded, many of our guests comment on how much they like them, I am glad that you agree! I am happy that you found Flour - they do have great desserts and espresso!

We hope to see you again the next time that you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel 140 was the last night of my trip to Maine and back. Nice comfortable room. Had breakfast the next morning down stairs. The only thing bad was Hurricane Arthur changed my plans for watching the fireworks. Would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Denise,

Thank you for staying here in July! Our rooms are very comfortable, many of our guest compliment and I am glad that you agree! I am so sorry to hear that the Hurricane had interrupted your plans for the Fireworks! I hope that you can visit us next year to see the amazing show on the Esplanade!

We hope to see you again the next time that you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The location is excellent, accommodations not luxurious but adequate, bed very comfortable, service very friendly and gracious. Parking is also conveniently located next door. This is a former YWCA right next to Copley Square. Can walk to Fenway! Also Newbury Street, Boston Commons, etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferNorwalkCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear JenniferNorwalkCT,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 140! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Our location is excellent, just steps away from the train station and T stops, shopping areas, restaurants and some main Boston attractions! Many of our guests comment on our comfortable bedding, I am thrilled that you agree. We offer validated parking at the garage next to our building.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights from August 1st for part of a month long trip around the USA, Boston being our first city. I had previously emailed the hotel about my wife's birthday.

After a horrendous wait at immigration, we arrived at the hotel at 9.30pm. My wife was greeted with a happy birthday from Michael. When we got to the room the hotel had left a note wishing her a happy birthday and a cupcake in a nice box.

So a great start. The room (609) was more than adequate, large enough and clean and a view onto the Main Street. Very quiet.

We only really ever spent time in the hotel to sleep. Lots and lots of walking, we were always greeted with a hello or have a great day.

As for the location, you will struggle to find better for the price. Everything is local, we even walked from Fenway park after a ball game. Always felt safe.

If we ever return to Boston, this hotel will be the one.

Room Tip: 609 was good for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RTM4London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear RTM4London,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! And a very Happy Birthday to your Wife! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your trip to Boston! Our hotel is in a perfect location to enjoy many sites and attractions, shops and restaurants in the Back Bay area. Our team is dedicated to great customer service and is passionate about making our guests feel welcome! The hotel building is Historic, each room is a little different than the next. The rooms are quiet and immaculate, I am glad that you agree!

Again, thank you for staying at Hotel 140 to celebrate your Wife's Birthday! We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#66 of 83 in Boston
954 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#31 of 83 in Boston
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,767 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#68 of 83 in Boston
708 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing