We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 140
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$389
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$434
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$327
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Boston Marriott Copley Place(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Omni Parker House(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$339
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sheraton Boston Hotel(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,197)
Filter reviews
2,197 results
Traveller rating
750
887
353
133
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
750
887
353
133
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscopley squaregreat locationback bay stationflour bakeryrooms are smallorange linewithin walking distancestay there againtrinity churchboylston streetparking garagesubway stationcoffee makersouth endnewbury stfew blocksvisiting boston
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,224 - 1,229 of 2,197 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The receptionists with whom we had to do were always very kind and extremely available to help with directions and more. The hotel is located just 140 steps from the "Back Bay" underground, in a central area of ​​the city, always quite busy. Our room was large enough and there we found an iron, a small refrigerator, and a microwave. However, the Queen may be small for some couples. The bathroom was clean but the floor of the room was not swept very well. The towels were new and plenty. Overall my opinion the hotel is very good and would go back without any issues.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Jose L,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel 140! Our location is perfect, just steps away from the Back Bay Train Station, shops, restaurants and some of Boston's main attractions. We are a historic building and do have varying room types, so each room is a little different. The linens are of higher quality, many of our guests comment on how nice they are, I am happy that you agree!
The associates are very friendly! The front desk team is dedicated to great customer service and are extremely knowledgeable of the city and our housekeeping team works very hard to ensure that our rooms are immaculate.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel 140 for three nights on our recent four week holiday in the USA. It's very true that the rooms are small (we had to close the bathroom door to open the shower) however, they have everything you need.

There is a very comfortable queen size bed, a work station, flat-screen TV (good TV channel selection), shelves and hanging space etc, iron/ironing board, coffee provisions and shampoo/conditioner etc. And the rooms were always sparkling and refreshed when we returned from being out.

On the downside, the air-con was really noisy however and cut in and out all night. We didn't mind the noise too much but it could be a problem for some guests. It may have just been our room too. Some of the front desk staff could have been a little friendlier but again, not a major issue.

The definite plus is the location is spectacular. About four blocks from Boston Common, one block from two streets of restaurants and shops. A great place to stay for anyone wanting to explore Boston and not planning on spending too much time in the room aside from sleeping.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JaquelineS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear JaquelineS78,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! Our building is Historic, our rooms are a little smaller than some of the area properties, which is why we are able to offer more reasonable rates. Each room is unique and we do offer various room types depending on your preference. Although the building is a bit older, we do have modern air conditioning units in each of our rooms. The rooms are immaculate, our Housekeeping Team takes great pride in their work. The location is spectacular! We are just steps away from Back Bay Train Station, T stops, shops, restaurants and many of Boston's main attractions.

We hope to see you the next time you visit Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night in August.
I booked on line as a result of reading reviews here so after our stay I felt that I needed to add my review too.
We are travelling in the US and Canada for 6 weeks and have stayed in many different types of accommodation. The 140 is clean but very dated and not good value for money. It was previously a YWCA Building and the building and rooms are all quite basic. Nothing wrong with that at all but at over $300 a night not good value for money.
There are no doormen to help with bags and there are several steps to get into the foyer as well as two sets of doors. The main lift in the foyer was broken and we were asked to use another lift around the corner. We were permitted to,use the hotel luggage trolley to take to our room - maneuvering this in and out of a lift was not fun.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank perthcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear perthcookie,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! Our building is Historic and unique. The rooms are a little smaller than some of the other properties which is why we are able to offer more reasonable rates that some of the other hotels in the area. There are a few different room types that we offer depending on your preference. We are in a great location, just steps away from the train and subway system, shops and restaurants. Our hotel has two sets of elevators which access different floors depending on the room type reserved.

We hope that you try us again the next time that you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed for three nights in August. I picked this hotel because of the location. Back Bay is a great place to stay--close to restaurants, bars, the T, and pleasant walks.

My room was on the 8th floor. It was small, Manhattan small, but larger than a London room. :-) The linens were soft, as were the towels. The bathroom was London small! It had a small stall shower, small corner sink, and toilet. The water pressure in the shower was fine, but the stall lacked a shelf for shampoo, soap, etc.

The staff were friendly, but were a bit unaware of the neighborhood and city. They did recommend Flour, which was very good for espresso, breakfast, and sweet treats. Flour was much better than the "cafe" inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phoebesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear phoebesnow,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are in a great location in Back Bay, just steps away from Back Bay Train station, T stops, shopping and dining. Our building is Historic and our rooms are a little smaller than some of the surrounding properties in this area which is why we are able to offer more reasonable rates. Our Housekeeping Team takes great pride in keeping our rooms immaculate. The linens have recently been upgraded, many of our guests comment on how much they like them, I am glad that you agree! I am happy that you found Flour - they do have great desserts and espresso!

We hope to see you again the next time that you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel 140 was the last night of my trip to Maine and back. Nice comfortable room. Had breakfast the next morning down stairs. The only thing bad was Hurricane Arthur changed my plans for watching the fireworks. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Denise,

Thank you for staying here in July! Our rooms are very comfortable, many of our guest compliment and I am glad that you agree! I am so sorry to hear that the Hurricane had interrupted your plans for the Fireworks! I hope that you can visit us next year to see the amazing show on the Esplanade!

We hope to see you again the next time that you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews