We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and location”
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful staff and location”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We choose the most afordable 4* hotel in the back Bay area. And it was worthed. Location is great. A walking distance from attractions, good restaurants, and afordable parking. You can expect exactly what you see on the photos of their web site. Rooms are not spacious but they are clean and quiet, bed confortable. Staff extremely kind.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frommontrealglobetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Frommontrealglobetr,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 140! Yes, our location is great! Situated in Back Bay, our property is just moments away from the Back Bay Train Station and T stops, shops, restaurants and many of Boston's most popular attractions. Our rates are reasonable and our staff is outstanding. The rooms have very comfortable beds and are immaculate, I am thrilled that you agree!

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    848
    325
    119
    70
See reviews for
371
816
212
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I was really pleased with our stay at Hotel 140. The room was really large, well furnished and clean with lots of room for 2 double beds. We arrived in Boston about 10AM and the receptionist moved us to a room that was already made up. There was really quick free wifi, and all of the standard amenities. My other half was over the moon that the coffee in the room was starbucks which is a nice added extra.

The location is really good, about 5 minutes walk from the Prudential Centre, 2 mins walk to the subway station and a really nice 15-20 minute walk through Boston common to Faneuil Hall.

The staff are really friendly and professional. As this was our last stop before flying back the hotel were more than happy to store our luggage until we were ready to leave for the airport.

I would have given this hotel 5 stars if they offered a free breakfast & room safe. There is a pizza restaurant on the floor but we didn't fancy this for breakfast and we found it closes quite early in the evening.

Overall if we came back to Boston, i would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Paul1005,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your room, coffee amenities and staff! We are located in a perfect location in the heart of Back Bay. Just steps away from Back Bay Train Station and T stops, restaurants and shops. We offer complimentary luggage storage prior to and post check out so our guests can enjoy Boston without carrying luggage around. Viga Restaurant is located in our lobby serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. They serve fresh, fast and delicious food!

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

For the money, this hotel was excellent. The staff was exetremely friendly and helpful. Copley Square and the train station was right around the corner. Could not have asked for a better place to stay. Thanks!

Room Tip: Best value for the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny4775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Jenny4775,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 140! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Our staff is very friendly and always helpful. Customer service is a top priority! We are in a great location, just steps away from Copley Square, Back Bay Train Station, shops and restaurants.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonville, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

After booking our stay we read some reviews on the Hotel 140, yes backwards, most people would have read the reviews before booking, but after our stay with worry about some negative reviews being read we were very pleased with our experience. The rooms were very clean and the staff was outstanding. We will choose that hotel on any future stays.

Room Tip: Rooms on front have an outstanding view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Jeff C,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 140! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Our rooms are immaculate. The housekeeping team works very hard to ensure cleanliness and the front desk team is focused on guest service. They are also very knowledgeable about the city.

We hope to see you the next time that you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The people at this hotel were extremely kind and helpful. The rooms were neat and clean albeit a bit small. We were hoping for a view but did not get one. The location was perfect- nestled between Back Bay and Copley Square.There is a wonderful Mexican restaurant just down the street and around a corner with a fun kids' playground just across from it. I definitely look forward to saying there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathiJBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear KathiJBurke,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are pleased that you enjoyed the Hotel with your family. The hotel is in a perfect location in Back Bay, close to many shops, restaurants and just steps away from Back Bay Train Station. There are many things to see and do in the immediate area, Our building is historic and our rooms are a little smaller than some of the other properties in Boston, which is why we are able to offer more reasonable rates. The rooms vary in location within the building, allowing different views of Back Bay.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

In July our family, consisting of 10 people, stayed at Hotel 140. Thanks to Julietta we were able to get 6 rooms on the same floor. The night we arrived was my father's 80th birthday and the hotel sent my parents a bottle of wine & a cheese tray. Although the rooms are small and the bathrooms incredibly tiny they were clean. It was interesting that all 6 rooms were different. The location is close to the Back Bay station and within walking distance to restaurants & shopping. Be sure to try the Blue Glass Café across the street for a great breakfast. I recommend eating at Legal Sea Foods and Zocalo which are both within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 643Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear 643Denise,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140 with your family to celebrate your Father's 80th Birthday! I am thrilled that you enjoyed it! Our building is Historic and each room is a little different. We are in a fantastic location, just steps away from Back Bay Train Station, shops, restaurants and some of Boston's main attractions. Our team is dedicated to great customer service and we love to know about any special occasions that you celebrating!

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We chose Hotel 140 as the location to host our sister's bridal shower and bachelorette weekend. There were 15 of us who flew in from Florida and we could not have been more pleased with the attentive staff at the hotel. It was a pleasure working with Michael and Stacey to plan our weekend festivities. We had our event in the Kuumba Library, which was beautiful and perfect for our tea party themed bridal shower. Viga did a great job catering and was delicious and affordable. The hotel was very accommodating and the Kennedy suite, while looking a bit like a dorm room with all the beds, fit our needs to the tee! The location could not have been better and I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Boston, especially those on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Janine,

Thank you for choosing Hotel 140 to host your Bridal Shower and Weekend Festivities! Our hotel is in an ideal location, close to many shops and restaurants and main attractions. We do offer various types of rooms including the Kennedy Suite which can accommodate a few more guests than some of our other room types. Our rates are more reasonable than some of the other properties in this area and is the perfect place for guests that are here to explore Boston or in the city for special events. Viga caters all of our events in our Meeting Rooms and has a fantastic restaurant located in our lobby!

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#65 of 83 in Boston
952 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#28 of 83 in Boston
639 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
691 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing