We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel 140
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

I stayed one night on business because of the rate - was not expecting much because I had heard of the hotel and seen the reviews from knowing Boston fairly well. Was very pleasantly surprised - staff was incredibly friendly and helpful - I would liken it to the treatment you receive at Disney. Room was small but nice and very clean - the carpeting was new (they were also installing new carpeting in the hallway on the day of my stay). No breakfast, but I don't know of any central Boston hotel that has breakfast. Parking not the best either - must park in large garage next door. Excellent location however- will return and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjohnson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    817
    302
    110
    66
See reviews for
351
789
206
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with friends afterdisembarking from a cruise..the location is great, walking distance to most everything. Parking is a BIG problem, we had a handcapped placard so street parking was free for us, otherwise it was about 30 a night in a nearby parking structure. Check in was very very slow, we got there at check in and still had to wait way over an hour. Not sure what the issue was, but we were tired and needed to get into our room.
The room itself was like an apartment..small kitchen, living area, and one big bedroom and bath..the bedroom had a king bed and a queen bed..good thing we like our friends as we had to share a bedroom with them. Kinda wierd but hey it was ok.
I think I would stay there again this time I would be aware of how quirky it is.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogmomDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

I read the reviews below just before embarking on our weeklong trip to Boston and was really worried that we would have similar difficulties as the other reviewers. Far from it!
We were able to check in at 1:30pm and did not have to wait until 3. Our room was small, yet clean. The AC did not make a lot of noise and we did not hear our neighbors much at all! We made use of the exercise room on the sixth floor as well as the laundry room on the 5th. I would have liked if the laundry room was open later at night/earlier in the morning, but it served it's purpose. When we returned from a rainy day we requested fresh bath towels and they were brought to us within 3 minutes. We had 2 small issues during our trip. Our keycards often needed at least 2 swipes to open our door and although our printout indicated we had a refrigerator in the room, we did not. We did not address either of these issues with the front desk, so they might have been rectified if we were really bothered by it. We really appreciated that the hotel kept our bags after checking out until our train left at 4:50pm. Overall we had a great time and the hotel was great for crashing after long days exploring Boston!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjf2115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulding, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We reserved this hotel for 5 nights. First, when we called from the airport and asked for a shuttle we were told they do not provide this service. However, it stated that they did on their website and come to find out, it is stated as such in the room service guide. Most importantly when we arrived at the hotel we found out that our room request for a King room was ignored and we were put in a full size room. Upon entering the room we entered a "dorm" like room where the floor was tiled and my husband had to stand in the corner when you wanted to walk around the bed to the bathroom. The floor was covered with dust balls as well as layers of dust and hair lined the perimeter of the room. The bed also had mystery hairs in the the bed. The top of the shower stall had layers of unknown hair. To top it all off, when my husband stepped out of the shower and attempted to dry off, he was faced with a wad of matted hair and paper in the middle of a "clean' towel. This was the last straw. We packed up and attempted to check out where I was questioned in a rude manner as to why?... I had four more days there. My husband explained what happened and in no way was a refund or even our $27.00 cab fare offered as some way to make it up to us.
I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cstoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

Stayed two nights at the Hyatt Regency Boston (3-5 Aug 10). Didn't love it: too many large groups, bad concierge service, boring ultra-touristy area, $10/day internet charge. Found Hotel 140 on Priceline and decided to give it a go.

Best. Decision. Ever.

Hotel 140 had an excellent location just off Copley Square and Boston Public Library, quick walk to the T, bustling café/shopping area on Newbury Street . Front desk service was friendly, accurate, knowledgeable, efficient. Room was immaculate and well kept, TV, small wardrobe, lots of light and cushions. Bed was great, made everyday, great linens. Plenty of towels, toiletries and cups. And a single dataport with ethernet cable.

Building also had café, although I didn't try it. Did use the great laundry room upstairs. Again, immaculate, well kept and front desk was very helpful (i.e. had plenty of quarters every day).

Will not be looking elsewhere next time I go to Boston.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boyfromhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

My husband and I chose this hotel because its web site stated: "a boutique hotel in the heart of Boston at an affordable price" and the pictures seemed to confirm that! Well... FORGET IT! The only good thing about the 140 Hotel is its location (next to a subway station, not far away from Boston downtown).
For the rest, it is a huge anonimous building with a big, cheesy lobby and very little friendly staff! We were at the 8th floor and it all looked like a low-level student dorm. Our bedroom was ridicolous: tiny small (we didnt even have a double bed, but a large single bed!!), with third-class furniture, a quite noisy fridge and a dirty rug! The only "amenities" were an old microwave and a decent and clean (although very small) bathroom! No breakfast, no wi-fi, nothing, at a crazily high price!!!
I wonder who the heck gave 3 stars to this place!
So, our personal advice, if you want to visit Boston, is to pick some other hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vienna_myCapital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

We picked this hotel from TripAdvisor reviews and we are glad we did it.
First of all: location. Around the corner from a T station an, a few blocks from great shopping places like Newbury St. and the Prudential Center. Also, a very safe neighborhood.
The hotel has free wi-fi in the lobby and a free computer for guests use as well. Nicely renovated room with a fridge for guests use. I'd add a coffee maker to make it perfect.
We got a great rate through AAA.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reefcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing