We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for inexpensive lobster dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Purple Shamrock - CLOSED

The Purple Shamrock
Attraction details
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
353 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great place for inexpensive lobster dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

This has become our favorite bar/restaurant when we're in Boston. We had been here in 2009 and returned again in 2012 because of the positive experience we had previously. They still offer a great lobster dinner special of 1 1/4 lobster with a side order of french fries for $16. Great deal, nice bar, good atmosphere and good service. It remains high on our list for places to eat when we're in Boston.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dougandshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    11
    0
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Stopped in for a beer and appetizers on a Thursday, beer was cold and food was good. Had a good pub feel.
Late night stop by a couple nights later and it had turned into a techno dance club.

Helpful?
Thank zjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go someplace else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We went to the Purple Shamrock Sunday around noon. They were serving brunch which was fine with us. However, the service was awful at best! Our waitress aparently had better things to di than check to see if any if her tables needed anything. She brought our food and then disappeared for 20 min, she brought our check and disappeared again. I would be upset if the place were busy, but there we're five tables full. To make things worse, the food was not that great. There aee a lot better place to go in Boston for better food and service!

Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, ON
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere, great food, and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were donwtown on a Saturday night after having completed walking the Public Garden, Boston Common, and the Freedom Trail. We were looking for cold drinks and good seafood in a casual atmosphere, and we got exactly what we wanted.

As a lover of Irish beer, culture, and pubs, I wouldn't describe the Shamrock as an Irish pub. I would describe it more as a roadhouse type atmosphere, with lots of open seating in an almost cafeteria setting in the main dining room. That entire area was being cleared of tables as we were leaving to open it up as a dance floor for the night life segment of their evening.

If you are in the area of Fanueil Hall looking to sit down for a cold drink and seafood at a reasonable price I highly recommend the Shamrock. They have varieties of Sam Adams on tap to meet everyone's individiual taste. I had the clam chowder in a bread bowl for dinner and she had the lobster. I think they have the best combination of great seafood at a reasonable price in the area, coupled with a great atmosphere. We are already planning to return there for dinner during our next trip to Boston this summer.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank SoxFan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Mimosas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stopped by with a friend on Saturday looking for brunch. I got a nice sized meal of two scrambled eggs, toast, fresh fruit (delicious, not bad quality at all), and sausage. Mimosas kept flowing and we had a grand ol' time! Right by Fanuel Hall too so pop in when you're downtown.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank MadameHourquebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Purple Shamrock also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing