We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fine...”
Review of The Black Rose

The Black Rose
Ranked #5 of 157 Nightlife in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It was fine...”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I received a gift certificant to The Glynn Hospitality Group so I decided to try out The Black Rose. Paid $18 for parking in a garage which annoyed me. It was in a good location if you are making a day of being in Boston but I didn't love paying that much for parking. There is street parking but it is very hard to find a spot.

The food was pretty good. I got the Banger and Mash. It was fine. Girlfriend got a Reuben, it was pretty good I could of made one just as good at home. The service was ok. Our Waitress was nice but forgot to put in our appetizer so we ended up getting it after our meal which wasn't very good. We got the potato skins which were fine. The place itself was clean and what I think an Irish Pub should look like. Pricing was as expected.

Would I come back? No. Is it worth a try? Sure, why not. But don't say I told you it was very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zak T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    126
    45
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Shepherd's Pie & Magner's Cider - great little Irish pub”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I met up with friends for a drink and a bite and since Magner's cider is my drink of choice and Shepherd's Pie up among my favorite dishes - I was quite happy with both at this popular with tourists and locals Irish Pub. It has two floors and is quaint as Irish Pubs should be,,,very loud but it was Friday night and there was a live band. Nice varied menu and decent service. No complaints.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Lunch! The atmosphere was good and the service was phenomenal.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Staying in Boston for a couple days and someone suggested The Black Rose to us, so we tried it out. The place is pretty cool, it's a classic Boston Pub. The service was great, our waitress was awesome. The food was great, and the lunch menu is a pretty good price. Over all it was great, I suggest it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zganton568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Bartender, Great Fish and Chips, Live Music!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had an excellent time at the Black Rose. Stopped in for a Guinness on draft and ended up ordering their Fish and Chips! Flaky and delicious! Huge portion! Bartender was friendly, and efficient! Live music made for an excellent atmosphere. Great Irish Pub!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Effort, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Craic in Boston”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Not to be missed. Great traditional acoustic sets mingled with American classics. The highlight of this bar is its live music.

Helpful?
1 Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Rose also viewed

 

Been to The Black Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing