We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Front Desk Staff Needs Training” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Boston-South Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Ranked #74 of 83 Hotels in Boston
San Marino, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Front Desk Staff Needs Training”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed five nights. I got the first night free because we were forced into a K room when we had reserved a QQ room. We checked in at midnight. They had given our room to some walk-in customer. The hotel was very, very full. No more QQ rooms. Checking in took 45 minutes including our trip to the room the first time, thinking he has made a mistake.

Monah on the front desk is the person to ask for. She is excellent, experienced, and can answer your question and correct any problem. Several others on the front desk are too new and just don't know. Monah knows!

This hotel is always full. We were returning for two nights. I tried to add on two more. Could not do. They were "overbooked." I think free parking is one draw. Their customers seem to be mainly businessmen. They are a 10-minute walk to the subway. Ask Monah for the quick route. Or ride their free shuttle.

This hotel and the adjacent Holiday Inn Express have no street facing! To get there, you drive into the South Bay Shopping Center and then work your way around behind the Best Buy
Store. How unusual.

Rooms are comfortable. Top sheets cannot tuck in -- too short. Or the mattress is too thick. Maids are excellent. Good black-out draperies. Breakfast for sale till only 9:30 M-F. Panera Bread is in the shopping center, a 10-minute walk. Nice pool and hot tub. We asked for and got extra blankets, for their weight.

Room Tip: The hotel is practically on I-93, but the windows blocked the noise. We faced I-93 from two rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CASanMarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    237
    74
    35
    20
See reviews for
169
129
29
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is on the Andrew stop on the red line- subway. It's only 2 stops to Boston Common and other areas of interest are also on other stops along the way. Free parking and shuttle to Logan airport for a small fee.

Shopping mall behind the hotel for shopping at Target. Restaurants include Applebee's, Olive Garden and Panera Bread. There is also a large supermarket in the mall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadian2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is my 2nd stay at this hotel both times the staff are welcoming and just make you feel special.

The Good:
- The rooms clean
- The Room is modern
- Close to stores and places to seat
- Close to airport but still close to city

The not so good:
- location is harder to find

I would highly recommend this hotel for people that are traveling.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGO007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Courtyard South Boston for two nights.
The hotel is clean. Very good location as far as it has a shopping center directly behind it.
The staff was very accommodating and gave good service.
No free breakfast.
Do not take rooms above main garbage around the hotel.
The trash is being collected at 5 am. And very noisy!
The rooms and beds are good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidRose59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights while I was in town for a funeral. The hotel is clean and in a good location as far as it has a shopping center directly behind it. The restaurant in the lobby left a lot to be desired. There was not much on the menu and everything was overpriced. The security at this hotel was very rude. My daughter walked me to my room and we were having a quiet conversation outside of the door when a security guard stated for us to get in our room and shut the door. We were not loud and no one had complained, I do not think we were outside the door more than one minute before he yelled at us. In fact, he probably would not have known had he not been delivering towels to a room on our floor. The second night of my hotel stay there was no hot water, so I went to bed without a shower. Upon waking up in the morning there was still no hot water. I called the front desk several times to be told that they were working on it and would not be giving any compensation. This was totally unacceptable. One hour prior to check out the warm water came back on.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester C, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Boston-South Boston, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello Katherine G,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with the us. You indicated in your response that we did not meet all your needs and for that we are very sorry. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet all of yours and certainly not our own expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Chester Coppin
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Andrews, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Courtyard South Boston the night before our cruise from Boston to Bermuda. The staff was very accommodating and allowed me to park my vehicle at the hotel during my week away. They also had a shuttle that took you to the terminal and we were promptly picked up when we returned. Thanks for helping us have a stress free vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester C, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Boston-South Boston, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello Kevin,

It was our pleasure having you stay with us prior to your cruise to Bermuda. I happen to learn that find our staff to be very accommodating. We are also glad that our Park Sleep Fly Package worked out well for you as well. Many of our guest love the shuttle service to the Black Falcon Terminal. You stress free vacation is what our goal is here at the courtyard south boston.

Sicerely,

Cheste Coppin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
253 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights while she looked for an apartment in south Boston. I got the senior rate so the hotel was much less than others in the neighborhood. It is fairly new so the appointments are clean and unused. We had two double beds and they were fine! They do not have a full restaurant but the lobby "Starbucks plus" was fine for breakfast. They had drinks and snacks which we did not try. We went for dinner to a local restaurant 3 blocks away on Boston Street . The meal was excellent and the ambience very nice.The staff was good but we did not have any unusual requests so...There is an airport shuttle!

The only shortcoming is that the hotel is next to the South Boston Shopping Center in a warehouse district. If you have a car that's great. If you do not, it's a mile to the Boston Medical Center and more to attractions. The "T" is not far but it didn't go where we wanted to be. Taxis are available to be called but we used Uber and loved it.

Room Tip: It is surrounded by parking lots but we did not hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StLawrencelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester C, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Boston-South Boston, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback StLawrencelover. We are pleased to know that your time with us was enjoyable and a delight. Our goal is to ensure that all our guest are completely satisfied with the things we can control and those we cannot we hope that the services we provide over shadows those. We hope you keep us in mind during your next visit to boston.

Sincerly,

Cheste Coppin
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#68 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston-South Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston-South Boston

Property: Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Address: 63 R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02115
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston-South Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*GPS USERS USE 7 ALLSTATE ROAD, BOSTON MA 02125. The new state-of-the-art Courtyard South Boston provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests, featuring inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel & easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro, which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our location in “Southie” is located 4 miles from Logan International Airport (BOS), 2 miles from the city center and a heartbeat away from Boston attractions including Fenway Park, TD Bank North Garden, Freedom Trail and Quincy Market. We offer shuttle service to and from Logan Airport for an additional fee of $5.00 per person each way. For other options, Andrew Square Station is within walking distance and 3 stops from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott and TravelUp so you can book your Courtyard Boston-South Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston-South Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Courtyard
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing