We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bucket list ... check.”

Boston Harbor Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.65*
and up
Boston Whale Watching Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Boston Harbor Cruises, (BHC) is the nation's oldest and largest private operator of passenger vessels. BHC's current service offerings include Whale Watches in partnership with the New England Aquarium, the Cape Cod Fast Ferry, a variety of sightseeing tours including lunch and brunch cruises, the Salem Ferry, private charters, Codzilla - a high speed thrill ride, two pier side patio bars -The Landing at Long Wharf and The Landing at the Salem Ferry, offshore support services for underwater survey, research, LNG work, commuter ferry service for the MBTA and more
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bucket list ... check.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

What a fantastic experience. I couldn't believe the Humpback whale action. It was much better then expected, and the tour guide explained the exceptional whale watching this season. I was in Boston for a conference and managed to squeeze this in above some other sights. Wow. I'm sure glad I did.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LonCanadaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonHarborCruises, Manager at Boston Harbor Cruises, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks LonCanadaTraveller, We're glad you managed to squeeze it in too! And, we're so happy that you had such a great experience. Seeing the whales truly is breathtaking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    351
    129
    50
    46
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Whales Sighted!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We heard the sightings were good this year and found that to be true. The boat stopped within sight of P-Town and we saw a group of about 8 whales, including a calf, exhibiting various feeding behaviors. There is a naturalist on board who knows the whales by the tail markings and provided information on the habits of the whales.

It does get cool and gusty and choppy, so take a jacket and if you are prone to sea sickness take the dramamine ahead of time. The top deck is always the best to avoid sickness. Take a telephoto lens or binoculars. iPhone photos will lose some of the impact. These beautiful creatures are awesome when you see and get a sense of their scale.

The trip affords a good view of the Harbor Islands, and Boston. The cruise company offers a "raincheck" for a future free ride in the case whales aren't sighted. This year, that doesn't seem to be a problem. Allow 4 hours for the round trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Danjiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonHarborCruises, Manager at Boston Harbor Cruises, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Danjiro, Thanks for the five stars!! We're glad you enjoyed your whale watch. It's been a great season so far for whale sightings. Thanks as well for your tips to future passengers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Whale watching”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

3 hrs cruise. Great boat. 3 levels with covered options for viewing. We had a great day. Pods of whales surrounded the boat, feeding and jumping. It was breath taking. Naturalist on board were excited as the guest. Gave historical info as well as species info during the trip out. They had a Q &A on the trip back if you had more questions. We did the first tour of the day and were extremely delighted with the tour. So glad we decided to do it....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dwhitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonHarborCruises, Manager at Boston Harbor Cruises, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks dwhitter, we're glad you decided to do it too - and even happier that you had a great time! Hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breinigsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing Whale watching!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We loved this part of our Boston trip the best. We went in on what seemed a clear sunny day at the port but it got super cold once we hit the waters. Hence would recommend taking a jacket & a muffler while on the ferry coz it gets really windy once in the ocean. It takes about 3-3.5 hours to go in watch the whales & come back. We saw a lot of whales and the staff told us the names & also how to spot them. It was an excellent trip well worth the money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shilpa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonHarborCruises, Manager at Boston Harbor Cruises, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for the review Shilpa! We're so glad that you had an "Amazing" whale watch. It's been an incredible season so far for whale sightings. Thanks also for the feedback on bringing a jacket. It does get cold out there where then whales are so we always recommend a jacket just in case!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
200 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great tour ...”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a great way to see Boston and learn of its seaward history. Marge was a fantastic hostess, providing us with oodles of information of old Boston and delivering this information in a fun interactive way. The boat is large enough not to feel rocky and the views are outstanding. A must do in Boston.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KiheiSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonHarborCruises, Manager at Boston Harbor Cruises, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi KiheiSands, We're glad to hear you had a nice cruise and especially happy to hear that you call it a "Must do in Boston". We'll also be sure to pass your kudos along to Marge. Hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Boston Harbor Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing