We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vibe”
Review of Eastern Standard

Eastern Standard
Reserve with OpenTable
Eastern Standard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Fenway / Kenmore
Cross street: Beacon Street
Transit: Kenmore Station T stop on the Green Line and Bus Routes 119, 193, 55, 57, 60, 65, 8, and CT1 into Kenmore Square
Description: Eastern Standard is an American Brasserie located in the heart of Kenmore Square, featuring a heated patio and the longest marble bar in Boston. At Eastern Standard we strive to re-create every guest’s expectations. As you enter the restaurant you will be warmly greeted by a staff whose main goal is to make your dining experience among the best you have ever had. Guests can depend on the eclectic wine list to be approachable and unpretentious. We offer a full bar featuring 61 delicious classic cocktails from around the world and Eastern Standard originals. From the house made Charcuterie to the warm and indulgent Butterscotch Bread Pudding, your dining experience at Eastern Standard will keep you coming back again and again!
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
309 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great vibe”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had dinner here and loved the atmosphere - very energetic with great service. Everyone loved their food but my grilled cheese was really bland. It was supposed to be on a house made rye but there was no rye flavor and little cheese. I think that a grilled cheese is easy to make yummy and they could work on that dish. The real winner of the night was the butterscotch bread pudding. Outrageous!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    415
    114
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great drinks, food and service!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We arrived at the Eastern Standard with no reservations after a disastrous attempt to eat in the North End. We were warmly greeted and offered a high top table near the bar. We gladly accepted the offer. Since it was late, we opted for a variety of appetizers to share. Our friendly server took our drink orders and promptly delivered bread while the food was being prepared. If you like shrimp cocktail, this is a wonderful place to go! It was served ice cold with delicious cocktail sauce. A classic! The burgers and fries are wonderful, too! It was a pleasure to eat here!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food great location ”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for breakfast this morning and was not disappointed. The Vermont cheddar omelet was great. The restaurant is located right around from Fenway, if your staying at a hotel in the area I would stop by not for breakfast but lunch or dinner, based on breakfast i bet it would be great. A bit pricey but to be expected for the area.

Helpful?
Thank andrewrclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad Start but Nico Saved the Day”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We walked by this restaurant on a Saturday and made reservations for Sunday brunch. The servers showed us a menu that looked terrific, and had my husband's favourite breakfast item - eggs benedict.

So we were a little disappointed when we sat down Sunday morning and began to read a completely different menu which did not have eggs benedict on it. We also waited a very long time (20 minutes) before anyone came by our table, and we had to finally flag someone down. It wasn't a great start. We were hungry, and we really wanted coffee and breakfast.

Our server Nico completely saved the day. He brought over a complimentary basket of pastries to apologize for the delay (and lack of eggs benedict), and when he learned that I was gluten-free, he brought me a complimentary fruit bowl. He was incredible, and is probably one of the best servers I've ever had.

In the end, the food was amazing too. We'd go back if we were in Boston again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJMcIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdale
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best dessert ever!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

our waitress was awesome and knowledgable not only on the food but our surroundings...oysters were AMAZING, food was filling and affordable..i had the blueberry pie which i HIGHLY recommend!
only downside was the traffic but we were in the city (outside seating)beautiful look of the restaurant!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank stephaniepLansdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eastern Standard also viewed

 

Been to Eastern Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing