We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pops”

Boston Symphony Orchestra
Ranked #3 of 47 Concerts & Shows in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mansfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Pops”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Boston Pops conducted by John Williams was great. He conducted a program of movie the The Pops is a Boston cultural landmark.mes which he had composed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    51
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Grrrreat Music”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I got free tickets from my school, and we went with several friends to a concert. The atmosphere was great and the music lovely

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank albert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Film Night”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We attended one of the John Williams' and Boston Pops film nights. John Williams is a brilliant composer and the orchestra sounded amazing! This is a must-do for any film and music lover. It was especially nice that they added a few video montages to the music. Beautiful building as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marino, California
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“John Williams conducting the Pops”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

For days it was all sold out, but we went at 7:30 and got two tickets at $112 each. We sat with three others who had just walked up and bought tickets.

For the Symphony Orchestra in the winter, the floor is slanted and guests sit in typical theater seats. For the summer Pops, the floor is flat and five guests sit at a small cocktail table. They serve food and drinks. I am 6' 4" so I could see well. You can see the change-over on YouTube at "BostonSymphony/changeover." That takes 30 men 8 to 10 hours. The video is speeded up.

John Williams had the audience in the palm of his hand. Two encores. He played one Gershwin number, "American in Paris," with film clips. All the other music was his own. Two numbers were with film clips beautifully edited to match the music.

The Hall is beautiful with many architectural details we wanted to see more closely.

There were 75 Stage Door Johnnies hoping for autographs before John got into the black Cadillac with BSO 1 license plates. He waved thanks to all.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CASanMarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigeon Forge, TN
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend that in a city filled with so much of America's history that you take in a piece of America's musical history! This group certainly does not disappoint! One word of advice, though...eat before you come, and don't pre-order one of the meals. You'll be sorry you did...and hungry afterwards.

Helpful?
Thank fieldcomCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boston Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Boston Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing