We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, but don't go during a convention...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel is wonderful - great rooms, location is off the beaten path on the south side. Expect to use taxis or the Silver Line (weird bus like subway thing) to get anywhwere. We were there during some kind of business meeting and the bars and lobby were jammed. Nice pool and spa, but also jammed with people.

Perhaps just a victim of their success - would definitely stay there again - but ask about events when you book your room...

Room Tip: Ask about business meetings or conventions to see if it will be crowded during your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainSteveG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinWatrfront, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Hello, we are happy to read that you will stay with us again. Our hotel can get a bit crowded when there are citywide conventions with our property as the headquarter hotel. We hope you consider coming back when convention season is at a low; beginning of July and the month of August are a great time to unwind and enjoy what Boston has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,674 - 1,680 of 2,720 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel is nice with quality rooms and good, comfortable beds. It has many amenities. However be careful to get anything from management in writing. A recent mix up between event coordinator and management caused a event to have last minute changes since management was not aware of it and would not allow it to happen as planned.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyDp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinWatrfront, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Hello, we are disappointed to hear about the mishap during your stay; I have relayed your review to our Convention Services team. We hope the incident does not deter you from coming back to Westin Waterfront in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just spent one night at the Westin Waterfront but can see it everything one requires - restaurants, bar, fitness - even a Starbucks coffee shop!

Although a large hotel and I saw plenty of conventioneers, it still had a subdued atmosphere. Maybe it was due to all the greenery in the lobby.

Every Westin I have stayed at has the "heavenly rest" mattress and this one was no different. Had a wonderful night's sleep.

The only drawback was they do charge for Wi-fi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IluvHoratio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinWatrfront, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are glad to read that you slept well and enjoyed your stay with us. I have relayed your note about the Wi-Fi to our Director of Technology. We hope you consider staying with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Just returned from a 4 day trip to Boston. The hotel was large and busy, but the room was very comfortable, and we had a wonderful view over the harbour area. The concierge Sharon Ash had a great knowledge of the area and every restaurant she suggested was spot on! The door staff also very helpful with directions. The trolley bus departs from the front door and gives a good two hour city tour. Breakfast - well one set of pancakes will do two people, yum yum to die for!

We will be back

Room Tip: We did ask for a harbour view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinWatrfront, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Hello, we are happy to read about your most recent stay. Sounds like you experienced a great time by taking advantage of the Trolley and eating well in Sauciety restaurant. I have relayed your positive feedback to our staff including Sharon from our concierge team. We hope you come back to visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

New hotel, walking distance to the convention center. Stayed 3 nights and slept well! The bed is super comfortable. The shower is has a rain shower head. If you like those, you'll love it. But if you like water pressure...you'll miss the traditional shower head. Starbucks in the lobby which is a HUGE plus for the folks that need a venti bucks in the morning. The only time the service was poor was in the lobby bar. It took them a long time to get to our table to take the order, a long time to deliver drinks and more than one time (different servers) drinks were forgotten. But besides that...awesome place, you'll love the short walk to your convention and the nice, clean, comfortable rooms. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rillera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinWatrfront, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Hello, thank you for writing about your most recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you were able to recharge and stay productive during your stay. I am disappointed to read about your service at the lobby bar, I have relayed your review to our Director of Food & Beverage. We hope you come back to the Westin Boston Waterfront soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I generally like Starwood properties because I can count on excellent beds and showers, both of which the Westin Boston Waterfront has. But the hotel has several features that bump it well down my list for lodging in my former home town:

- No blackout curtain! Sunlight streamed in every morning, waking me before my west-coast clock was ready.

- Poor soundproofing on the hallway door, resulting in much noise for rooms close to the elevator and ice machine that sounds like a 747 engine.

- Internet $18.95 a night (for streaming quality)! Come on! The Holiday Inn Express gives free internet! When are four- and five-star hotels going to stop this ripoff?

- Lobby bar closes at 11pm and you're not allowed to take drinks up to your room from the very nice Citi Bar in the lobby and there are no minibars in the room.

- nothing except the convention center is in close walking distance and it's a half-mile to the nearest T stop.

- no armchair in the room but there was a nice desk.

On the plus side, it's very convenient to the highways, valet parking is excellent, the fitness center is good but unstaffed, and the staff are generally professional. But there are many four-star hotels right in town that will give you a more comfortable stay and more Boston experience.

Room Tip: Get a room that isn't close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinWatrfront, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Hello, we are disappointed to hear that we were unable to exceed your expectations, but have found your feedback very helpful. I have relayed your post to our operations team as it will help us continue to improve upon our services. There are also many projects currently in the pipeline (Laugh Boston, Waterside Place, Fan Pier, 411 D Street), we hope you consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is the perfect place if you're at the convention center next door. Nice, newish, modern hotel. All the Westin touches and a Starbucks in the lobby. Don't recommend if you're coming to Boston to do sightseeing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WINEandTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time post your review. We do offer a variety of transportation for sightseeing including our Trolley Tours which are very popular. Perhaps you will have the opportunity to experience our offers on your next trip to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,971 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer St, Boston, MA 02210-1719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £83 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing