We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Left a bad taste in my mouth...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel - Left a bad taste in my mouth...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2009

We were in Boston for a home show. Parked in the underground garage ($32/day). At check-in was upgraded to a suite without even requesting it. Very spacious room and extra room with couch, table, bathroom and flat screen TV.

Breakfast was steep - around 40 for a parfait and an omelette and an orange juice.

Bad taste - checked the credit card statement a few days later - was charged for using the minibar. However, this was confusing since we were not given keys to either minibar (it was a suite with two). Attempted to dispute the charge via AMEX and was denied - hotel stands firm that we splurged on several alcoholic beverages that we did not even have access to.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    952
    354
    109
    64
See reviews for
374
545
146
1,183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
moncton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

This hotel was absolutely wonderful on all fronts! Check-in was flawless and I got an upgrade without even showing my Starwood membership card. The hotel was new and in great shape and the view was amazing. This hotel is located right next to the convention center making it extremely convenient. The only downside is that it is a little out of the way. Fitness Center was great also with lots of equipment. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martythemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
194 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2009

We stayed at the Westin Boston Waterfront last year and it was great. I've read lots of complaints about location and I don't quite understand them.

There is a "T" station right across the street from the hotel (literally a five minute walk out the front door). Using the T, you can be at the airport in about 10 minutes (for less than 5 dollars for 2 people). Or, you can be downtown at restaurants and other attractions in about 10 minutes as well. No need for expensive taxis or rental cars. If you're up for a bit of a walk, you can be in downtown in 20-25 minutes.

The hotel itself was great too. Comfortable beds, soundproof windows, and we paid just over $100/night.

Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tadak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

While I only stayed 1 night I found the hotel to be very pleasant. The decor is updated and pretty, the service was just fine. The young lady at the outdated business center even let me use her computer to download a file. The food was good too. The best part was the view from my corner room. I could have looked out onto the harbor for much longer but I had to catch a flight. If you need to be in this area, don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reallypickylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 9 June 2009
Thank you for the kind comments you had for our hotel. We hope you will consider
The Westin Boston Waterfront in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

Relatively new, modern hotel situated in waterfront area (adjoining the conference/convention centre). Hotel boasts several places for dining (for full meals or just a coffee) and there are also resteraunts (such as Legal Seafoods, etc) situated within a few blocks of the hotel. A relatively short 15 min walk will find you in downtown Boston.
The hotel staff were extremely helpful and very attentive to your needs, and the rooms/lobby were bright, clean and airy.
This hotel is only about a 10 minute drive to Logan airport, and provides facilities for online check-in, as well as airport shuttles.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quincy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2009

I stayed in this hotel with my family (husband and two teenagers) on New Years Eve. I must admit my initial reaction was one of disappointment because I had overlooked its location and I thought I had booked a more central hotel so that we could enjoy the first night activities. However you have to make the best of your situation. The hotel is very large and spacious. The rooms are modern and clean. There were four of us in a room which was OK for one night before flying back to the UK, but for a few days the wardrobe would not have been large enough. The view once the fog had cleared and it had stopped snowing was quite nice. The beds were lovely and very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size with quality fittings. The shower looked very impressive but was a let down!!! The gym was well equipped but the swimming pool was very small and we didn't use it. The gift shop was good and had a good selection of souvenirs, sweets and toiletries and the prices were reasonable. The Irish bar served good food and we thought was reasonably priced, certainly not the most expensive that we had come across. Because we decided not too go out in the evening, we were able to order food for the kids and take it up to the room which was very handy and a lot cheaper than ordering room service. We had breakfast at the hotel. The food was ok, nothing special. The waitress we had was rather miserable and the price was average. The reception staff were very helpful and allowed us to keep our room on at no extra charge for a couple of hours which we found unusual and a nice surprise. We did get a taxi to Macys and it was around $8.00. but we walked back and it wasn't too far and quite enjoyable despite the freezing cold. We used the valet parking because I thought I had read somewhere that it was only valet parking but I gather you can park your own car. In summary a large modern hotel, handy for the airport, not too far from the shops but not in the centre of things. I don't think I would return.

  • Liked — The lifts were very fast and the good bar food
  • Disliked — Small wardrobe in rooms and expensive internet access
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

This is really a great hotel as long as you understand where it is located. If you're looking to walk anywhere this is really not the place for you. There's a couple restaurants a walk away but if you want to be near the downtown action, shopping, etc,. this is going to require a $10-$15 taxi each way every time. That being said, if you don't need to be right downtown and especially if you have a car the pros of this hotel well outweigh the cons. The hotel is right by the highway so it's very convenient for driving anywhere. The hotel is new and completely soundproof, we didn't hear anything (disclaimer we were on the 16th floor).

The doorman was very helpful when we arrived, offered assistance with luggage but wasn't pushy when we declined. Check-in was prompt, upgrade to top floor room with a view for SPG Gold was appreciated. The room itself was in excellent condition, very clean, spacious, great bed as always. TV is a late-model HD LG tv and has a great menu system for PPV movies, lots of titles, some in HD, very nice system. Wifi signal was weak from our room, front desk reversed the charge immediately and we connected via wired. The one cup coffee maker in the room was a great convenience.

We went over the weekend and the hotel restaurant and starbucks seemed to always be closed. The hotel now has a leased restaurant and bar off the lobby which seemed to be always open and was fine, but it would be nice if the hotel kept its own restaurant open. Food at this restaurant was very good for pub food and the service was surprisingly good.

In summary if you have a car this is a real no-brainer as the room product is far superior to the other big chain hotels in Boston as the newness of the property makes the rooms very comfortable, clean, and nice. Look it up on google maps, if you don't like the location stay elsewhere, but it's a great hotel and will remain one of my top picks in Boston.

  • Liked — New and clean, great rooms, SPG is impossible to beat
  • Disliked — Limited F&B options over the weekend, no free internet
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LAXtraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#65 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#67 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Property: The Westin Boston Waterfront
Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#28 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing